We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great tour, very informative”
Review of Kula Kai Caverns

Kula Kai Caverns
Certificate of Excellence
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great tour, very informative”
Reviewed February 1, 2014

Thank you Greg for the very personalized tour you guided my family on. If you don't like crowds and want to enjoy a tour. Kula Kai caverns is the top of the line, Greg was extremely knowledgable and went above and beyond to give us a great tour. People you should go out of your way to see this one. Thanks from the Reddigs

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Karl R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    98
    6
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“If you only have ONE thing to do in Hilo!”
Reviewed January 22, 2014

Out of everything I did while I was in Hilo, visiting the Kula Kai caverns is on the top of my list. When you visit the Kula Kai cavern, you get a guided tour of the old lava tubes. We made a reservation for the two hour tour ahead of time so they gave us directions on how to find the place on the day of. It's a little tricky because you end up driving on private property. They give you the code to get through the gates.

Before you leave, make sure you're wearing closed toed shoes and nice durable pants that you don't mind crawling around in. Jeans and sneakers should be fine.

Anyway we pull up to the main office and check in with our tour guide. From there, he suits us up with helmets with a flashlight on top of it, gloves, a belt with water bottle, and knee pads. The tour starts right outside of the office and you walk into this huge cave with lights inside. You're walking for awhile and after a bit, our guide tells turns off the light to show us just how dark it is inside the cave. You can't see anything in front of you.

Of course the light only goes so far because further up in the tour you're walking around with only the light of your headlamp. You're walking, crawling, exploring the lava tube and occasionally they'll point out the remains of an animal that had many years ago died in the lava.

They recommend you not be claustrophobic when you're going through the cave but if you're not, it's one of the things you need to do while you're in Hilo! Our tour guide was super cool and told us a bunch of little things about lava and caves and things that grow inside of it. We had a ton of fun and would definitely recommend this to our friends!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Berryfusion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach, Fl
Level 6 Contributor
195 reviews
49 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 229 helpful votes
“Highly recommend this lava tube experience”
Reviewed December 16, 2013

We signed up for the two hour tour. I called and made the reservation with Gary, who was really helpful in terms of driving directions, where we might stop for some lunch and what to wear. We spent our expedition time with Kathlyn, who made the experience one part geology and science lesson and another part fun and exploration. We spent several hours in the lava tube 50-60 feet underground and it was like a treasure hunt. We saw lots of signs of visitation by ancient Hawaiians who came here to collect water as well as other things (I don't want to spoil the surprise). It was really great fun to walk through the cave and see the formations.

This is a professionally run operation with guides who know their stuff. We drove from the town of Volcano and it was an enjoyable scenic ride to Ocean View and could easily be combined with other stops either before or after the experience.

We had a great time and highly recommend it.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Journeyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, South Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
161 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Pretty Cool”
Reviewed December 10, 2013

We didn't know what to expect and were pleasantly surprised by the experience. I wish we would have done the 2 hour tour. Kathy was great and incredibly informative. Check this place out on the way to he black sand beaches if you are staying in Kona!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jeremiah D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY Metro
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Not your average nature walk”
Reviewed November 22, 2013

Three of us did the two hour "Jewel Box" tour with Victor. You start with getting your miners helmets, gloves and kneepads. Next you get a brief but informative history of the volcanic activity of the area over a really cool map with all the island's lava flows color coded according to time frame. Then you descend into the lava tube.

Victor was very instructive about the formation of the tubes and all the features within the tubes. He is a walking science lesson, always respectful of preserving the indications of use by ancient Hawaiians. He was also mindful of our safety. Turning off all the lights and sitting in absolute stillness many feet below the surface is a form of sensory deprivation few of us get to experience in our daily lives.

Note that the two hour tour involves crawling through some very tight spaces. If you are claustrophobic you may want to do a shorter tour without the crawling.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank MtKiscoKid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kula Kai Caverns also viewed

 
Hawaii Volcanoes National Park, Island of Hawaii
 

Been to Kula Kai Caverns? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing