We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Charming”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of hawaiian journeys

studio at dusk
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
studio at dusk
kitchen area bedroom
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
15 reviews
studio at dusk
kitchen area
bedroom
living area 2bedroom
studio yurt
view of studio from 2 br yurt
plume from volcano
view of south point from property
bathroom
side view of 1 bedroom yurt
view from 1 br yurt to the other yurts
Copy of The 3 Amigo Yurts 054
view of hilo bay from tidepools
Copy of The 3 Amigo Yurts 058
one and two bedroom yurts
sunrise over yurts
Copy of The 3 Amigo Yurts 081.jpgview of property from street
studio kitchen area
studio bed
studio
studio
property at dusk
living area 1 bedroom
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cabin -
Studio, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Ocean View, Island of Hawaii, Hawaii

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 15 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
kisbey
Seattle
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Charming”
Reviewed October 22, 2011 for a stay in October 2011
2
people found this review helpful

We thoroughly enjoyed our 2 night stay in the Hawaiian Journeys Yurt. It had all the necessities of a hotel with a lot more charm. Not for everyone, but for people looking for something different, I would definitely recommend it. We stayed in a studio Yurt which was great for 2 people and our friends also rented a studio Yurt on the property. It is very rural in the area, but we found a couple of great home style restaurants in Na'alehu and you can BBQ at the Yurt if you want to cook.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: With Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeatherB0...
Socorro, New Mexico
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Charming, off-the-beaten path”
Reviewed May 19, 2011 for a stay in September 2010
2
people found this review helpful

If you're not looking to be in the middle of "the action", and instead just want a peaceful stay, then this is a good option. The island is small enough that you aren't actually very far away from anything; and the town has the basic necessities (so you can buy groceries to cook for yourself). The kitchen was not what I was expecting, but there was a microwave, coffee pot, water cooler, propane grill (outside), and dishes/utensils were provided so I was able to make do. You should be aware that the toilet/shower is not attached to the larger 2 yurts (but you do have access to a private bathroom just a short walk away).
Overall, I had a very pleasant stay. The views were amazing, the surroundings were quiet, and the tourist-y things that I wanted to do weren't that far away. Plus the cost was perfect for my budget.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Traveling group: Solo Traveler
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Young singles A romantic getaway
Families with young children Families with teenagers
Tourists Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiana
Reviewed June 28, 2010 for a stay in February 2009

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Liked best: The yurt experience!
Liked least: Location
Traveling group: Spouse / significant other
Your age range 25-34
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
Friends getaway A romantic getaway
Older travelers Families with young children
Families with teenagers Tourists
Large groups Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
CA
Reviewed June 2, 2010 for a stay in May 2010

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Traveling group: Solo traveler
Your age range 45-54
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
CA
Reviewed June 1, 2010 for a stay in February 2010

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Traveling group: Spouse / significant other
Your age range 45-54
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing