We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best night's sleep on the Big Island” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Leilani Bed & Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ocean View
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Leilani Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 1 Ocean View B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Medina, Ohio
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Best night's sleep on the Big Island”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2012

Stayed at a few B&Bs on the Big Island and this was the best night's sleep we had. Bed was comfortable, private bath was spacious, and the breakfast was delicious. Our hosts were not too intrusive, which we appreciated, but were very helpful when needed. The rooms and the common lanai area were beautiful. Location was great for South Point and Green Sand Beach, but not many restaurant choices in the vicinity.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank calamitylori2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    71
    42
    8
    0
    2
See reviews for
17
71
9
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Schweiz
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2012

We stayed at Leilani B&B on our way to the volcano NP (coming from Kona). In that "town" there is not that much (we had to drive for abt 20 minutes to get some dinner), but other than that it was very good. In the house there is a big room, where you can spend time reading, playing cards, using the internet,... The rooms are very clean and nice. And the owners are very friendly and served us a wonderful breakfast.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GrafMM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adamstown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2012

Initially I was a little concerned about making this reservation as Google Maps 'street view' makes it looks a little questionable what with all the lava and stuff. But my gut feeling was saying anyone who is still an active amateur ham radio operator (as Randy - one of the hosts is) has got to be a trust worthy person. Luckily I staid with my gut feeling and can say you will have a nice stay here. The rooms are tastefully done, roomy and your hosts Randy & Lynn are great people. The other guests we met here were all wonderful people with wonderful stories that made our stay even more memorable.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2012

I almost fell over in disbelief at some of the comments regarding the Leilana. 'Gracious', 'Friendly', and 'Accommodating' are simply words I find hard to associate with the hosts of this average B&B. We arrived just before dinner, and were itching to fire up the 'free' barbie that they advertise on their website, only to be told we couldn't use it tonight as 'my husband was using it.' Denied. They were offered no help at all in suggesting other options - remember that Ocean View is in the middle of nowhere, so there isn't a whole lot of alternatives to choose from. We ended up having to microwave some burgers in their dining room. I practically had to beg to borrow a knife to cut the bread with. To be honest, we actually felt like we were invading their privacy for our entire stay. If you are going to open up your home as a guest house, do it like you mean it. Please. I'll concede that the breakfast was great, albeit begrudgingly.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Boersch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Hampshire
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2012

The owners of this B&B were very nice, friendly, helpful people. The breakfast was good - fruit, bagels, muffins, cereal, and tea/coffee. The room was fine, just an average B&B room. Regarding noise, we did think that the walls seemed thin but luckily we didn't have anyone in the room next to us. We liked the location because it got us halfway from the airport to Hawai'i Volcanoes National Park. However, there is almost nothing in the area in terms of food.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank flossdaily8111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2012

My wife and I stayed for 2 nights at this B&B. We had a nice room with private bath in a quiet setting. We enjoyed Lynn's hospitality and conversation. Lynn is a painter and her wonderful water colors and oils added to the ambience. Breakfast was a "do-it-yourself" from many options including cereal, fruit, muffins, yogurt, etc. with a microwave for instant oatmeal. Best of all (for a geologist), the property has 3 entrances to huge lava tubes (for viewing NOT exploring!) photographs of which you might see in an upcoming issue of National Geographic who visited a little while ago. All in all, a place we recommend and would be pleased to stay at again.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naalehu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2012

Clean, quiet, comfortable, quite reasonably priced. Excellent, healthy breakfast; accommodating hosts. If you’re going to be in Ka’u (the southern part of the big island of Hawaii) try this place.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank knotical
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ocean View
8.8 mi away
Kalaekilohana
Kalaekilohana
#1 of 1 in Naalehu
5.0 of 5 bubbles 287 reviews
43.3 mi away
Chalet Kilauea
Chalet Kilauea
#1 of 2 in Volcano
4.0 of 5 bubbles 382 reviews
62.7 mi away
Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
40.5 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
11.3 mi away
Macadamia Meadows Farm Bed & Breakfast
52.8 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Hualalai
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Leilani Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Leilani Bed & Breakfast

Property: Leilani Bed & Breakfast
Address: 92-8822 Leilani Pkwy, Ocean View, Island of Hawaii, HI 96704
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Ocean View
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Ocean View
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Are you looking for a unique vacation experience in a lava rock B and B?Do you want to stay near Green Sand Beach, South Point, Big Island Black Sand Beach, Kula Kai Caverns, and Hawaii Volcanoes National Park and its new Kahuku Section, and more?Then slow down and relax at our Big Island Bed and Breakfast while traveling between Kona and Hilo and discover the natural wonders of this area around the southernmost point of the US, right here on the Big Island of Hawaii. W40362538-01 ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Leilani Bed & Breakfast Hawaii/Ocean View

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing