We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wide Selection”

Kaleo's Bar & Grill
Ranked #1 of 36 Restaurants in Pahoa
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $25
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Vestal, New York
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Wide Selection”
Reviewed October 26, 2012

A more traditional American style restaurant, with a selection of meat and fish dishes. There was a nice selection of appetizers (we had the calamari which was excellent), and entrée – I had a fish dish which was slightly over cooked, but my wife had ribs that were excellent. They did have a bar, and the selection was reasonable, and equitably priced. They also entertainment, a guitarist that added to the mellow feel of the local. While I would not hesitate to bring kids, it is priced like an adult venue. Service was prompt and attentive and friendly. We were very happy with this selection

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank baedad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

894 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    552
    241
    59
    30
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Beaverton, Oregon
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Outstanding restaurant, food & staff”
Reviewed October 25, 2012

Kaleo's is located in the small town of Pahoa, on the Hilo side of the big island. It was a wonderful find. The menu offers a good selection of chicken, beef, seafood and pasta. The selections we made were very fresh. The salads are large and very fresh also. We ordered the "Dynamite" which is a seafood medley baked in mayonnaise and the seafood coconut curry plate. On our second visit I ordered the baby back ribs with pineapple BBQ sauce which was as good as any I ever tasted at a 4 or 5 star restaurant in NY or Chicago. It was delicious and was like nothing I have ever tasted. The Mai Tai's were top notch and reasonably priced. The waitstaff was very attentive and took care of us in a very friendly, professional manner. We are going back for a 3rd visit. This is a popular place with locals celebrating events so reservations are recommended.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Aeroman089
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Quinta, California
2 reviews
“Great Recommendation”
Reviewed October 24, 2012

Coconut Cottage recommended this gem and talk about great food!!! The desserts were amazing as well.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank James A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PA
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Best Mahi Mahi ever!”
Reviewed October 22, 2012

We checked out this place because it was minutes from our villa and received excellent reviews via trip advisor. Well, now my friends are fans of trip advisor. What a gem of a restaurant!!! The food was excellent, the service was perfect as were the mai tai's!! There was even entertainment on a week night and we thoroughly enjoyed ourselves! I had the Mahi Mahi which was done as a "special" and it was done to perfection. I would highly recommend this restaurant to others.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank nikkikh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune, India
Level 6 Contributor
65 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“great staff! great food! good value!”
Reviewed October 9, 2012

we went here for a lat lunch in August 12 after a hectic morning at the the tide pools, so we were famished and has read some good reviews about the place. At their specials for the day and it was yummy and filling. The staff was busy setting up the place for the evening rush, but kind and patient with us while we figured out what we want to eat and asked a dozen questions :)

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Paul D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kaleo's Bar & Grill also viewed

Pahoa, Island of Hawaii
Pahoa, Island of Hawaii
 
Pahoa, Island of Hawaii
Pahoa, Island of Hawaii
 

Been to Kaleo's Bar & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing