We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Homely Place on Hawaii”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mountain View
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bed & Breakfast Mountain View
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
97 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“A Homely Place on Hawaii”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2012

We had the pleasure of staying at B&B Mountain View for 3 nights during our stay on the Island recently. The main reason we picked this B&B was location. We planned on spending our days in the National Park, and wanted to be close by. It was about a 15 minute drive to the gates of the park. And not too far from local eateries too.
The house itself is large and it's set in 4 acres of private gardens, with a fish pond, you can actually fish in. (not that we did)
Jane, our host, met us at the door with a friendly smile and a big welcome. Her husband was away lecturing in China whilst we were there so we didn't get to meet him. She ran through some of the things we needed to know about staying in her home and showed us to our rooms, which were situated up stairs on the 2nd level. She gave us our own keys for accessing front gates, exterior doors and our bedrooms. (there are also a couple more rooms for guests on the same floor)
My husband & I had our own room (Lehua) with a comfy queen size bed, lamps, TV and wardrobe . Our daughter was in the room next door (Plumeria), which had 2 single beds, writing desk, lamps, TV, couch and wardrobe. We had our own bathroom too, for the 3 of us, which was well equipped with towels & toiletries.
The common areas, also situated on the 2nd level, were large and comfortable. Couches and chairs spread around, plenty of lamps, dinning table and chairs if required (breakfast was served daily downstairs in Jane's large dinning room) A large flat screen TV with cable c/w DVDs and videos,wifi and a kitchenette area with fridge, microwave, tea & coffee making facilities and bottled water. It was just like a home away from home.
Breakfast consisted of tea, coffee or juice, fresh fruit, toast and jams, cooked food of some sort with sausages and eggs one day and a chicken omelette another. If you are lucky you may even get to chat with Jane about all sorts. We thoroughly enjoyed hearing about her and her family's life. She is a very interesting lady.
If you get the chance, have a look at some of the art work both Jane and her husband have painted too. They are both very talented artists.
We enjoyed our stay, and would recommend staying here if you want somewhere close to Volcano National Park, with a little bit of a personal touch.
A big thanks to Jane for her hospitality :)

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JJWA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

14 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
4
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Bonn, Germany
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2012

We stayed a few days in the B&B run by Jane and Linus close to Hilu on Big Island. Both are artists and designed their big house as a studio and for their large family. Some of the rooms are now rented out, when their children and grandchlidren are not visiting. Our room was large and provided enough space for me, my wife and our daugther. The adjacent living area and kitchen are great to relax and to cook dinner, if so desired. Everything was very clean and had a high standard. What I liked best was the very kind hopitality of Jane and Linus, who shared with us their interesting family history and their views about life in general. The house is full of their art. I can fully and wholeheartedly recommend it. And, breakfast was great.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andreas Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
webster, WI
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2012

We have traveled in several countries and I believe this is one of the nicest B&Bs we have had. I agree with previous reviews that the home and the hospitality of Jane & Linus Chao are exceptional. It is a quiet setting with very attractive grounds, yet convenient to Hilo, the Volcano and Puna area. We had warm, generally sunny days in late January. We had all the privacy we wanted and still the opportunity to meet and have interesting conversations with the Chaos. Fortunately we were able to extend our stay an additional day here and explored the Puna coastline; not to be missed.

Room Tip: Enjoyed the cherry Blossom Room
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank chandler_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level Contributor
41 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2011

This B&B is located down a side road downhill to the east about halfway to Volcanoes NP from Hilo. The house was built as a family house for Jane and Linus Chao's children and grandchildren, but when they grew up and didn't all visit at once, it became a B&B. The hosts turned their 4 acre property from a lava field into a wide lawn bounded by lush vegetation and palm trees, and a swimming hole now turned into a tilapia pond. From the second floor you can see the peaks of Mauna Kea with its observatories. There is some traffic that goes by but very little.

The house itself is the Chao's museum; both are artists. Linus seems to work with landscapes and Jane with flowers, with large format detailed flowers and views of Hawaii hanging on the walls. There was some of Linus's large calligraphy also but it sold as we left. Here and there, fresh flowers gathered from the property were placed on tables. The first floor was the kitchen, dining room, and two art studios. The second floor had a large common space with couches and a TV, all of which were lit by large windows to the west. The guest rooms were off of this common space.

There are 4 rooms that can accommodate up to 4 people. The Cherry Blossom Room has its own bath, a microwave and refrigerator, TV and coffeemaker, and can get 4 people on a king-sized bed and couch fold-away. The Heliconia Room also has its own private bathroom and a TV and is a bit smaller with just a king-sized bed. The Lehua and Plumeria rooms share a bath between them and if you rent both, you can get a discount. The Lehua room has a queen sized bed and the Plumeria has two twins. The rooms start at $90 plus tax and go up to $140 per night for the Cherry Blossom Room with 4 people.

There is now wi-fi throughout the building. Breakfasts are a lot of fruit, eggs, and bacon with variations. It is usually large enough to hold you well past lunch.

The Chao's friends occasionally drop by to chat and others come for art lessons. Besides English and Chinese, Jane also speaks Japanese.

We were able to go into Volcano for dinner once to try the Thai restaurant, and into Hilo another for Laulau behind the KFC. It's a good central location for the east side of the island. The only drawback is trying to find the turnoff down to the B&B at night. We cruised past a couple of times.

Room Tip: You can save some $ if you rent the Lehua & Plumeria rooms together.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kitsuko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turlock, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2011

Jane and Linus Chao were wonderful hosts. Their property is serene and beautiful. The koi pond and lush vegetation are the perfect combination. The children loved exploring the grounds. The rooms were very comfortable and offered the perfect privacy. The central location on the island was the perfect base to visit all parts of the Big Island! Thank you for your hospitality. Our family had a great time on your beautiful island.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 4sleepers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns, Qld
Level Contributor
60 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2010

What a delight to find such a charming couple and their beautiful artworks. Jane and Linus were perfect hosts who shared with us much more than their home. If you prefer the anonymity of franchised hotel chains then the Chaos' B&B might not be for you but. However, I recommend it for anyone visiting Volcanoes National Park.

At night we enjoyed choosing a DVD from their large collection and making some popcorn to go with. Then at breakfast Jane surprised us with delightful sausages, eggs and what could possibly have been the world's best papaya! Thanks to the Chaos' B&B, our time on The Big Island was very near perfect.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MissMapleLeaf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2007

The owners Jane Chao and her husband are some of the nicest people on earth!! WE LOVED THEM!! Jane greeted us at the door of her wonderful home by name and showed us around. She then let us wander the grounds of their wonderful gardens with ponds and lush tropical flowers. We felt right at home! the room we stayed in was VERY clean and VERY VERY well maintained (much better than my own home).

Jane and her husband are artists and they LOVE there work. They teach classes all the time and they were more than happy to show us some of their work. She even gave us two beautiful post cards that she designed.

Breakfast was sumptuous, plentiful and delicious! The location is very good for exploring the south / eastern part of the Big Island of Hawaii and we took full advantage of it. If you want to come to Hawaii - make sure you visit the BIG ISLAND and stay at this B&B. We would recommend this B&B to anyone!

  • Liked — The wonderful host and hostes (owners) Mr. and Mrs. Chao
  • Disliked — We could not stay longer !!
  • Stayed December 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank shutterbuggrahamVA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mountain View
12.0 mi away
Chalet Kilauea
Chalet Kilauea
#1 of 2 in Volcano
4.0 of 5 bubbles 389 reviews
12.4 mi away
Lava Lodge at Volcano Village
13.7 mi away
Volcano House
Volcano House
#1 of 1 in Hawaii Volcanoes National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 802 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
Keaau Place
Keaau Place
#1 of 8 in Keaau
5.0 of 5 bubbles 85 reviews
12.5 mi away
The Inn at Kulaniapia Falls
12.3 mi away
Kilauea Lodge
Kilauea Lodge
#1 of 19 in Volcano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 766 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bed & Breakfast Mountain View? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bed & Breakfast Mountain View

Property: Bed & Breakfast Mountain View
Address: 18-3717 S. Kulani, P.O. Box 963, Mountain View, Island of Hawaii, HI 96760
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Mountain View
Amenities:
Kitchenette Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Mountain View
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bed and Breakfast Mountain View is conveniently located between Hawaii Volcanoes National Park and Hilo. Our Hawaiian Bed and Breakfast in Mountain View is situated on a beautiful 4-acre garden and fish pond estate with a spectacular view of Mauna Kea mountain. A tranquil and artistically designed garden and fish pond setting lush with native Ohia and Rose Apple trees, with fragrant exotic flowers of heliconia, ginger and anthuriums.Come and experience a unique multicultural Hawaiian Bed & Breakfast at Mountain View, the art studio home of the well-known Big Island artist couple Jane & Linus Chao. Take an enjoyable stroll around the gardens or just sit and relax or read a book in the new gazebo and spa overlooking the beautiful and peaceful scenery. Guests are often greeted with a spectacular sunrise or sunset view of Mauna Kea volcano, world's tallest mountain measured from base! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Bed & Breakfast Mountain View Hawaii

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing