We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Yummy!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Punaluu Bake Shop and Visitor Center

Punaluu Bake Shop and Visitor Center
Ranked #1 of 1 Dessert in Naalehu
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Cafe, Hawaiian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children, Kids, Local cuisine, Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Rhayader, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Yummy!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2012

Delicious pastries with awesome ingredients (guava, passion fruit etc). good informative bit with traditional Hawaiian life as the focus. would be a great spot to pick up a picnic on the way to the black or green sand beaches!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank rosyspex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

635 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    333
    215
    71
    10
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vallejo, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good food!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2012 via mobile

We were driving to hwy 11 heading to Hilo in early morning... It was 6AM. We passed by this Bakery and we made a right u turn to look for Malasadas and the sweet bread... Store opens at 9 AM, so anyway we take our chance maybe they will help us or sell us Malasaas and sweet bread. So we knock on their door.. And kinda ask about their products. They told us they open at around 9AM. But then we explained to them were we heading and we will be heading the other side of the Island. In short the guy is very kind enough to help us and talk to their Boss it was really a begging of this malasadas and sweet bread... They let us taste malasadas. It was the best Malasada we had from the 4 island we went.. The workers are so nice and kind enough to help us and get through our malasadas craving.. The place are clean, and the ambience is good too..

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank 2travel2love
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herndon, Virginia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great for a stop on your way to or from Black sand beach”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2012

Good sandwiches, good pastries in a nice shaded garden. We really enjoyed our lunch there at a very affordable price.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Marylise07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
215 reviews
138 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“The best malasadas! Better than Leonard's on Oahu”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2012

Try their fresh malasadas. The one's with lilikoi glaze are very good. If you're driving to Volcano National Park it's a good place to stop for a light lunch. The menu has a nice variety with something for everyone.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank kirrabob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haleiwa, Hawaii
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Not a place for lunch”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2012

Though your choices are limited in the evening near South Point, I would not recommend the fish sandwich. The fish was not fresh and tasted like frozen fish out of the bag. The bun was the best part. Forgo the fish and aim for their breads and pastries.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Robert D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Punaluu Bake Shop and Visitor Center also viewed

Hilo, Island of Hawaii
Naalehu, Island of Hawaii
 
Naalehu, Island of Hawaii
Naalehu, Island of Hawaii
 

Been to Punaluu Bake Shop and Visitor Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing