We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Found Europa in Hawaiian Paradise and enjoyed every moment!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Da Log House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kurtistown
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Da Log House
Ranked #1 of 3 Kurtistown B&B and Inns
Seven Corners, Virginia
1 review
“Found Europa in Hawaiian Paradise and enjoyed every moment!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2010

Why would you choose any other place?? This is it!! When Danny or Susi gives you the driving directions, you might be 2nd guessing. But when you see the beauty of the Hawaiian forest and the awesome design of the loghouse, you know you're in for a wonderful time of relaxation. It feels like home, because it is home. You're really close to the local Kea'au farmers' market w/ the freshest tropical fruits ... 6 sweet papayas for $1.! Volcanoes Nat'l Park is right down the road heading south, or turn right the other way in to Hilo town. The question isn't if you'll stay here ... the question is when will you stay again. We were already asking how much for the whole house!

Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Brother-Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    5
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
28
5
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2010

My bf and I stay at a lot of inns and b&bs whenever we travel and Danny and Susi's place was definitely the best B&B we've ever stayed at. We wish we could have extended our stay. The house is incredibly beautiful and our room and bathroom was clean, comfortable and stocked with everything we could ask for. Danny and Susi were extremely helpful in providing directions and printouts of where we should go and even provided us with flashlights and binoculars when we went to see the lava flow (which was only a 1/2 hr drive from their place). We stayed in the Kakahiaka Room which was perfect for 2 people and has a gorgeous walkout terrace. For the price you pay and the service you get with two of the most genuinely nice hosts, I would highly recommend this place. We would defininitely stay here on our next return.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Globe_Hiker888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
daly city, ca
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2010

Daniel and Susi are genuinely wonderful people! They are great hosts and made our stay as comfortable as possible. The Kakahiaka Room was very cozy & modern and is exactly as pictured on their website; so rest assured there will be no (bad) surprises when you arrive. Breakfast was very delicious, and included fresh fruits, bread and jelly, coffee, cereal, yogurt, sausages, and smoked meat (my favorite), etc. The location is central to the volcano and Hilo. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank natassia_santiago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palo Alto, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2010

We had the best time staying at Da Log House with Daniel and Susi during the Merrie Monarch Festival in Hilo this year. They are truly an international couple and eager to share their home and their island with visitors. The house itself is beautifully done yet comfortable, clean, and inviting with gorgeous views. Breakfast was always onolicious!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Moki95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
95 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2010

Daniel and Susi are great host! We stayed 3 nights at Kakahiaka Room. The view of the house is very nice. The room has separate private bathroom so it was a little bit inconvenient but its okay. We had some trouble to locate the house (esp at night) even Daniel had sent us a very details "how to get here" ref for us. The road sign are not that user friendly (guess its a new area) so be awere of that. Great value of money.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lunasolhk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2010

DAN and SUZY exceeded our families expectations in all facets of our stay..clean, hospitalble, food and directions to must see activities in the area...the volcano!!!!
MARK & CAROL HENNEY
ED & DONNA HENNEY

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chiefBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
montreal
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2010

We really enjoyed our stay with Daniel and Susan. They were the perfect hosts for our stay. The room was spacious and luxurious with a confortable king size bed, mini fridge and flat screen TV. We woke up to generous and satisfying breakfasts which included fruits, eggs, sausage, cereals, breads etc. Daniel is a native hawaiin and Susan is from Germany, they were an interesting couple who were incredibly helpful with tips on what to see and where to eat. They supplied us with stuff we never even thought of using, such as flashlights, coolers etc. We visited the volcanos park and Puna, which were easy to get to from the bandb. We stayed 3 nights, which was needed as there is so much to see in that part of big island. It was a unique experience, and recommend staying at da log house.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank suzmcta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kurtistown
15.3 mi away
Chalet Kilauea
Chalet Kilauea
#1 of 2 in Volcano
4.0 of 5 bubbles 389 reviews
10.4 mi away
Hilo Seaside Hotel
15.7 mi away
Lava Lodge at Volcano Village
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.1 mi away
Arnott's Lodge
Arnott's Lodge
#1 of 8 in Hilo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 518 reviews
11.9 mi away
The Inn at Kulaniapia Falls
10.9 mi away
Grand Naniloa Hotel Hilo - a DoubleTree by Hilton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Da Log House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Da Log House

Property: Da Log House
Address: 16-1125 Po'ouli Road, Kurtistown, Island of Hawaii, HI 96760
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Kurtistown
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Kurtistown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Hawaiian Family owned Bed and Breakfast, Located in Hawaiian Acres, 11 miles south of Hilo, our Cedar Log Bed and Breakfast is nestled among the Ohia trees on the slope of Kilauea Volcano. Just a short drive from both Hilo town and Hawaii Volcanoes National Park. Da Log House is situated in a Hawaiian community where you can kick back and relax in a quaint and rustic atmosphere. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Da Log House Hawaii/Kurtistown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing