We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Da Log House
Ranked #1 of 3 Kurtistown B&B and Inns
Reviewed December 21, 2010

We had a wonderful stay. The room was spacious and clean. The breakfast was excellent (eggs, Portugese sausage, Punalu'u sweet bread toast, fresh papaya and pineapple, etc). The bed was large and comfortable. The location was very convenient to everything at Hilo and Puna. All advice was accurate and well chosen. While there we went hiking the Kilauea-Iki Trail at Volcanoes Park, snorkeling at the unique Kapoho tidal pools, saw flowing lava near Kalapana, went star watching at the Mauna Kea visitor center, snacked at the Hilo farmer's market and saw the best collection of orchids that we had ever seen at the Akatsuka Nursery. Thanks to Susi and Daniel for the terrific time. We wish them the best.

Ruthie and Steve from Minnesota

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rsedl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (41)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

20 - 26 of 41 reviews

Reviewed September 2, 2010

Why would you choose any other place?? This is it!! When Danny or Susi gives you the driving directions, you might be 2nd guessing. But when you see the beauty of the Hawaiian forest and the awesome design of the loghouse, you know you're in for a wonderful time of relaxation. It feels like home, because it is home. You're really close to the local Kea'au farmers' market w/ the freshest tropical fruits ... 6 sweet papayas for $1.! Volcanoes Nat'l Park is right down the road heading south, or turn right the other way in to Hilo town. The question isn't if you'll stay here ... the question is when will you stay again. We were already asking how much for the whole house!

Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
Thank Brother-Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2010

My bf and I stay at a lot of inns and b&bs whenever we travel and Danny and Susi's place was definitely the best B&B we've ever stayed at. We wish we could have extended our stay. The house is incredibly beautiful and our room and bathroom was clean, comfortable and stocked with everything we could ask for. Danny and Susi were extremely helpful in providing directions and printouts of where we should go and even provided us with flashlights and binoculars when we went to see the lava flow (which was only a 1/2 hr drive from their place). We stayed in the Kakahiaka Room which was perfect for 2 people and has a gorgeous walkout terrace. For the price you pay and the service you get with two of the most genuinely nice hosts, I would highly recommend this place. We would defininitely stay here on our next return.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Globe_Hiker888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2010

Daniel and Susi are genuinely wonderful people! They are great hosts and made our stay as comfortable as possible. The Kakahiaka Room was very cozy & modern and is exactly as pictured on their website; so rest assured there will be no (bad) surprises when you arrive. Breakfast was very delicious, and included fresh fruits, bread and jelly, coffee, cereal, yogurt, sausages, and smoked meat (my favorite), etc. The location is central to the volcano and Hilo. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank natassia_santiago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2010

We had the best time staying at Da Log House with Daniel and Susi during the Merrie Monarch Festival in Hilo this year. They are truly an international couple and eager to share their home and their island with visitors. The house itself is beautifully done yet comfortable, clean, and inviting with gorgeous views. Breakfast was always onolicious!

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Moki95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2010

Daniel and Susi are great host! We stayed 3 nights at Kakahiaka Room. The view of the house is very nice. The room has separate private bathroom so it was a little bit inconvenient but its okay. We had some trouble to locate the house (esp at night) even Daniel had sent us a very details "how to get here" ref for us. The road sign are not that user friendly (guess its a new area) so be awere of that. Great value of money.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lunasolhk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2010

DAN and SUZY exceeded our families expectations in all facets of our stay..clean, hospitalble, food and directions to must see activities in the area...the volcano!!!!
MARK & CAROL HENNEY
ED & DONNA HENNEY

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chiefBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kurtistown
11.1 mi away
Arnott's Lodge
Arnott's Lodge
#1 of 7 in Hilo
575 reviews
10.8 mi away
Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel
15.3 mi away
Chalet Kilauea
Chalet Kilauea
#1 of 2 in Volcano
423 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.1 mi away
Dolphin Bay
Dolphin Bay
#2 of 7 in Hilo
679 reviews
10.9 mi away
Grand Naniloa Hotel Hilo - a DoubleTree by Hilton
11.8 mi away
The Inn at Kulaniapia Falls
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Da Log House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Da Log House

Address: 16-1125 Po'ouli Rd, Kurtistown, Island of Hawaii, HI 96760
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Kurtistown
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Kurtistown
Price Range: $122 - $153 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Hawaiian Family owned Bed and Breakfast, Located in Hawaiian Acres, 11 miles south of Hilo, our Cedar Log Bed and Breakfast is nestled among the Ohia trees on the slope of Kilauea Volcano. Just a short drive from both Hilo town and Hawaii Volcanoes National Park. Da Log House is situated in a Hawaiian community where you can kick back and relax in a quaint and rustic atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Da Log House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Da Log House Hawaii/Kurtistown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing