We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fantastic”
other travelers have booked this property
Hale Ke Kai
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Hale Ke Kai
Hale KeKai Lanai Ocean View
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
19 reviews
Hale Ke Kai
Hale KeKai
Lanai Ocean View
Lanai (Patio) view
Dining Room
Living Room
Living Room
Kitchen
King Size Bed
wasching machine / dryer closet
Pool with Hot Tub
Sunrise at Punaluu
Punaluu Black Sand Beach
Ka'u Coastal Scene
Punaluu Golf Course
Ka'u Coastal Scene
Mauna Loa
Mauna Loa
Beautiful Mountains of Ka'u
Punaluu Locals: Honu (Sea Turtle)
Whale Breaching
....with luck from the Lanai
Ka'u Locals
Papakolea Green Sand Beach
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Pahala, Island of Hawaii, Hawaii

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 19 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Suzanne P
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
Reviewed May 18, 2015 for a stay in May 2015

This adorable little place is between Kona and Hilo. 27 miles away from Volcano National Park. It was peaceful with an excellent view of the ocean. There was a pool and hot tub in the complex, which we enjoyed. We went to 4 islands and this place was far superior than any of the other places we stayed. The mattress was excellent, especially since we are older and our backs aren't the best. My partner had a hip replacement 7 weeks before we were here and he was totally comfortable. It was extremely clean and we were extremely pleased.
Cute, cute place.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The beautiful view of the ocean and the great mattress.
Liked least: Construction going on by the unit, which could not be helped by owner.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg J
1 review
“Serenity Now”
Reviewed January 21, 2015 for a stay in January 2015

What a fantastic spot to wind down after a day or week of sightseeing and excursions. Our unit (23) was very well equipped with everything we needed for cooking or chillaxing at the beach or pool.. The condo was very well laid out with possibly one of the best views off the lanai in the whole place.. Very private with ocean and golf course views. Saw lots of whales and duffers alike..
The location to Volcano national park was perfect, only a 30 min drive away. Be sure to hit up Kau'u Coffee Mill in Pahala on your way back.
We spent many days soaking in the sun at the great pool and lava hot tub, although some umbrellas for the fair skinned would be a nice touch. We are planning to come back in two years and will be requesting Hale Kekai again.. Jeff pencil us in for a week in feb please..

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MontanaMa...
Livingston, Montana
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The Best of the South”
Reviewed November 14, 2014 for a stay in November 2014

Excellent service by Jeff. Found two cold beers and cold cans of POG left in the fridge;excellent bag of Ku'a coffee as a welcome treat. Close to Volcano NP and swam with turtles in the mornings. Hiked South Point. Really a fantastic opportunity for us to begin exploring this Big Island.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quaelyn
Michigan
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Wonderful!”
Reviewed September 20, 2014 for a stay in September 2014
1
person found this review helpful

My husband and I stayed at Hale Kekai for two nights. We wanted to be close to Mahana Beach and Volcanoes National Park, and the location for this property was perfect for both. We actually had a little issue before arriving - I contacted Jeff, the owner, a couple of weeks before our arrival asking about directions to the property and such since I hadn't heard anything from him. It turns out that he uses a couple of sites to rent out his property and in a fluke situation they didn't sync properly and one of the nights we had booked ended up being double booked by another guest. Jeff hadn't even noticed the mistake until I had contacted him, but once he was aware he was incredibly helpful and accommodating in trying to find a solution that worked for both me and my husband as well as the other guest. My husband and I ended up staying at Hale Kekai while Jeff found accommodation at another unit for the other guest. As far as I know, we were all very satisfied.

Other than that slight hiccup that was taken care of with speed and thoughtfulness, our time at Hale Kekai was absolutely wonderful! The property is beautiful and kept up well. The view from the lanai is breathtaking. The unit is part of a condo complex, so there are units all around it, but we wouldn't have been able to tell as it was so quiet. The walk to the beach is easy and doesn't take much time. We only made it to the beach once because of packing our schedule too heavily and not having much time, but we did see some turtles (on the beach itself and in the water) when we made it there.

Overall, we loved the property and would recommend it to anyone who wants a quiet getaway on the Big Island that is still close enough to other attractions. Our only regret is that we weren't able to spend more than just 2 nights there.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location and the views.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sealeigh
Reston, Virginia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Beautiful Views!”
Reviewed June 8, 2014 for a stay in May 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Hale Kekai and were most pleasantly surprised to find the black sand beach was an easy walk from the condo. We did the walk often and always found a different turtle (or more!) resting on the beach.
The surrounding area was accurately described in the thorough literature provided by the Owner and we referred to it often for sightseeing and dining suggestions.
The unit provides a lovely, private patio with an incredible view.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Within walking distance to a beautiful beach! Condo development was very nice.
Liked least: Unit was clean, but it could use some freshening (paint touch-up, linens updates)
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
molly58wa...
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“fantastic getaway”
Reviewed March 1, 2014 for a stay in November 2013

this is an excellent property easy to find great information on the area provided by owners ....recommend highly... access to pool, golf course was great... private spot amongst mant units... hardly knew others were around

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CA
Reviewed January 20, 2014 for a stay in January 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing