We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tripadvisor
Mountain View
Post
Inbox
Search
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (21)
Filter reviews
21 results
Traveler rating
21
0
0
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
21
0
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews hot tub individual bungalows an amazing place pre breakfast sights and sounds fruit quiche sized bed scott nature bamboo oasis tiki stand porch plans loaf
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 21 reviews
Reviewed May 5, 2019

If you love nature. yet want to step way, way up from roughing it in the woods, here is the ultimate answer. At the Volcano Mountain Retreat, you are truly in the midst of nature with the sights and sounds of wild Hawaii surrounding you. The thick, lush forest is everywhere but in this one acre or so of a garden-oasis comprised of 4 cozy and private bungalows, each with its own lanai furnished with chairs and table for breakfast coffee or just sipping an adult beverage as the sun falls below the surrounding forest. There is no highway noise, day or night, nor anything other than the sounds of nature. Sleeping is aided by a fabulous king-sized bed with a top of the line mattress designed with a comfortable sleep in mind. Each room has a functional LED fireplace/heater (we never needed the heating element) with realistic pictures of hot coals and flame serving as a nightlight if you wish. Each bungalow is provided with bathrobes and slippers so that upon arising you can greet Scott or Robert (your fantastic hosts) on the porch when they bring the perfectly brewed (to your personal liking) Kona Coffee and a fresh, warm from the oven loaf of breakfast bread. A different variety each morning of your stay. But that is only the pre-breakfast. Shortly after enjoying the banana or cinnamon bread comes the real breakfast served just across the lawn at the community, open air, tiki. A breakfast consisting of a quiche or souffle dish (again, different each morning), a large serving of fresh Hawaiian fruit, yogurt and more of that great Kona Coffee.
Robert and Scott are great hosts, never intrusive but always ready to help with the days sightseeing plans. They are rightfully proud of what they built in this 7 acres of what we mainlanders call a jungle. They tell of importing a special kind of solid core bamboo from Viet Nam for the construction and clearing the first paths into what would become an oasis in the jungle with machetes and of the many, many truckloads of topsoil to create the beautiful gardens surrounding the bamboo buildings,
There is free Wi-Fi and Direct Tv service including HBO and Showtime.
My wife and I have found B&Bs preferrable over hotels, being friendlier and more personal. Although we have found many great ones, this one stands out as being the best of the best. 5 Stars are not enough. Thank you, Robert and Scott, for a wonderful stay and experience.
Doug & Nancy

Room tip: Each of the four bungalows is identical
Date of stay: April 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dougstar33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2018 via mobile

We absolutely loved our stay here! Robert and Scott are warm, friendly, and informative. The service and accommodation are top notch- comfortable rooms and beds and delicious fresh breakfast. The place is a true gem!

Date of stay: December 2018
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank RoseyCo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2018

We had a fantastic stay at the VMR in August. Robert and Scott do everything to make you feel "at home" and happy. 5 Star-Hotel service! The owners have created a super unique place which is truly amazing. We will definitely be back. Mahalo from Germany for the fantastic experience!

Room tip: All four bungalows are top!
Date of stay: August 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 110marty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2018

My boyfriend and I spent 3 nights at the end of our Hawaii trip at VMR and they were the best 3 days of the entire two weeks. The retreat is first-class all the way. Our hosts, Robert and Scott, became like family. They were attentive to our needs without being intrusive at all. They created the most beautiful serene environment with amazing landscaping, rooms, and hot tub. The morning coffee delivered to our private lanai followed by a perfect breakfast under the tiki made each day start in a magical way. We treated ourselves to a massage from their partner therapist (Gabe) and it was the best massage ever - made even nicer in the serenity of the environment with a cool tropical breeze blowing over my body and listening to the sounds of nature during the massage.

All four rooms (individual bungalows) are identical and beautiful. Each has a private lanai with seating as well as a table and chairs. There are gorgeous lounge chairs on the property and both a "living room" and a "dining room" under two separate tiki areas.

Robert and Scott gave great suggestions on things to do and to see, including how to enjoy the awesomeness of the volcano even though the national park is closed.

I could keep going on and on... bottom line is that this place and the owners are nothing short of perfection! I hope to go back there again.

Room tip: All rooms are equivalent and all are lovely.
Date of stay: July 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
Thank ftl-principal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2018

We have been at VRM from 21 May to 25 May 2018. A small beautiful paradise on earth. Indulgence is high on them. Luxury and tranquility but especially their breakfast is truly blissful! If a breakfast award could be issued they would definitely win it! Delicious and fresh every day. The rooms are fantastic. Wonderfully clean and equipped with every luxury. In our period the volcano was still active but we did not notice this. The roads to this location are completely accessible and you can go everywhere to go hiking, shopping, beach and watching stars. It is completely safe and harmless to spend your vacation here. Highly recommended and we would go again next time.

Date of stay: May 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BandE2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews