We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“It just keeps getting better on the Kona Coast.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mi's Italian Bistro - CLOSED

Mi's Italian Bistro
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $50
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic, Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Anchorage, Alaska
Level Contributor
168 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
“It just keeps getting better on the Kona Coast.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2013

This time it was my birthday so wife and sister-in-law allowed me to decide the place for dinner yesterday evening. When I post reviews of stuff they are usually pretty positive. That is because I do a lot of research before we go, you know, using outfits like "Tripadvisor" for advice, Haw. Anyway, I broke it down to three, "Mi's Italian Bistro" "San Choy's", and "Rays on the Bay". Since I love the Mediterranean diet best of all I chose Mi's. Sure glad I did. Too bad their isn't a sixth star for cuisine quality to check on this one. Quality wine too. You eat anywhere else like this and you are going to pay significantly more.

Very well run restaurant. The founders and owners do most of the food preparation and managing. When you have circumstances like that it is usually a tip off, for me, that things might be good. We made reservations for Monday at 5:30 PM. Good thing we did as people were coming in later without reservations and had a short wait. It was slow night too, Monday. When we left I told a party of three ladies that it is well worth the wait.

It is located adjacent to the Mamalahoa Highway, highway 11, at 81-6372. It has a white Mi's sign on it and you will turn left if traveling south. If you overshoot you will very soon hit the big intersection with the Napo'opo'o Road, highway 160. It has a nice parking lot but is located within a pretty small mall. The facade isn't impressive, at first glance one might be dismayed. But don't despair, once through the front door everything is sublime.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank TeBay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

367 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    251
    78
    18
    12
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Bainbridge is
1 review
“Good food,good service,reasonable prices good wine list”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2013

Chef owned uses local produce and products as available. Locally raised grass fed beef is excellent. Pastas are fresh and properly cooked. Try their wine and cheese shop located above Costco. We purchased the tenderloin from the freezer(local and grass fed) did a simple marinate of soy sauce and lime. Four minutes a side in a fry pan. Excellent. One package had four tenderloins so the $20 price could serve four. Fresh pasta with sauce quick to cook in the condo and excellent.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Dee M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Make a reservation!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2013

Mi's is an excellent restaurant. It's not very expensive, especially considering you are in Hawaii and it's very good food. Everything is made from scratch, and most is locally grown/raised.

Make sure to call ahead for a reservation though, it was packed the night we went and that's typical from what we heard. Well worth the minimal effort so that you can have an amazing dinner though.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank dhf_002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Lorenzo
Level Contributor
38 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Italian Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2013

This whole in the wall has really incredibly good food. The pasta was homemade and delicious. The seafood was cooked to perfection. And the meatballs were fantastic.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Davidsc47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Mateo, California
Level Contributor
52 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Intimate Fine Dining, Island Style”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2013

A very popular spot as the evening gets going. We went early without a res and beat the crowds. If you go more like 6-7pm, then definitely get a res. The food here is excellent and probably the best meal we had on the Big Island (and there was competition). All of the dishes we had were prepared with exquisite care and attention to detail, focusing on local ingredients. A very complementary wine list includes a number of high quality Italian bottles at good prices. Service was welcoming and flawless.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank jendickinson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mi's Italian Bistro also viewed

Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
 
Kealakekua, Island of Hawaii
 
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing