We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyed a special experience!”
Review of Kalaekilohana

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Kalaekilohana
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Naalehu
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed July 3, 2014

I don't usually stay at bed and breakfasts, but while planning a trip with my daughter to visit the big island, we decided to stay at the inn because of its proximity to south point and the green beach and we were very glad we did!

The place and hosts are wonderful and I would strongly recommend a visit there on your way to volcano national park.

The hosts did everything possible to make us feel at home and comfortable, including making us dinner on the First night when we arrived late and all the restaurants in town were closed.

We would strongly recommend a stay there

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank M1611
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (313)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

143 - 149 of 313 reviews

Reviewed June 17, 2014

As many of the other reviews seem to agree, Kenny and Kilo run a one of a kind B&B/Inn.

We stayed exclusively at B&B's while circling the Big Island and 2 really stood out. Although we loved both, there is no way in the world we could could compare the 2. Apples and oranges. In one we were the only guests, which was great and even if there had been other guests, it was run so that each couple/family could have privacy and be private for everything they did. Here there is a option, with the knowledge the Kenny and Kilo have about the island, you can go and play/adventure all day or stay back and rest totally alone in your room; or it also has this wonderful communal feel about it.

As soon as you park the car, one or both of the "guys" is there on the lana'i to welcome you. They take you in, walk you around, take you to your room and you are all set.....and offered dinner on the nights Kenny cooks. I even asked about settling our bill and he says, "no, you are here, relax, we will take care of that later." On the weekend we were here I am pretty sure it was a full house, but yet we still received the one on one attention we had at the other bed and breakfast. Maybe that is what amazed me, or maybe having multiple couples sitting on the porch talking, you cover more info, either way, we still felt important.

No worries about comfort. We traveled with our 2 girls (11 & 17) and had a large room with 2 queen /full beds and a day bed. No need for AC at all with the trade winds. The lana'i on our room was wonderful, BUT, the one downstairs where others could come and sit....now that was nice. If someone was there you could compare your days experiences or give tips and tricks for somewhere you already knew about, if you were alone, that perfect breeze would/could knock you right out on those comfy couches.

Breakfast was full of variety. All local to my understanding, but in 2 days the only thing duplicated was papaya and coffee.

The real kicker here is all the "extras" If you are traveling light, some of these things may not matter but to a family of 4 traveling only with carryon luggage........these are some of the things they have for your use at no extra charge: washer/dryer and supplies; shampoo, conditioner and body wash (nice stuff-and full size): "rusty jr" (fridge) you can keep leftovers here or they keep it stocked with water and other drinks: they do have wine waiting for you: and the list keeps going.

Although this was the most expensive property we stayed in, when you add in all the "luxury" and day to day necessities that it may be hard to have while traveling...it was all worth it.

Room Tip: none needed, all looked wonderful
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank creekbrat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2014

My wife and I stayed one night on a 2-week trip around the Big Island. This B&B made for an excellent break in a good location for us. The hosts are terrific, it is a beautiful property, with elegant accommodations. They were also very helpful in allowing us to bring in food for dinner, storing stuff in a refrigerator, being very friendly, and making a great breakfast. Nice common areas, especially on the porch. This was our most expensive place to stay, but well worth it.

Room Tip: All rooms looked good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 56JD1942
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2014

My wife and I stayed with Kenny and Kilohana for 2 days in the middle of our honeymoon while on the Big Island. They were wonderful hosts in every way. We watched the sunset on Mauna Kea the night we arrived, so we came very late, but they waited up for us and had glasses of wine waiting for us. We obtained excellent advice for visiting the south point, green sand beach, volcanoes and meals in the area. The breakfast was amazing, healthy and using locally obtained ingredients. I can't imagine a better bed and breakfast, and we definitely hope to return and visit for longer one day.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rhb40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2014

My wife and I just completed a three night stay at Kalaekilohana and although our expectations were very high they were exceeded beyond description. As has been described by previous reviewers this place is one of a kind. Visitors can expect the elegance and sophistication of a Four Seasons AND the individual attention that can only be found in a small inn. From the time you drive through the rock wall toward the home away from home guests are made to feel as though they are staying with old friends in a beautiful setting.

Each room is beautifully appointed, spacious, and very private. The breakfast each morning is served on the porch with a wonderful vista of the property. Kenny is the very talented chef who prepares each meal with local ingredients, and more importantly with the care and effort rarely seen today.

Kilohana who grew up in Hawaii knows the islands as few do. He is willing and very able to answer any questions one might have pertaining to places to visit or Hawaiian culture. Following his advice each day regarding things to do enhanced our stay and made this trip more memorable.

Over the years we’ve seen a decline in many areas of the travel industry. The lack of care and concern for travelers demonstrated by many in the industry has sadly become more and more prevalent. Kenny and Kilohana are an example of what things should be like. It is abundantly clear that they are hosts of this wonderful gem known as Kalaekilohana for only one reason - they care.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TERRY AND PAM M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2014

My husband and I wanted a restorative, and inspiring weekend with some new adventures on the Big Island and that is just what we found at Kalaekilohana. The hosts were gracious and accommodating, the room was elegant and comfortable, the breasfasts were delicious with local ingredients and served outside on the lana'i. We had a wonderful night's sleep in our comfortable beds and good suggestions for new places to explore. We filled our cooler with treats from "Rusty Jr" and we were off for the day. How pleasant it was to come back and have a glass of wine and conversation on the lana'i with Kenny and Kilohana . This is truely a home filled with Aloha.

Room Tip: Each room is unique, elegant and the beds were dreamy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wing T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2014

We were visiting our son in the area and Kalaekilohana provided the perfect spot at the end of the day. Kenny and Kilohana were extremely gracious and helpful. We enjoyed relaxing on the Lanai at the end of the evening with a glass of wine and friendly conversation with the other guests. They also offer a cheese and fruit platter upon request that was just perfect for us. Both evenings we enjoyed this as our days were long and we didn't want to venture out to a restaurant when we had such a lovely place to relax. That combined with the complimentary wine was perfect. The breakfast was amazing as I read in the revues. Don't miss it! Would go back again and highly recommend as a stop on the big island!

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MaraOD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Naalehu
39 mi away
Chalet Kilauea
Chalet Kilauea
#1 of 2 in Volcano
433 reviews
66.7 mi away
Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel
67.3 mi away
Mauna Kea Beach Hotel, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
46.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kailua-Kona
64.1 mi away
Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii
58.2 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Hualalai
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kalaekilohana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kalaekilohana

Address: 94-2152 South Point Road, Naalehu, Island of Hawaii, HI 96772
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Naalehu
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Naalehu
Price Range: $226 - $421 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hawaii's greatest luxury value, with generous complimentary amenities that save you hundreds. A perfect location for seeing the southern half of Hawaii Island. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Kalaekilohana Hotel Naalehu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing