We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Paddling in the Bay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kona Boys

Kona Boys
Ranked #2 of 6 Tours in Kealakekua
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Kona's original, award winning kayak shop, serving the Big Island and specializing in Kealakekua Bay since 1995. We are a small, laid back, island style surf, kayak, and paddle board shop located on the Big Island's Kona Coast above Kealakekua Bay. Helping locals and visitors alike enjoy Hawaii's waters and providing gear for island life.
Kealakekua
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Paddling in the Bay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2012

My Sweet and I rented a SUP and took it out to Kealakekua Bay. We paddled all around the bay and are looking forward to repeating the experience. Love the people at Kona Boys. Always fun to go in and shop too!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank AliciaMorrier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

536 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    490
    34
    6
    2
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
SF Bay Area
Level Contributor
43 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Wonderful morning outrigger canoe ride”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2012

We (three teens and parents) greatly enjoyed the one-hour outrigger canoe ride and recommend it to any similar-sized group who want to get a bit of a feel for Hawaii by seeing the island from the perspective of the main traditional way of traveling on the ocean.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Porquetevas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montrose, Colorado
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Perfect day”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2012

My family, which includes three teenagers, purchased the Day at the Beach package from Kona Boys which included kayaking, paddle boarding and snorkeling. Our guide, Matt, was the best. He was a great teacher, answering everyone's questions thoroughly and with lots of patience (we had never kayaked or paddle boarded before.) He spent longer than was required with us until he felt that everyone had a thorough grasp on the how-to's of handling and safety. We all had such a great time and really apprecite it.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank JacH75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakville, Canada
Level Contributor
79 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Friendly service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2012

We rented our kayaks from the store. Friendly staff helped us load the kayak on top of our car and provided all the equipment needed, making our rental easy. The staff also arranged surfing lessons with awesome instructors.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank kelli H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Jolla, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Loved them - so helpful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2012

Even shared a private, gorgeous beach. Clearest water I've ever seen. Easy entry loading and unloading. Had a great time; they made it easy

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank ksinlj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kona Boys also viewed

 
Honalo, Island of Hawaii
Kealakekua, Island of Hawaii
 

Been to Kona Boys? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing