We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“DEEP-FRIED KALUA PORK WONTONS!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kaleo's Bar & Grill

Kaleo's Bar & Grill
Ranked #1 of 35 Restaurants in Pahoa
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $25
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Bar scene, Families with children, Kids, Romantic, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Late Night, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Montreal, Canada
2 reviews
“DEEP-FRIED KALUA PORK WONTONS!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2013

I am drooling just thinking about it. The rest of the meal was excellent, service was friendly, we loved the place.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank NLG33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

843 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    522
    229
    51
    29
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
317 reviews
245 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
“So Good I Went Back Three Times”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2013

Our first encounter with Kaleo's we sat at the bar because the place was packed. The bartender was incredibly friendly and was more than willing to help us select something on the menu to our liking. The atmosphere was great, they had live music playing in the background which was very refreshing. We sampled several different types of drinks which were all good, packed just enough punch for our liking. We ordered the kalua pork wonton for an appetizer and it was delicious. For the main course we both ordered pasta dishes. My wife had the chicken parm and I had the bolognese which both proved to be of excellent quality. Prices at this place are more than reasonable. We got out of there for under $70 which is good considering the amount of stuff we ordered.

We enjoyed this restaurant so much that we got take out two additional times during our stay in Pahoa. We made sure to sample additional items on the menu and Kaleo's never disappointed. Would definitely recommend to a friend and plan on returning soon!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Mbotaish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Rosa, California
Level Contributor
37 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Delicious Food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2013

Our friends took us to this restaurant in Pahoa and we were blown away! Every entree our party of six had was amazing! They have a full bar, and live entertainment. The rack of baby back ribs my husband had were the best ever! The fish is fresh, fresh, fresh and prepared in a variety of ways. Put this one on your "must do" list while in the area!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Deb M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inwood, West Virginia
Level Contributor
100 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great food and excellent service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2013

Great food, fun place! Newly renovated, and the staff is friendly and give you the ohana (family) feeling.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Dave B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“expanded seating, still the best in Pahoa”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2013

Still our favorite in Pahoa, at least once a month. They have now expanded to have seating in the front porch and side porch. Lemon Chicken my favorite, but recently had their special steamed artichoke, WOW. Don't miss it!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Cindy V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kaleo's Bar & Grill also viewed

Pahoa, Island of Hawaii
Pahoa, Island of Hawaii
 
Pahoa, Island of Hawaii
Pahoa, Island of Hawaii
 

Been to Kaleo's Bar & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing