We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Most relaxing place I've ever been”
Review of Keolamauloa

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Paauilo
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Keolamauloa
Ranked #2 of 2 Paauilo B&B and Inns
Reviewed April 26, 2012

This was the most relaxing place I have ever been in my life. A beautiful small working farm (5 acres) with gardens, a small pond, chickens, and a pig.

The owner rents out the first floor of her house as a guest house. You get two bedrooms, bath, kitchen, living room, laundry, and outdoor hot tub.

I can't say enough about how calm and relaxing this place was. We only booked three days, and totally regretted that we couldn't stay longer.

The owner, Kaye, is a wonderful woman and great to talk to. We spent a great evening talking about the area, Hawaiian culture, and life on the big island. In fact, later in the week, we actually drove back just to talk with her some more.

Room Tip: Kaye provides a basket of fresh produce, but you should shop for things like milk and cereal, plus d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ed F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (16)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

7 - 13 of 16 reviews

Reviewed March 15, 2012

A group of family and friends traveled from Osaka, Japan to stay at Keolamauloa for 8 nights. We arrived first as two mamas with our 1 1/2 year old toddlers, and then were joined by one of our husbands. There was plenty of room for all of us to sleep very comfortably. Kaye even provided a crib, as requested, for one child.
We were welcomed by the family, who brought us a lovely basket of fresh fruits and vegetables. As other reviewers have mentioned, the farm fresh multicolored eggs were a delightful and delicious highlight. The accommodations are spacious and comfortable, and equipped with everything you would need to cook a meal. There’s even a gas fire, which really made things cosy and cheery, especially for those of us who don’t have the luxury of a fireplace.
This reviewer was pleasantly surprised to read after booking that the Lonely Planet guidebook for the Big Island specifically features Keolamauloa as a good place to say with kids. It absolutely was! Feeding the pig the fresh kitchen scraps was the #1 daily highlight for my little boy. Other farm highlights included, visiting all the different chicken coops, running around chasing butterflies amongst the garden rows, visiting Kaye’s granddaughter’s decked out playhouse at the bottom of the field, playing with Kaye’s granddaughter on her *gasp* Big Wheel, rolling around in the grass with the friendly farm cats and dogs, and trying to spot the gold fish in the pond. For the adults, the hot tub, BBQing grass-fed beef and dining alfresco underneath the clear, shining stars were particular highlights. We dearly look forward to returning when the kids grow up a little bit - so they can play on the zip line and fireman’s pole, climb trees, and kayak on the pond!
With so much to do on the farm, it was difficult to tear ourselves away. But Sally, Kaye’s daughter provided us traveling mamas with a terrific kid-friendly list of local activities right on the Hamakua Coast. We drove to Waimea (where there’s health food store and large supermarket) and had fun singing a real live version “Old MacDonald”. We easily drove to the Kalopa State Recreation area for a mini-hike. We dined more than once on incredibly fresh, delicious pizza in the cute town of Honoka’a. We did a bit of a longer excursion to the Pololu Valley lookout, and had lunch in the funky town of Hawi. When Daddy arrived and we switched to a 4x4, we drove down into exquisitely primeval Waipio Valley, and Kaye’s daughter Sally took family picture portraits.
All in all - it was a gorgeous place to stay, both on the farm and off. We very highly recommend Keolamauloa as a vacation rental, and particularly for families. A week after returning home to Japan we are all still high from the fresh air and fun we had, and we already miss our friends from the farm, both human and animal.

Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
1  Thank HelenofOsaka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2011

I just want to warn people about this staggering waste of money. The "farmstead" is actually a front consisting of 1 pig, 2 goats, some chickens, and some rabbits, all spanning an area of about 100 square meters. What is actually bred here in abundance are fleas, ticks, and chiggers, which we encountered plenty of, in this "journey back to nature". It's actually just an easy way for the owner to make money from unsuspecting tourists, check the place out if you don't believe me, don't book in advance.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nickyfroobs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2011

My husband and I spent 3 nights here at the end of a wonderful 10 days on the Big Island. After staying in a condo, then a rental house , Keolamauloa felt just right for exploring the Waipio Valley and eastern side of the island.

Kaye greeted us and showed us around the apartment. It's important to note that the apartment is the basement level of the main house but totally self-contained with private entry and it's own patio area and big outdoor soaking tub. We did hear the family upstairs at times, but it wasn't bothersome at all. The apartment was very clean, and the beds were wonderful. This part of the island is amazingly beautiful, with dramatic sea cliff vistas at the coast, soft green hills and forest near the farm.

The property is gorgeous, and Kaye brought us a basket with kale, taro, garlic, carrots and a few other veggies from the garden... and the BEST eggs I have ever had in my life. We had fun cooking taro & kale breakfast burrittos from a recipie that Kaye provided, as well as just taking our evenings to read and relax.

This is a wonderful option for exploring this area. We did the hike down and --ouch -- back up Waipio, which was one of the highlights of our trip. The closest "big" town of Honokaa has a decent grocery store and some good restaurants, plus Waimea is only about a 1/2 hour away.

All in all a wonderful stay. We would return without hesitation!!

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank berester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2010

We spent five nights at Keolamauloa in July, and had a truly wonderful time. The booking process was simple and friendly, and Kaye gave us excellent directions. She and her granddaughter welcomed us, and once we had settled in, she proceeded to take us on a tour of the farm, showing us the pig, the sheep and the vegetable garden. The family’s commitment to the land, and to the indigenous vegetation of Hawai’i, is evident in the way they run the farm. After meeting Kaye’s daughter and son-in-law, we went back to the apartment with a basket of vegetables fresh from the garden, and a box of the most delicious eggs we’d ever eaten. This first experience was a taste of a memorable week on the farm.
The apartment is private, airy and light, and the gentle breezes blow through the open windows. My favorite spot was standing at the kitchen counter, looking out over the grass and trees, at the white clouds in the sky. The air here is the kind of air you want to breathe forever: fresh and invigorating. The quiet is broken only by the occasional sounds of the chickens or sheep, Everything was extremely clean, and the apartment is tastefully and informally furnished. The apartment generally has a comfortable and relaxed feel, with interesting and appealing artwork on the walls, some by Kaye’s daughter and son-in-law. The beds are very comfortable, and there is plenty of storage space. One bedroom looks out on the peaceful koi pond in front of the apartment. The kitchen is fully equipped for real cooking, and there is plenty of counter space. We loved the hot tub, and the choice of inside or outside showers (under a passion flower creeper). The indoor shower is wonderfully roomy, with the option of an open window looking out on the garden. We could also eat inside or out on the porch, with a view of the sky, and the sheep munching peacefully on the grass, or the occasional visit from a cat. The washer and dryer were at our disposal and worked well. Kaye and her family were extremely friendly and helpful, without being in the least intrusive. At night, when the sky was clear, we could go outside, turn out the lights, and be awed by the incredible number of stars in the sky. We appreciated the opportunity to participate in the life of the farm in small ways: for example, feeding our peels and organic waste to their large pig, as a part of the composting process. When we were able to tear ourselves away, we explored the area. Keolamauloa is close to Honoka’a, a sleepy little town that we enjoyed, and beautiful Waipi’o Valley, which is definitely worth a visit (especially on horseback). From here one can also get to Mauna Kea for stargazing, through Waimea. (There are good health food stores in Waimea and Hilo: shop in one of these before driving on to Keolamauloa.) We were truly sad to leave this wonderful place. We recommend Keolamauloa with enthusiasm.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sue G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2010

Sitting at high elevation, about a fifteen minute drive from the pretty town of Honokaa this self-catering guest house will perfectly suit anyone looking for a little rural isolation in a beautiful, quiet setting. The apartment is clean, spacious, cool and airy and the patio is perfect for dining outside, whatever time of the day.The owners make every effort to be accomodating without being intrusive and if you love fresh produce it can be your's every day of your stay.

If you are looking for a plush lounge or widescreen TV or cable, Keolamaula isn't for you.
But, if you are happy sitting on the patio experiencing a small working farm (without getting involved yourself) before heading out to experience the sites of the Big Island, Keolmaula is perfect (and at these rates, a steal).

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KatieBirch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2010

What a wonderful place to stay! Keolamauloa was the perfect place for the four of us- two moms and their grown daughters. It is peaceful, beautiful and is made all the more so by such welcoming and thoughtful hosts. Thank you Kaye, Sally, Keith and Kai'i for everything! It was restful but stimulating and exactly what we were looking for. The Hamakua Coast must be one of the best places in the world, and staying at Keolamauloa sure helped us appreciate that. We will be back, with any luck

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank erin_co
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Keolamauloa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Keolamauloa

Address: 31-14 Pauuilo Mauka Rd., PO Box 484, Paauilo, Island of Hawaii, HI 96776
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Paauilo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Paauilo
Number of rooms: 3

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing