We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Real Surprise”

Hawaiian Vanilla Company
Book In Advance
More Info
$223.96*
and up
Hawaii Island Experience
Ranked #1 of 1 things to do in Paauilo
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Volcano, Hawaii
Level Contributor
81 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“A Real Surprise”
Reviewed July 15, 2013

We had heard about the tour & lunch, so we decided to try it with our company. What a treat. The first thing they tell you is do not use the GPS to try and find them. We followed the printed directions, and no problem. The lunch was so delicious. I never finish a sandwich, but the chicken breast on a vanilla-infused bun, with sweet potato fries was just so good. I ate it all. Ian, the owner's oldest son, did a fabulous job explaining how labor intensive it is to grow/pollenate the flower to produce a vanilla bean. The tour was great, although, the hill you needed to climb was a bit steep. The gift shop sold all sorts of vanilla related products, made with the company's vanilla. Yes, we went overboard, but who cares. It was a once-in-a-lifetime experience for our company. The lunch/tour is $39.00, which for some is pricy, but we wanted the experience, so it was worth it. Biggest drawback: 1 cash register in the gift shop and 1 bathroom for everyone.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Sniffer0320
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

422 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    332
    57
    12
    12
    9
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Fun, Interesting, and Unique Activity!”
Reviewed July 12, 2013

My wife and I randomly heard about this unique family-owned and operated company through a friend on the island. We were skeptical at first, but visiting the Hawaiian Vanilla Company turned out to be a fantastic experience for the both of us. We came for both the lunch and the tour. The host was the oldest son and he did a great job explaining all of the work that goes into making a vanilla bean while we enjoyed our delicious lunch. Each aspect of the meal has vanilla integrated into it and it was interesting to learn about all the ways that vanilla can be used with food.

If you want a memorable experience outside of the traditional attractions on the big island, I recommend visiting the Hawaiian Vanilla Company.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Brian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
38 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Luncheon great, tour OK”
Reviewed June 28, 2013

My wife and I took the luncheon/tour of the vanilla company. The food was well prepared and each item had some type of vanilla infusion. We were disappointed with the lack of the vanilla aroma we were expecting. The tour guide, Ian, was very informative and friendly. The tour was informative but short. If we had only signed up for the tour which was $25.00 we would have felt a bit ripped off. Overall we learned much about vanilla and enjoyed the total experience.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Teddyhill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glen Mills, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
60 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Hawaiian Vanilla Company, A not to be missed tour!”
Reviewed June 5, 2013

I am a foodie and as a self-taught gourmet cook I was quite intrigued to come across the Hawaiian Vanilla Company located on the Big Island of Hawaii. I booked a tour for my husband and myself, to say it was amazing is an understatement. Not only was the drive beautiful, the location of the vanilla farm itself is in the most verdant, lush landscape one can imagine. Jim, the owner, was right at hand every step of our lunch/tour combination. He told us about what inspired him to start his company and the history behind the most wonderful of orchids which produces the vanilla bean. The lunch was really quite a qourmet affair with each dish having some hint of vanilla incorporated. The tour itself was so interesting. Seeing the grow houses and learning about the delicate art of pollinating the orchids on the single day each year that it's possible to do so. Over the years I have had the great fortune to visit each Hawaiian Island. Of all the weeks I've had finding the best that Hawaii has to offer, the Hawaiian Vanilla Company ranks as one of the most interesting, pleasurable excursions I've had.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Kelley P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Fargo, North Dakota
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lunch was so good, we cried a little bit!”
Reviewed May 14, 2013

Quaint location, interesting tour, and TASTY culinary experience. We were impressed by the knowledge and hospitality of the family. It's certainly worth doing if you are on the north side of the island!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank SchroerMR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hawaiian Vanilla Company also viewed

Hawaii Volcanoes National Park, Island of Hawaii
 
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
 

Been to Hawaiian Vanilla Company? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing