We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely loved it!”
Review of Hilo Coffee Mill

Hilo Coffee Mill
Book In Advance
More Info
$166.67*
and up
Hawaii Volcanoes National Park and Big Island Highlights Small Group Tour
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: Located on 24 beautiful acres in Mountain View, midway between Hilo and Volcanoes National Park, stands our farm, roasting building and retail sales facility. Come take a full tour of the farm (aprox. 1.5 Hours) or a mini tour (aprox. 20 Minutes) in our roasting room. Either way, it's fun for the whole family and you'll learn a lot about coffee, farming and even a little history. Kids won't even know they're learning because it's so much fun. Before or after your tour, be sure and enjoy a fresh light meal, using locally grown fruits and vegetables. We have one of the best Portuguese Bean soups around. Our hours are: Tuesday: 8:00am - 4:30pm Thursday, Friday, Saturday 8:00am - 2:00pm Sunday, Monday, Wednesday CLOSED If cruise ships are in port we will also be open on those days, until 4:30pm!. If you're here on a Saturday, be sure and visit our small farmers' market with big aloha, where you'll find some real treasures, great produce, a wonderful breakfast and some great local music. It truly is Mountain View's Favorite Gathering Place. Every Saturday from 9:00am until 2:00pm. We'd love to meet you!
las vegas, nv
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
39 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Absolutely loved it!”
Reviewed December 11, 2012

We stopped at the Hilo Mill on our way back from the Volcano Winery. We were greeted by the most friendliest chickens and roosters- they ran over to us as if they knew us! We ventured into the gift shop first where we had a sandwich and wrap- try the potato salad- it was really good! Then we took the tour. Boy do we wish we had "smell a vision" in the pictures because the roaster was going and the room smelled divine! We learned alot about coffee and they ground our beans that we were buying.. and we bought several flavors, and the chocolate covered beans. We met the kitties on site as well. We can't wait until we can visit again.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank k176
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hilocoffeemill, Manager at Hilo Coffee Mill, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Thanks so much for your kind review. We love that our chickens and cats enjoy our visitors almost as much as we do. We do our best to provide everyone with an "experience", not just coffee, tea, smoothies, food, candies, etc.

Mahalo nui loa again for taking time to tell others about your great experience.

Hope to see you back again soon.

Katherine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    92
    35
    11
    3
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Prague
Level 6 Contributor
389 reviews
235 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 224 helpful votes
“Interesting free Coffee Mill tour”
Reviewed November 30, 2012

I stopped at the Hilo coffee mill on my way back to Hilo airport. I was warmly welcomed and offered a free and educative 20 minute tour how the coffee beans are processed which I enjoyed.


After the tour there was coffee tasting in the shop and I got my last gift - coffee beans in the dark chocolate. Very tasty and delicious.

Considering this is free tour in friendly environment it is worth to stop here to have nice time.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank duhoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hilocoffeemill, Owner at Hilo Coffee Mill, responded to this review, December 9, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to submit a nice review. We're glad you took the time to stop and see us before leaving our beautiful island, and mahalo for taking a bit of Paradise home with you.

We hope you'll take a full tour of the farm next time you're in Hawaii. It takes about 1 1/2 hours and you'll get to see coffee, tea, pineapple and the full process of turning coffee berries into some of the finest coffee on the planet.

Mahalo again for visiting and taking the time to write a review of Hilo Coffee Mill, Puna's best.

Katherine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ithaca, New York
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Hilo Coffee Mill”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

On our way back from Volcano we decided to stop at the Hilo Coffee Mill. Even though it was almost closing time on a Saturday the service was warm and very friendly. In addition to excellent coffee we had some of the best ice cream (Kona Coffee flavor) that I've had anywhere on the planet from Brisbane, AU to Ithaca, NY or Jaffrey, NH!! It's a bit out of the way going to Hilo from Pahoa but well worth the 10 minute side trip.

We took home the last piece of carrot cake to split later and it was great too.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank theotter1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hilocoffeemill, Owner at Hilo Coffee Mill, responded to this review, December 9, 2012
Mahalo for your nice review. It's good to hear that even on a Saturday afternoon, we can still offer great service. We are glad we got to spend some time with you, teaching you about coffee and serving you some of the best coffee ice cream around. Our carrot cake is a very special recipe and we don't always have it available. I'm glad we had some for you and super glad you liked it.

I know it's a long way, but we hope you'll stop in and see us next time you come to Hawaii.

Thank you again for taking the time to submit a review.

A hui hou,
Katherine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omak, Washington
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Coffee Mill Tour”
Reviewed September 30, 2012

Did a last minute stop at the Hilo coffee mill on our way back to Kona from Hilo. I had no idea the personal attention we were about to recieve. We were just planning on getting some coffee for the road but we were introduced to Jeanette the owner and she asked if we would be interested in a tour so of course we went. She spent a ton of time explaining and showing us pictures of the entire coffee process, she answered all of our questions and went above and beyond her tour for sure. I am so glad we stopped here, we tasted excellent coffee, met very nice staff, got some awesome gifts for the folks at home and a delightful cup of coffee for the road. This is a must see place for anyone visiting.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Lacyraye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hilocoffeemill, Owner at Hilo Coffee Mill, responded to this review, December 9, 2012
We're really glad you stopped by and we were able to show you around. Jeanette does a great tour and enjoys teaching people about Hawaiian coffee and all about our mill, farm and retail area. I hope you got to see the chickens too. They're always fun to watch a give us great eggs which we sell and use in our unique food items in the Latte Da Bar.

Thank you for your nice review and we sure hope you get to come back and spend some more time with us.

Mahalo nui loa,
Katherine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lebanon, New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
127 reviews
44 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“I was expecting a little more”
Reviewed September 16, 2012

The tour was informative, but not as I expected. I booked on-line and selected the tea/coffee tour, but they didn't delve into the tea aspect at all. The taste-testing was two different roasts. They didn't offer up any flavor samplings. The place had a lot of other projects going on. I think there are probably other coffee tours in Hawaii that are better.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank VanDo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hilo Coffee Mill also viewed

 
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
Hilo, Island of Hawaii
 

Been to Hilo Coffee Mill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing