We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our best B&B experience, ever”
Review of Kalaekilohana

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Naalehu
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Kalaekilohana
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Naalehu
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed July 15, 2011

We were 2 families travelling together so we took over the whole place and it was perfect. Although the place is absolutely beautiful it is not stuffy and our kids (ages 25 to 12) were made to feel comfortable and welcome. Kenny and Kilohana are great hosts - very helpful and friendly but not intrusive. And of course the breakfasts were fantastic. We stayed 5 nights and each morning's meal was different but equally wonderful. The first couple nights Kenny and Kilohana were away but we were treated just as well by Marion and Patty. Patty even made us dinner one night, making sure she had something that everyone would like. After spending the day at the Green Sand beach it was heaven to come home to a nice hot shower and a relaxing meal. And Patty packed us lunch the next day with the leftovers! She owns Hana Hou restaurant in town which is really great too and well worth a stop. She also arranged for us to take a tour of a local family coffee farm. And that was a treat - the owners showed us all around then had all of us into their home for their amazing coffee and homemade brownies! When we get back the Big Island we will definately stay at Kalaekilohana again.

Room Tip: All rooms were similar and equally beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MTAORB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (305)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

203 - 209 of 305 reviews

Reviewed July 3, 2011

No words can really do justice for this amazing home so eloquently and carefully built for your comfort and ultimate Hawaiian experience. Kenny & Kilohana have built this home on a wide expanse of land with much love, thought and attention to every detail. It reminded us of a plantation home decked out in gorgeous wood floors, lovely open areas and a big porch for visiting and sipping wine in the evening with Kenny & Kilohana and other guests. The Hawaiian decor throughout is enhanced with Kilohana's lei and feather work and rooms that offer the best sleep and comfort we experienced on our 11 day trip around the island. You will sleep like a baby in beds with satiny sheets and the soft breeze cooling your room. The breakfasts are to die for.... we had island fruits and homemade pancakes the morning we spent there. We really wish we had spent more than one night but look forward to returning one day to spend more time in this area. The quaint town of Na'alehu is just a 10 minute drive en route to the Volcano National Park area. This is a great place to spend time if you want a retreat away from the Kona area and a good base to explore the south end of the island. Don't miss it. Many thanks Kenny & Kilohana for a memorable experience on this amazing island.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank funkymusic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2011

This was our first trip to Hawaii, and we could not have asked for better hosts! Kenny and Kilohana have clearly thought about what they have found best in their own travels, and created a haven of calm and peace. The grounds are lovely, the rooms are large and extremely clean, the bathroom is very luxurious. Each breakfast was amazing and creative. Kenny and Kilohana are quick to figure out what a guest is interested in, and have maps and suggestions ready before you are ready to go. We had great suggestions for our hike to Green Sand Beach (one of our favorite experiences) as well as several other notable activities. One of the many highlights of our four night stay was a suggestion to go to a coffee celebration in a neighboring town and take a tour of one of the coffee farms. The Ka'u region is award winning for coffee. What a wonderful day! One night we happened to be the only guests and we joined our hosts in town for dinner. Highest recommendation!

Room Tip: All four rooms are wonderful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Suitcasereadied
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2011

We were really looking forward to staying at Kalaekilohana after reading the reviews on Trip Advisor, and we weren't disappointed.

We had been travelling around the island all day and got there at sunset. The house is gorgeous and our inn keepers were very welcoming. As it was a Monday and getting late, we were given a suggestion for dinner back in town which was very quick & easy. When we returned we sat with our hosts on the verandah and enjoyed a glass of wine and good conversation.

The room was big and comfortable, the bathroom was huge, the bed was even more comfortable! We both had a great sleep and in the morning were greeted with a large breakfast of pancakes with lots of fresh fruit and good coffee. As written elsewhere, all food is locally sourced or grown on site, and it is great.

We stayed two nights and as we were returning late from the Volcano National Park we were uncertain what to do for dinner. Our hosts suggested as we were the only people staying that night that we could dine with them. This was a great idea and we enjoyed a wonderful meal and more good times.

We enjoyed the attention to detail and the welcoming feel of this beautiful house. It is a very comforting place to be. Our hosts were very knowledgeable and were able to provide lots of information on the area and things to do, including a CD for the drive to the southern most point of the island.

We would highly recommend Kalaekilohana!

Thank you Kenny & Kilohana. :)

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robert B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2011

The house, built to be a B&B, was beautiful. Hard woods, tropical but soothing colors, tasteful decor with a cultural bent. The rooms, both common and the bedrooms, were spacious. Food, coffee, tea... all wonderful. But what I liked especially was getting to know our hosts. Ask about the feather art and other objects in the house. If you're interested in dance, ask about the Merrie Monarch festival... the hosts may even have a video you can watch!

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ArizonaDawna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2011

Our hosts were such wonderful people. Not only do they send you off equipped with local knowledge, a beach towel, folding chair and a cold box for your packed lunch - but they also prepare the most amazing breakfast I have ever had in my life. Oh, that maple bacon.....and the hand selected fruit WOW.
The hosts are worldly people who provide luxury and attention to detail service in a down to earth and homely environment.
The rooms will leave you with no complaints, and the bathrooms were luxurious. If you want to be half way between both ends of the island, this is a great option.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Beagletrails
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2011

My wife & I had the pleasure to stay 2 nights here (Ekahi Suite). A roomy and beautiful room with access to an outdoor porch. This B & B is even better than the pictures reflect. The hosts, Kenny & Kilohana are exceptionally friendly, polite, gracious and were very accomodating to insure our stay was special. My favorite part of the day was waking up to the wonderful aromas of a special breakfast prepared by Kenny. (Pay no attention to another reviewer that made negative comments about breakfast, they obviously didn't know what they were talking about). This location may be just a little bit out of the way but is well worth the extra few minutes to get there. It is located very close to a terrific Black sand beach & the far southern most point of the Big Island. From the B & B we made day trips to the volcano, Botanical Garden (north of Kilo), visitor center on Mauna Kea to observe the stars (one of the best locations to do so in the world), black sand beach & shopping in Kilo (Island Candies, Hilo Farms Coffee Mill, farmers market, etc). Next trip, we will certainly plan on spending more relaxing time at the B & B unwinding with a glass of wine or another beverage of choice (they have a refrigerator to store anything guests would like to bring and drink).
This will go down in our memories as one of the best B & B's we have been to (& there have been many). Especially suggested for a special romantic getaway (it was our belated honeymoon). :) Cheers & Aloha.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wilsti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Naalehu
66.7 mi away
Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel
62.4 mi away
Kings' Land by Hilton Grand Vacations
67.3 mi away
Mauna Kea Beach Hotel, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
46.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kailua-Kona
64.1 mi away
Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii
58.2 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Hualalai
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kalaekilohana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kalaekilohana

Address: 94-2152 South Point Road, Naalehu, Island of Hawaii, HI 96772
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Naalehu
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Naalehu
Price Range: $402 - $417 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hawaii's greatest luxury value, with generous complimentary amenities that save you hundreds and a perfect location for seeing the southern half of Hawaii Island. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Kalaekilohana Hotel Naalehu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing