We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tripadvisor
Mountain View
Post
Inbox
Search
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (21)
Filter reviews
21 results
Traveler rating
21
0
0
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
21
0
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews hot tub individual bungalows an amazing place pre breakfast sights and sounds fruit quiche sized bed scott nature bamboo oasis tiki stand porch plans loaf
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 21 reviews
Reviewed July 19, 2018

My boyfriend and I spent 3 nights at the end of our Hawaii trip at VMR and they were the best 3 days of the entire two weeks. The retreat is first-class all the way. Our hosts, Robert and Scott, became like family. They were attentive to our needs without being intrusive at all. They created the most beautiful serene environment with amazing landscaping, rooms, and hot tub. The morning coffee delivered to our private lanai followed by a perfect breakfast under the tiki made each day start in a magical way. We treated ourselves to a massage from their partner therapist (Gabe) and it was the best massage ever - made even nicer in the serenity of the environment with a cool tropical breeze blowing over my body and listening to the sounds of nature during the massage.

All four rooms (individual bungalows) are identical and beautiful. Each has a private lanai with seating as well as a table and chairs. There are gorgeous lounge chairs on the property and both a "living room" and a "dining room" under two separate tiki areas.

Robert and Scott gave great suggestions on things to do and to see, including how to enjoy the awesomeness of the volcano even though the national park is closed.

I could keep going on and on... bottom line is that this place and the owners are nothing short of perfection! I hope to go back there again.

Room tip: All rooms are equivalent and all are lovely.
Date of stay: July 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
Thank ftl-principal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2018

We have been at VRM from 21 May to 25 May 2018. A small beautiful paradise on earth. Indulgence is high on them. Luxury and tranquility but especially their breakfast is truly blissful! If a breakfast award could be issued they would definitely win it! Delicious and fresh every day. The rooms are fantastic. Wonderfully clean and equipped with every luxury. In our period the volcano was still active but we did not notice this. The roads to this location are completely accessible and you can go everywhere to go hiking, shopping, beach and watching stars. It is completely safe and harmless to spend your vacation here. Highly recommended and we would go again next time.

Date of stay: May 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BandE2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2018

We had a four night stay at VMR. Fabulous B&B in a mountain location. The property fits in with the environment but has all the modern luxury you could want.

Robert and Scott were so friendly and generous with their knowledge that despite the unexpected cooler weather we managed to see and do so much. Scott is a great chef so be ready for the most amazing blueberry and lemon loaf and cinnamon muffins!

I cant recommend this property enough!

Room tip: All bungalows are the same and equally beautiful!
Date of stay: March 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Buds46120
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2018 via mobile

What can we say about this amazing property to truly paint the reality of its beauty? Its simply amazing.

From the moment you arrive you can tell it will be an elevated experience. Rob met us as we drove up to this secluded and hidden island oasis with a genuine warm smile and gracious hospitality. He offered drinks as we discussed the property’s amenities and gave us the lay of this beautiful land.

The Retreat sits on 6 acres of painstakingly kept rainforest grounds and it is obvious that their attention to detail is second to none. Their landscaping efforts truly shine as the colors explode with Hawaii’s natural beauty. As we toured the grounds the fire elements and calming Hawaiian music made us feel immediately relaxed.

The bungalow was so impressive both structurally and aesthetically. The king sized bed, the rainfall shower, the bamboo roofing and smoothed, poured resin concrete floors were so unique. Listening to the rainfall as we slept to the orchestra of the rainforest made for a fantastic night’s sleep.

The breakfasts were absolutely delicious! The fresh fruit, the quiches, coffee and juices were the best we had on the island. Joining the others that were staying at the Retreat for breakfast time was a nice chance to socialize and hear different things that they had seen and adjust plans accordingly.

Only a 30 minute drive to Volcanoes National Park made it a perfect base camp. After spending a full day hiking and sight seeing, coming back to the Retreat and spending time in the hot tub was a special treat.

Rob and Scott made sure our coffee service on the Lanai was there as soon as we woke up which gave us a chance to wake up slowly and enjoy the sights and sounds of the Retreat in private and plot out our day.

I can’t say enough how much we enjoyed our experience. We will definitely be back and recommend this venue to any of our friends going to enjoy the magic and majesty of The Big Island. Thank you so much!!!

Date of stay: February 2018
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
2  Thank Karl G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2018

My husband and I were lucky to be able to spend 3 nights here on our trip to Big Island. The weather may have been atrocious at times but the hosts were so warm and welcoming.
They responded to emails almost instantaneously, gave us a much need glass of wine on arrival, provided us with sumptuous breakfasts (us veggies were well catered for) and offered us lots of advice.

It is a little bit out of the way but still only a 20 min drive from Volcano town or Hilo.

VMR is so peaceful and relaxing, the chirping frogs at night just add to the feelings of being in the middle of the rainforest. The bungalows are well appointed, the electronic fireplaces were a nice touch. As everyone has mentioned, you need to make the most of the hot tub which was appreciated after days of hiking.

Room tip: Only 4 rooms - all the same
Date of stay: February 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews