We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceptional Experience”
Review of Kalaekilohana

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Kalaekilohana
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Naalehu
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Allentown/Lehigh Valley
Level Contributor
93 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Exceptional Experience”
Reviewed April 9, 2012

We had an exceptional 3 day stay at Kalaekilohana. While Kenny and Kilohana were on a brief vacation and were not there the first two days, we were admirably taken care of by Marion their Room Manager and the "guest chef" Patty from the very good little restaurant in town, the Hanna Hou. Extremely hospitable and welcoming. When Kenny and Kilohana arrived they could not have been more gracious, even though I am sure they were jet-lagged. We had become friendly with the other guests and asked K & K if they could put together a last minute dinner for us - which they did without hesitation and we ended up with a relaxed and delicious evening. Subtle and elegant surroundings.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pkrajsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

295 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    288
    3
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
59
191
11
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2012

Kilohana and Kenny have thought of every possible detail to make this the most beautiful and comfortable B&B we've ever stayed at, including fine B&Bs in Europe. The house (which they built themselves) is gorgeous, with eucalpytus floors and woodwork. Each guest room has a private lanai and a large, bright bathroom featuring fresh Hawaiian flowers and a huge tiled "rainwater" shower that is incredible! Your hosts could not be more gracious and helpful, in the true spirit of Aloha. Kilohana is a master feather artist (a Smithsonian fellow), and the house is filled with his art and that of his family (his mother is a master hat weaver). Kenny's gourmet breakfasts are fabulous. South Point and environs are worth at least a day or two, and you'll be missing out if you don't spend a night or two at Kalaekilohana.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kitebing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, British Columbia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2012

Staying a second time at a place that is remembered as being as near perfect as this world permits is always a risky business. Is it really the same the second time? Are the owners as congenial and charming as they were reemembered to be? Are the surroundings as enjoyable and the place itslef as congenial as was first thought? All these questions and more entered our minds as we drove south to Kaleakilohana after having stayed there last year (see our previous review, It's All Aloha). Well, it is as good as we remembered, perhaps even a better if that is possible. In our last review we spoke of the wonderful welcome provided by Kenny and Kilhana, their extrordinary knowledge of Hawaii and its cultural traditions and places of interest, the marvellous breakfasts provided each morning, the singular charm and hospitiaity of the house itself, its proximity of Volcano National Park, the Place of Refuge, South Point, and not to forget the extraordinry drives ponted out by Kilohana into the hills above their B&B, especially the little Buddist temple, We could go on and on about this place. But we won't. We will just say that if you want to experience what is meant by Aloha, this is the place to stay. You may never want to leave.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank JandM613
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2012

We stayed here three nights in October for our honeymoon after staying four nights on the north end of the island. It was a real amazing experience pulling into the driveway and seeing the beautiful house. This is the full bed and breakfast experience with wonderful hosts. Kenny and Kilohana really go out of their way to make the guests feel welcome.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kevin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2012

Stayed here for two nights in January and had a lovely time. Kilohana and Kenny were excellent hosts, very friendly and eager to assist with any questions or suggestions you may need with your trip. Also, Kenny is an excellent cook and the breakfasts he made were outstanding. The house is lovely and beautifully decorated. I stayed in room 1 with 2 others and it was large enough for us all. My only issue with my stay here was that it was not long enough! I look forward to returning.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank veroniqueaimee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2012

Our second stay at Kalaekilohana was just as special as our first stay two years ago. The property is gorgeous and the accommodations are top-notch. Kilohana & Kenny are perfect hosts. They intuitively know how to give you every comfort and desire. At the same, time they are sensitive to the need for privacy. The room was outfitted with plush linens, toiletries, and the most restful bed. The morning breakfasts of beautiful local ingredients were delicious and healthy. In the evenings we were invited to spend time relaxing with wine and other guests sharing the events of the day. The location in South Point was a perfect home base to so many wonderful activities and places. It was great fun. We hope to return to Kalaekilohana many, many times. Mahaolo Nui Loa!!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ExploringHawaii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
312 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2012

Coming home to Kalaekilohana is like a glimpse in time at a period when fruit came fresh from the trees, beef was on the hoof just yesterday, and when our kupuna were revered and sought out for their wisdom. A visit to Kalaekilohana takes you back to this time, where you stay, and dine and find friendship and adventure.

The rooms are spectacularly large, with breezy window and porches, large beds with insanely comfortable sheets and pillows to die for. Native Hawaiian crafts, from woven mats to exquisite feather arts, fill the house, which is, itself crafted from every manner of native Hawaiian hardwood.

Your hosts will pamper you, feed you with exquisite, slow cooked, locally sources fruits and meats, help you plan your day - or just play some Hawaiian music in the music room. Step back to the days of Hawaii at its very, very best at Kalaekiqlohana.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Holokauahi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Naalehu
67.3 mi away
Mauna Kea Beach Hotel, Autograph Collection
66.7 mi away
Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel
62.4 mi away
Kings' Land by Hilton Grand Vacations
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
46.7 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
58.4 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Hualalai
64.1 mi away
Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kalaekilohana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kalaekilohana

Property: Kalaekilohana
Address: 94-2152 South Point Road, Naalehu, Island of Hawaii, HI 96772
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Naalehu
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Naalehu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hawaii's greatest luxury value, with generous complimentary amenities that save you hundreds and a perfect location for seeing the southern half of Hawaii Island. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Kalaekilohana Hotel Naalehu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing