We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very nice and remote resort”
Review of Sea Mountain

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Sea Mountain
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 30, 2012

This is a typical RCI timeshare resort.

It’s in the middle of nowhere, even the GPS won’t find the resort.
There are no gas station, grocery stores or restaurants in the area so pack your stuff before heading out there.

It is right along the coast, and we could hear the strong waves all night long and couldn’t wait the sunset to see the scenery.

In the morning we walked to the nearby beach where turtles come for a rest and we had a good time there.

It is a beautiful location, has a pool and a golf course.

The condo is very nice, high ceilings and fully equipped kitchen and BBQs available for the guests. We wish we brought something to eat besides instant noodles and fruits.

If you arrive late after 5h00PM, there’s a convenient phone booth where you can call and they will give you the locker’s combination so you can get your room keys.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank johnnycalgary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (139)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

93 - 99 of 139 reviews

Reviewed October 10, 2012

Spent three quiet, peaceful nights in #22. Really nice property, kind of an understated resorty feel, with a view of the ocean from the private-seeming lanai. The condo had everything I needed and was clean and comfortable. Very nice pool area and stone (not tile) hot tub overlooking the somewhat anemic-looking golf course and the ocean. Barbeques are available for guests to use (although I didn't). Quite close to Punalu'u Black Sand Beach with tons of sea turtles. Only 30 or so minutes to the Volcano National Park.

A few minor complaints: the shower was kind of funky; at one point some upstairs neighbors moved in and they spent quite a bit of time moving furniture around (wasn't quite as peaceful then); landscape guys came through fairly early in the morning to clean up the property of fallen leaves and that sort of thing.

Before booking here, be aware this area is very remote! No nightlife, unless you make your own. :) Not a ton of people around, and no grocery stores to speak of; you're best off loading up in Kona or Hilo, depending where you're coming from. But if you need a quiet place to recharge in a beautiful tropical setting, this is it.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
5  Thank jamseattle1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2012 via mobile

We are at Sea mountain resort right now and I am using free wifi. My only complaint is we have no room safe but we can leave valuables in the safe at the office. In room safes in tho day and age should be a given.
The beach was crowded this afternoon
It is not a big area but is scenic. The water was cold and I only put my foot in. The bakery was a huge disappointment after all the reviews I had read
Yuk . Never again.
The bed in our room is heavenly and the units have been tastefully refurnise

3  Thank KimVkawhia
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed August 22, 2012

We stayed here for 4 nights though VI before switching up to Kona and honestly I would have rather stayed the entire time down here! The grounds were just beautiful and the rooms were laid out like bungalows all around. We had a two bedroom unit and from our lanai we could see the pool area and ultimately the ocean. We spent our mornings out there just enjoying the peace and quiet and watching all the colorful birds (who obviously are used to being fed by guests). Without air conditioning it definitely got warm. They have ceiling fans but in order to be cool enough at night we had to sleep with the front door and both sliders open downstairs. Luckily they all had locking screen doors and being in such a remote location we didn’t worry about anyone trying to get in. The unit itself was just amazing, newly remodeled, beautifully decorated and tons of room! My teenage daughter slept upstairs as she likes it warmer than my mom and I and she loved it up there with her own huge bedroom with it’s own tv and bathroom and private lanai.
Out by the pool area they had gas BBQ’s (which they cleaned every morning) and an ice machine. It was great to lay by the pool and look out over the golf course to the ocean just a beautiful peaceful scene.
A five minute walk down the road from the resort is the famous black beach where we saw several turtles resting. On the far side of the beach you can even snorkel with them. You just need to make sure to keep your distance.
Yes this place is extremely remote but that’s what makes this place so great. You don’t have any traffic noise, there aren’t a ton of people around and you can just sit back and enjoy without worrying about anyone bothering you.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank CheerMom602
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2012

We stayed here as part of our DVC/RCI timeshare exchange. We were on the Big Island for 3 nights as well as island hopping to 4 other islands.
When we arrived in Kona, the drive to Punalu'u took about 2.5 hours. The resort grounds were very isolated, a little run down but not terrible. The inside of our unit was a 1 Bedroom (#28) and recently updated, was clean and very inviting. The decor was very nice and furnished well. If the inside of the unit had not been updated as it was, I would have given a much lower rating. I am not sure if all units are the same inside.
The resort is isolated in between 2 very VERY small towns. To the west is Naalehu which has Punalu'u Bake Shop. The Glazed Malasadas were fabulous and under $2 each. To the east is Pahalia which we didn't go to.
The Island market nearby is expensive so it would be a good idea to go to a bigger supermarket near the airports for non-refrigerated items and then stopping at the market for cold items. It's worth the drive to Volcano to go to Kiawe Kitchen, food is delicious. It's not cheap but worth every penny. Sometimes there is a wait. It gets very dark on Hwy. 11 at night though coming from Volcano or the National Park. We did the drive 2 or 3 times, you definitely can not be tired while driving that. It's pitch black at some points.
We also took a drive to Hilo, then cut through Highway 200/Saddle Rd. and went to Kona for sunset, driving back to Punalu'u... it was way too long. This is mainly why I gave it 3 stars, it was so far to drive anywhere. Make sure your rental company gives you a car that is good on gas, ours was not!
The beach is not really within walking distance, although you could walk it but it would take a little bit longer than most would like. The turtles are very cute but you are not supposed to touch them! I saw tourists touching them and posing for pictures, it's not a petting zoo! Let them be and use the zoom on your camera if you want a close up shot. It's nicer to go on the beach early in the morning, for sunset or soon after. You can see the turtles and enjoy before the tour busses unload.
There were no activities that I knew of in the resort. The grounds are maintained as best as possible (clean) but they are not lush by any means and look like they could be falling apart in some areas. I did like the design of the units, it looked very unique and polynesian style roofs.

The remains of what was once the old Sea Mountain resort restaurant can still be seen from Punalu'u beach. It's actually pretty interesting if you like taking photos of older things. I read it was damaged in a bad storm in the 70's. It's hidden way back at the edge of the park/beach.

I did some research and found out that the locals are battling with the owners of Sea Mountain to try and take back the undeveloped land (over 400 acres) this has been going on for years. In one sense, I agree with not wanting to destroy the natural beauty, but in another sense the area/town could do well with some development and possibly be an economy boost for the county. Maybe a balance could be found but I have not heard any updates. I would say to stay for maybe 2 nights and then stay in Kona the rest of the time. There is a housekeeping fee though so make sure it's worth the amount of nights you stay. There is no A/C but it was ok as it gets cool at night. During the day it could be a little too hot inside.

It is about 35 minutes from Volcano National park which was good because we went 3 different times because of rain and fog, it would have been hard to drive from Kona that many times.
Early morning is very relaxing as the ocean is a little more calm and you can still hear the waves crashing onto the rocks.

Room Tip: Unit #28 was very nice and updated
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Taniakamp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2012

This is part of my Vacation Internationale timeshare. You must have a car. You must not be in a hurry as you are an hour plus drive to Hilo and longer to Kailua Kona. There are small towns in either direction with a great bakery headed North, Punuluua sp? The southern most bakery in the US with great everything.

This is not the place if you want to go shopping or see shows,etc. This is close to the Volcano park and nature. Groceries are a special trip. Get a cheap cooler and stock up as the drive often has few places to stop at.

If you want to RELAX this is a perfect place and not bad for romance either.
Yeah dirty old man
Vegas Pete

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Peter G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2012

Car is a necessity. Far from everything 60-70 miles both ways in between Hilo and Kona airport. Pack light...washer and dryer available. Have tennis shoes and flipflops. Full kitchen. Although there are a lot of restaurants along the way, make sure to stock up on cooking supplies before heading here from the airport since the closest restaurant is about 7 miles north by Punaluu Bake Shop (make sure to stop here and try the malasadas) and probably not open 24/7. The closest grocery store is north of Sea Mountain. For fresh produce, there are farmers markets close to both Hilo and Kona airports (always open though best days are Wednesdays and Saturdays for more crafty items---I prefer the one in Hilo). Costco (best place to buy your pogs if you like them) is in Kona 3 miles from Kona airport. 2 miles south is a Safeway and Walmart on Henry. Plan your trip wisely. You can hit a couple of stops in one trip. There are a lot of equipment rentals along the way from both sides but pack some snorkling gears and good water shoes. Those lava rocks are sharp. A good water camera is fun to carry around. Sunrise in July starts at around 5:45 AM and so worth the short walk to Punaluu beach. Start out with: Magic Sands, Alii drive farmers Market, City of Refuge or O Honaunau beach, green sand beach, south point which is the southernmost point of the United States, Punaluu beach, Volcano National parks, Richardson beach, Hilo farmer's market, Akiki falls, Rainbow falls, etc...) Lots of sightseeing but map out your route to be more efficient.

Room Tip: don't think there is a fitness center but with all the nature treks, don't think you need on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank r2d2Seattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pahala
50.2 mi away
Hilo Seaside Hotel
50.3 mi away
Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel
27.2 mi away
Lava Lodge at Volcano Village
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
47.3 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
5.1 mi away
Pahala Plantation Cottages
8.5 mi away
Big Island Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sea Mountain? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea Mountain

Address: 95-788 Ninole Road, Punalu'u, Pahala, Island of Hawaii, HI 96777
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Pahala
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Pahala
Price Range: $130 - $196 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sea Mountain 2.5*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Sea Mountain reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sea Mountain Hotel Pahala
Sea Mountain Hawaii/Pahala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing