We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Definitely Worth a Stop on Hamakua Coast”

Laupahoehoe Beach Park
Book In Advance
More Info
$223.96*
and up
Hawaii Island Experience
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Beach park and memorial to 1946 Tsunami victims.
Niagara Falls, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
445 reviews
173 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 686 helpful votes
“Definitely Worth a Stop on Hamakua Coast”
Reviewed May 15, 2014

Laupahoehoe was described in our tour book as a flat lava peninsula formed by the late-stage Mauna Kea eruption. It is located between Honoka'a and Hilo via a steep 1.5 mile scenic drive down to the coast with spectacular cliffs in the distance and dense foliage all around.

We stopped here and took some time to watch the waves violently crash into the huge boulders of lava rocks that line the shoreline here. It made for some terrific photos!

I was sad to learn about the tragedy of the April 1, 1946 tsunami that took place here, wiping out the school, killing 20 young teens and 4 teachers. We took the time to pay our respects at the memorial that lists the names and ages of those who were killed.

There was also a local graveyard nearby and it was interesting to see how the graves were covered in and outlined by lava rock. I was saddened by one tombstone I came upon of a 7 year old girl who died in 1924. It was peaceful and quiet here in contrast to the sounds of the crashing waves we heard when standing at the shoreline.

If you are touring the Hamakua coast (one of our favourite coastlines during our travels of the island), it is well worth the drive and time to stop at Laupahoehoe.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank BahiaDelray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    64
    38
    2
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Southlake, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A hidden gem we happen to find”
Reviewed May 8, 2014 via mobile

We were driving from Hilo and just happen to find this beach park sign. It is a historical place and the water crashes up on the lava rocks! Very beautiful! It was misting rain and a bit chilly and windy, but it was a jaw dropper! I will go back to see this. A MUST see if you are in the area!

Helpful?
Thank Loreelou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
35 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Exciting surf”
Reviewed May 2, 2014

We stopped by here twice just to watch the waves crash into the lava rocks. Beautiful! Had luch at a picnic table right by the shore. There was also a monument to the many people, mostly school children who were killed when a tsunamis crashed into the area on April 1, 1946. Also a sign board contains many newspaper clippings about the tsunami and photos of the victims as well as words form those who survived it.

Really worth a stop. Too bad more people have not reviewed this and that more don't stop by here. We took tons of photos here.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank JCCCLC86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niskayuna, New York
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Beauty and Memory”
Reviewed February 1, 2014

We spent 6-8 weeks on the Big Island each year for 12 years and Laupahoehoe was always a place we went back to for a day. An enormous tsunami hit this place decimating a school and killing 20 students and 4 teachers in 1946. There is a park and a memorial, but we would bring beach chairs and sit of the lava and watch the rough waves come in. It was an almost sacred experience. There is still a remnant of the destroyed building on the beach which you can see. Of all the places we would hike or visit, Laupahoehoe was deeply special to us for it combined striking almost primitive beauty, the collective memory of a tragic loss and the constant reminder of the whims of Mother Nature. It was a peaceful place and we would sit on the lava field for hours and just read. Don't miss the "very Hawaiian place."

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Alice S R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairbanks, Alaska
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Great Place to Camp and Relax ”
Reviewed January 8, 2014 via mobile

This is a wonderful place to camp for a night or two, relax and watch the waves crash against the rocks. Nice facilities, fire pits and picnic tables. We were on our way towards Hilo and just wanted to sit and collect our thoughts before hitting the hiking trails again. This location was perfect. Reservations can be made via the Internet if you have a smart phone although the county website is frustrating and loads too slow. Costs are approximately $20/person per night.

Helpful?
2 Thank powellite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Laupahoehoe Beach Park also viewed

 

Been to Laupahoehoe Beach Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing