We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Made it right.”
Review of Kona Boys

Kona Boys
Ranked #2 of 6 Tours in Kealakekua
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Kona's original, award winning kayak shop, serving the Big Island and specializing in Kealakekua Bay since 1995. We are a small, laid back, island style surf, kayak, and paddle board shop located on the Big Island's Kona Coast above Kealakekua Bay. Helping locals and visitors alike enjoy Hawaii's waters and providing gear for island life.
Sandy, Utah
Level Contributor
29 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Made it right.”
Reviewed September 8, 2013

We choose Kona Boys based on TripAdvisor reviews, and we were happy to find that the owners are originally from the the intermountain west, where we live. We rented snorkel equipment, and the owner spent quite a bit of time finding a snorkel mask to fit my husband's vision prescription. We also received some good suggestions for our first snorkel outing. Unfortunately, my snorkel tube leaked, and we had to take it back. They replaced my rental with a brand new tube, and we had no further problems. I would recommend Kona Boys to future travelers.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Laura B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

569 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    519
    37
    7
    2
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Lake Worth, Florida
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great kayak trip and spectacular snorkeling”
Reviewed September 1, 2013

Thank you Kona Boys for giving us such a great experience! We took the morning Kayak tour into Kealakekua Bay and snorkeled around the Captain Cook Monument. Our guide was awesome and spoke like a local (although he was from TN). Our 6 year old got a little cold during the snorkeling part of the trip so our wonderful friendly guide even sat with him so my husband and I could snorkel.
Kona Boys had awesome customer service from the first phone call to the trip itself. If you book a tour to Captain Cook -go to Kona Boys.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Flgirl73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, United States
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Tons of fun, great guide”
Reviewed August 19, 2013 via mobile

Our guide Matt made this trip! He was super helpful and knowledgeable. The view was spectacular and the snorkeling was the best we experienced in Hawaii. We would recommend this for only those who have kayaked before. Beginner kayakers should start in a lake or quiet river before taking on this trip!

Kona Boys was a little unorganized, we recommend a map with written instructions to be given out for the drive down to the bay. We also recommend a ladder for the kayak launching. The lunch was mediocre but you do get POG. However they were all extremely friendly and we would definitely book another trip with them.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
39 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Amazing Kayak/Snorkeling Trip”
Reviewed August 9, 2013

I chose Kona Boys based on Tripadvisor reviews and I couldn't be happier with our tour. We chose to do the mid-day meander. Turns out it was my wife and I and one other couple. We met up at the store first where John helped us get our snorkel gear and went over some basic safety instructions. We then headed down to the bay where we were met by Matt who would be our guide for the day. He reiterated some of the safety instructions and then we headed out. He and the lovely Kelsey helped us all get into the kayaks. We then headed out towards the Captain Cook Monument. Along the way, Matt went over the history of the area and gave us all the instructions we would need for when we arrived at the monument. There are strict rules for how long you can be there and he wanted us to have the maximal amount of snorkeling time. The snorkeling was really great and Matt even brought along a ladder to assist in getting out of the water. He and the guides from the other companies all seemed to get along and looked out for each other. After snorkeling we headed back to the starting point. In both directions we got to see many spinner dolphins which was awesome. Unfortunately, they didn't jump out of the water but it was still really cool. Be prepared for a nice workout as you will be kayaking >2 miles in water that is not all that calm. At the end of the tour, Matt and Kelsey once again helped everyone out of the kayaks We had a great time and would highly recommend Kona Boys. Everyone we dealt with from booking to the tour itself was very friendly and more than willing to answer questions.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank gotozmoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great kayak/snorkel in Kealakekua bay”
Reviewed August 5, 2013 via mobile

We took a morning kayak snorkel tour in Kealakekua Bay. The guides (Hiko and Kelsey) were very friendly and helpful. We saw dolphins (including a baby) on the kayak to captain Cook's monument. Obviously you should be capable of kayaking for about an hour each way--not difficult. Along the way the guides gave some interesting history of the area. The (~1hr) snorkeling at Kealakekua bay is nice, with the typical reef fish along a shallow shoreline and some good nearby drop-offs for those who like to dive down to 40+ feet. Lunch was a good deli sandwich. We enjoyed the trip.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Hurlow8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kona Boys also viewed

 
Captain Cook, Island of Hawaii
Honalo, Island of Hawaii
 

Been to Kona Boys? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing