We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“So glad we stopped!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hilo Coffee Mill

Hilo Coffee Mill
Book In Advance
More Info
$166.67*
and up
Hawaii Volcanoes National Park and Big Island Highlights Small Group Tour
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: Located on 24 beautiful acres in Mountain View, midway between Hilo and Volcanoes National Park, stands our farm, roasting building and retail sales facility. Come take a full tour of the farm (aprox. 1.5 Hours) or a mini tour (aprox. 20 Minutes) in our roasting room. Either way, it's fun for the whole family and you'll learn a lot about coffee, farming and even a little history. Kids won't even know they're learning because it's so much fun. Before or after your tour, be sure and enjoy a fresh light meal, using locally grown fruits and vegetables. We have one of the best Portuguese Bean soups around. Our hours are: Tuesday: 8:00am - 4:30pm Thursday, Friday, Saturday 8:00am - 2:00pm Sunday, Monday, Wednesday CLOSED If cruise ships are in port we will also be open on those days, until 4:30pm!. If you're here on a Saturday, be sure and visit our small farmers' market with big aloha, where you'll find some real treasures, great produce, a wonderful breakfast and some great local music. It truly is Mountain View's Favorite Gathering Place. Every Saturday from 9:00am until 2:00pm. We'd love to meet you!
Camden, New Jersey
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“So glad we stopped!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2013

After a week on the Kona side of the Island, we then went to the Hilo side, near Punaluu (the black sand beach area). We traveled up and down Volcano Rd, enjoying the sights, one of which was the HIlo Coffee Mill. Staff was very friendly, in the store and on our private tour with Janette. We walked around the grounds, taking in all the surroundings, including coffee, tea, fruits and vegetables plants. We enjoying checking out the free roaming chickens and their homes, and even came across a large frog, who crossed our path! In conversation we were invited to check out the farmer's market and come for breakfast. So glad we did! Delicious breakfast and relaxing entertainment. Enjoyed checking out the vendors too! Looking forward to our next trip back to the Big Island and the Hilo Coffee Mill! There is a fee for the tour, but not for the farmer's market and store.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank jmh1153
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    90
    32
    9
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Volcano, Hawaii
Level Contributor
55 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great stop for visitors and locals alike!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2013

I've taken visitors here on several occasions and they always want to head back on future visits! My friends and I stop here on Saturdays to grab veggies at the farmers' market and grab deliciously fresh breakfasts and coffee. Try the local sweet bread french toast with portuguese sausage! We sit inside or out and we tend to linger for a long time, enjoying the relaxing atmosphere of the farm. Just busy enough to be interesting, don't miss the plants and fresh baked breads for sale at the market. Also, if you're lucky, you'll see George, a fantastic woodworker that makes furniture out of a variety of woods.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lehuamamo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine, California, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
“Great Food & Coffee & Music!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2013

I had a great breakfast and fresh coffee at the Farmer's Market. What a nice place to sit, eat and listen to local music! Thanks for the great day!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Lauri S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilo, Hawaii
1 review
“Great place to stop”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2013

A great locally owned and operated coffee shop, custom roaster, serves ono loco grinds, home to a wonderful farmers market every Saturday and strong supporter of local arts and cultural programs....oh did I mention the Islands best cup of Joe...:-) No shortage of the Aloha feeling....worth the visit :-)

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank alohagalyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hilocoffeemill, Manager at Hilo Coffee Mill, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Aloha!
Mahalo (thank you) for the great review and kind words. We strive to be the best we can, and reviews such as yours give us even more incentive to continue. We couldn't do all that we do however, without the continued support of our community and visitors. We hope to see you again soon.

Aloha,
Jeanette
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poole, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
88 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Small cafe, staff are very friendly”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2013 via mobile

We stopped by here for breakfast one morning, do not expect a large menu, their speciality is coffee! I had waffles and my boyfriend had bagel. Both were delicious! The staff were really nice and helpful. Their knowledge of the goods they sold was outstanding. The gift shop was also great to have a look at and there was also a friendly cat asleep in the cafe! The best comparison I can make for U.K travellers is that is similar to eating in a Garden Centre cafe (this is not a negative thing!)

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Missy_Kayles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hilocoffeemill, Manager at Hilo Coffee Mill, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Mahalo (thank you) for visiting Hilo Coffee Mill! I can't imagine how long it took to arrive here from the U.K. We hope you had a great visit to our island, and are glad that you enjoyed your time ( and breakfast) with us at the Mill.

We hope you will visit again, we'll have fresh food available, and of course the freshest coffee around.

Mahalo and Aloha,
Jeanette
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hilo Coffee Mill also viewed

 
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
Hilo, Island of Hawaii
 

Been to Hilo Coffee Mill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing