We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best meal on Big Island”

Kaleo's Bar & Grill
Ranked #1 of 36 Restaurants in Pahoa
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $25
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Large groups, Special occasions, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Sonoma, California
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best meal on Big Island”
Reviewed October 7, 2013 via mobile

Great food, fun funky venue, enthusiastic and caring service. Had wontons, Kalbi ribs and husband had fish special. Ended with lava cake. Sat on front patio and watched a big storm pass through as we listened to the lovely music.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Sonoma-mlk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

905 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    560
    244
    59
    30
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas, United States
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Absoluely Fantastic.”
Reviewed September 26, 2013

We asked a local for a good place to eat and wow did she steer us in the right direction. A little Island fusion thing going on. I had a Wrap with Mahi Mahi and the flavor exploded in my mouth. Highly recommend!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Diana H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nothern Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great food and friendly service, lovely atmosphere”
Reviewed September 26, 2013

My family and I had lunch at Kaleo's, and really enjoyed the whole experience. The menu was interesting, with fresh and healthy choices, the service was super-friendly, and the place had pretty decor and a lovely breeze. I wouldn't hesitate to go back again.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Amy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level 6 Contributor
128 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Pricey, but good food and service”
Reviewed September 21, 2013

We went here based on reviews. Its very dark inside, unless you sit on the lanai. The waitress was nice and helpful and the food was good. We had Loco Moco and it was the best we had on the entire island, including the hand made burger patty. The fish was tasty also. The only issue we found was the higher than average prices, above similar restaurants on the island. For example, the $12 hamburger, seemed a little excessive.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank traveling_monster_me
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton, Washington
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Don't judge by the outside!”
Reviewed September 20, 2013 via mobile

Outside looks sketchy, took days to talk my bf into going, pahoa in general looks sketchy but as soon as we pulled in a knew it'd be great. We pulled in and an employee came out and opened my door for me, inside was beautiful, employees veryyy friendly- which on our trip was kinda hard to come by. Food was great, a little pricey but soo worth it. Best coconut shrimp and calamari anywhere else will never be the same!

Helpful?
Thank 22aic87
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.

Travelers who viewed Kaleo's Bar & Grill also viewed

Pahoa, Island of Hawaii
Pahoa, Island of Hawaii
 

Been to Kaleo's Bar & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing