We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great canoe tour with snorkeling”
Review of Kona Boys

Kona Boys
Ranked #2 of 5 Tours in Kealakekua
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Kona's original, award winning kayak shop, serving the Big Island and specializing in Kealakekua Bay since 1995. We are a small, laid back, island style surf, kayak, and paddle board shop located on the Big Island's Kona Coast above Kealakekua Bay. Helping locals and visitors alike enjoy Hawaii's waters and providing gear for island life.
Eugene, Oregon
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Great canoe tour with snorkeling”
Reviewed May 4, 2013

We’ve worked with these guys on past trips to the Big Island and have always found them laid back, pleasant and helpful. That was the case this time when we had booked an outrigger canoe trip with snorkeling at Kealakekua Bay. We arrived to check in and were told that the trip had been cancelled due to high winds and waves. Fortunately, they offered to reschedule the trip the next day (the last day of our vacation), which we were able to do. We’re glad that we did. It was a fantastic canoe trip with Kalani as our Hawaiian guide, Kitari as his helper, and Max leading the snorkeling. We learned about the Hawaiian culture, saw humpback whales, and enjoyed a different view of the island. The snorkeling near the Captain Cook monument was world class. At one point, the four snorkelers in our group were the only ones in the bay! Plenty of snacks and beverages were offered. We were pleased that they collected all trash, including fruit rinds, to throw away so that they didn’t contaminate the ocean.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank T P M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

601 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    548
    39
    8
    2
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level 6 Contributor
172 reviews
67 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Request Jared!!!!! Wear sunblock!!!”
Reviewed April 30, 2013

My husband and I wanted to see Cook monument and were told to book a kayak trip with Kona Boys. We knew we would have fun, but what we did not realize was how much we would learn about Hawaiian history & culture. Jared our guide was born and raised in Kona. He is modest, but we will call him an expert! While kayaking, he pointed out lava tubes that were used for burial sites, explained how the natives lived off the land, and shared multiple hawaiian tales/legends. Every story was prefaced with, "do you want what probably happened or the interesting version?" he told us both versions. He also taught us facts about the spinner dolphins we saw 20ft from our kayak! While hiking on land, he pointed out wildlife and edible plants and explained what each plant was used for (food, anti-septic, etc...). I was hesitant to snorkel, but I had a blast! Snorkeling was my husbands favorite part of our entire trip to hawaii! Lunch was also fabulous! I have celiac and Kona Boys were able to accommodate my gluten-free request! This is an expensive activity, make sure you request Jared so you can learn about hawaiian history and culture while having a great time!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank Julie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chico, California
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“paddle boards”
Reviewed April 29, 2013

Great place to rent gear and get advice. We rented two SUPs. They even loaded them on our car for us and gave us some great suggestions on were to go. Also had a nice selection of rash guards and sun protection shirts....although we bought those after spending our week on the water :-)

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
5 Thank fbrandon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camano Island, Washington
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“kayaking”
Reviewed April 26, 2013

We found out that as of April 1 you needed to be on a tour to go to cook monument, so we kayaked and snorkled with kona boys. Jarrad, our guide , was very knowledgeable. the bay is worth the trip, lots of fish to see. Plus they let you keep the snorkle equipment for the rest of the day, so we went to place of refuge and did more snorkling.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
5 Thank nancy h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york, USA
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“best place to rent adventure gear!”
Reviewed April 24, 2013

this place is great, went there to rent a surfboard for a week, they gave me a great al merrick 6'5'' that was perfect for the waves that were happening that week. I had people all week coming up to me and telling how jealous of the board they were. Frank also took a lot of time to go over some local breaks, great place to rent, buy or just stop by and say hi.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank isfein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kona Boys also viewed

Captain Cook, Island of Hawaii
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
 

Been to Kona Boys? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing