We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good overall but very expensive”
Review of Kalaekilohana

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Kalaekilohana
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Naalehu
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed January 8, 2013

The only reason I'm giving this 3 stars and not 5 is due to the price. It was very, very expensive. If possible I'd like to give it 3.5 stars but I don't have that option.

The house is pretty, the breakfast was decent, and the owners are nice, but in my opinion it was not worth the daily rate, which was $250 a night when we stayed there. This was the most expensive place we stayed at in Hawaii but it had the fewest amenities. The bathrooms didn't have doors on them-- for some people this is an important issue.

I know that "mom and pop" businesses tend to be more expensive, but this B&B seemed over the top. The first night we were there some other customers came in late at night and were so loud that I woke up, even though we were sleeping with the door shut. For so much money, I'd have hoped for a better night's rest.

I don't know if I'd stay here again or not because it did seem way too expensive, but maybe. Who knows?

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank A P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kalaekilohana, Owner at Kalaekilohana, responded to this reviewResponded March 17, 2013

We’re grateful you have taken the time to submit a review from your stay last summer. It’s great to hear you would have given us five stars, but we are concerned that we may not have encouraged you to take full advantage of our many amenities and added values while you were with us.

When we travel, we often look for unique upscale properties that include extra values in an all-inclusive price with no hidden fees. We endeavor to offer that for our guests as well. We hope these added values were available for you and we would want to know if they weren’t.

Although our locally sourced gourmet breakfast is part of every stay, we also offer many complimentary beverages including Pellegrino, locally crafted beer, and premium wines. We also offer complimentary healthy snacks including nuts, dried fruit, cheese rounds, yogurt, and our popular pretzel barrel. One of our very popular extra values is free self-service laundry with all the supplies. We typically mention these at check-in and we hope you were able to enjoy some of them during your stay.

Kalaekilohana adds absolutely no extra fees for parking or wireless broadband internet. While a hotel on Hawaii Island may appear less expensive when you reserve your room, adding a premium breakfast, parking, and just a few of our complimentary offerings can quickly add hundreds to your bill.

In thinking back, we were unable to recall the situation that disrupted your sleep, but we invite you to contact us to tell us about it. We have had many compliments over the years about our beds and how well folks have slept, but we try not to take it for granted. It’s one of the first questions we ask our guests when we see them in the morning because it’s important to us that you have a comfortable bed and get a great night’s sleep.

Our en-suite facilities are designed to provide private spaces within an open design. We have had many compliments on the clever design over the years, but we do understand that this might not suit everyone.

Whether we are the most expensive or the least expensive accommodation during our guests visit to the island, we are committed to providing every guest an excellent value every time. We appreciate your thoughts and we’ll do our very best to make it so should you decide to give us another try.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (303)
There are newer reviews for Kalaekilohana
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

181 - 187 of 303 reviews

Reviewed October 4, 2012

Where to begin.....one cannot capture how truly special Kalaekilohana is, simply by perusing the website. Staying at Kalaekilohana is a heartfelt introduction to Hawaii's stunning beauty and rich culture. Kenny and Kilohana are exceptionally kind and gracious hosts who quietly anticipate your every need. Each guest room is spacious, beautifully appointed and incredibly comfortable. My room had a lovely lanai with gorgeous views in all directions. The bathroom boasts the most heavenly walk in rain shower....big, fluffy robes, lovely linens, a wonderfully comfortable bed....all the makings for a restful night's sleep after a day of taking in all the area has to offer. Breakfast is so thoughtfully and beautifully prepared, with homemade lilikoi spread, macadamia nut butters, bright pink dragon fruit, locally harvested potatoes, and the best mango you'll ever have. Your plate is a work of art! The K'au coffee is to die for......best coffee I've had on the island.

I cannot wait to return to the quiet beauty of this special place and experience Kenny and Kilohana's warmth and hospitality once again. Do not miss this hidden gem.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lori A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2012

I spend one night of my trip through the main islands in Hawaii, in Kalaekilohana's. It was the most pleasant experience in the islands. You can feel the Hawaiian culture just by crossing the main door. Kilohana and Kenny are the best company you can choose or a relaxing evening and amazing breakfast. I would definitely recommend this BB to everybody who wants to enjoy a real Hawaiian experience.

-------------------------------------------------

Vaig tenir el plaer de disfrutar una nit en aquest esplèndit BB. El Kilohana i el Kenny són una magnifica companyia. Només entrar per la porta es respira cultura Hawaiana. Vam disfrutar d'una velada estupenda, parlant amb el Kilohana de cultura Hawaiana, i amb el Kenny de cutura en general. És genial tota la sabiduria que desprenen tots dos junts. No cal dir que les habitacions són espectaculars i l'esmorzar una delícia.
Definitivament és un lloc per disfrutar quan visites la Illa gran de Hawaii. Tinc moltes ganes de tornar-hi!
Moltíssimes gràcies Kenny&Kilohana!!


Julia (from Barcelona)

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julia F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2012

Best vacation I ever had was just last month on the Big Island of Hawaii staying at the Kalaekilohana Bed and Breakfast. It has everything: quiet location away from the big resorts and mobs, beautiful rooms and amenities, delightful and healthy breakfasts; and Kenny and Kilohana treat you like family. They were always there to greet us -- no matter how late we came in from a day full of activities -- and always there to send you off in the morning with plush beach towels, chairs, cold drinks and snacks. They also had great ideas and lots of experience with regard to where to go and what to see.

I would go back to this BandB in a nano second and stay longer!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank susanhof3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2012

This is a beautiful home with four bedrooms. The hosts are very friendly and helpful and the breakfast is delicious and so attractive I wanted to take a picture.

Room Tip: All the four rooms are great.
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EBerger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2012

From the moment you step out of your car you feel all your wishes are "read" - the hosts Kilohana and Kenny just make you feel at home and spoil you in many ways which I will not disclose so it will be a surprise when you go there. Staying with them is a experience certainly you wish you would get all the time in Hotels. The rooms, the decorations, the cleanliness, the surroundings just excellent. Breakfast is served on a plate with so many different tropical fruits shaped in different forms-a piece of art and so delicious.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cornelia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2012

We had an exceptional 3 day stay at Kalaekilohana. While Kenny and Kilohana were on a brief vacation and were not there the first two days, we were admirably taken care of by Marion their Room Manager and the "guest chef" Patty from the very good little restaurant in town, the Hanna Hou. Extremely hospitable and welcoming. When Kenny and Kilohana arrived they could not have been more gracious, even though I am sure they were jet-lagged. We had become friendly with the other guests and asked K & K if they could put together a last minute dinner for us - which they did without hesitation and we ended up with a relaxed and delicious evening. Subtle and elegant surroundings.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pkrajsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Naalehu
66.7 mi away
Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel
67.3 mi away
Mauna Kea Beach Hotel, Autograph Collection
37.3 mi away
Volcano House
Volcano House
#1 of 1 in Hawaii Volcanoes National Park
913 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
46.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kailua-Kona
64.1 mi away
Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii
63.8 mi away
Mauna Lani Bay Hotel & Bungalows
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kalaekilohana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kalaekilohana

Address: 94-2152 South Point Road, Naalehu, Island of Hawaii, HI 96772
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Naalehu
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Naalehu
Price Range: $395 - $417 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hawaii's greatest luxury value, with generous complimentary amenities that save you hundreds and a perfect location for seeing the southern half of Hawaii Island. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Kalaekilohana Hotel Naalehu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing