We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly”
Review of Mi's Italian Bistro - CLOSED

Mi's Italian Bistro
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $50
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Takeout
Upper midwest
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Friendly”
Reviewed December 6, 2012

Friendly, Excellent food. A must if you appreciate great food. We were in the a for a few nights and chose to come here for dinner twice.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Smoky63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

368 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    252
    78
    18
    12
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
San franisco
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Overpriced mediocre food”
Reviewed November 27, 2012

Not sure why people rate it highly. It is upscale with pleasant ambiance and very nice service. The food is poor

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank wrasse11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“What is amazing Italian doing in Hawaii?”
Reviewed November 25, 2012

We are Italian food snobs having travelled in Italy many times and having lived in the northeast. Mi's food pleased and impressed us. Our dinner here was by far our best on Hawaii. The service was friendly and thorough too. What a treat!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Coveyridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
58 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Baked Polenta a wonderful surprise dish”
Reviewed November 15, 2012

Mi an italian bistro located in Captain cook area south of Kailua-Kona serves fantastic meal even though it looks like a hole in the wall next to a liquor store. My baked polenta was so surprisingly delicious...my husband liked his crab manicotti...our friends liked their lasagna but felt very uncomfortable afterwards because of too much garlic...although the banana-rum flambe was so delicious I was disappointed not to have seen the flambe part...they had to do it in their kitchen before serving because of the flame is somewhat dangerous in a small area...over all we highly recommend this restaurant...not far from downtown Kailua-Kona

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Annabelle B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waikoloa, Hawaii
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Make A Reservation”
Reviewed November 11, 2012

Didn't know whether i should make a reservation because i did hear this place was small. Luckily when we got there it was just for 2 so the hostess/owner had us wait about 10 minutes and was able to get us at a table. They are only open from 4:30-8:30pm too so if traveling with more than 2 definitely call in for a table ahead of time....But make a reservation anyways so you don't get there and either get turned away or have to wait a while outside.

Ordered the Beef Tenderloin, Lasagna and 2 beers....Waited a bit for the food to be made and we didn't get our beers till right when the food came to the table. This was because she forgot about them which i had noticed right away after she took our order. When she took the order she said i will get your beers but didn't....She was so busy being the hostess, taking orders, giving the specials and clearing dishes that she didn't even come back to our table till our food was in the window. Lasagna was very good although like i read in another review it lacked the noodles?? Don't even know if they were in there but it tasted great otherwise. My Tenderloin was cooked just how i asked but it is a tiny thing with a bit of mashed potatoes and two small scoops of green beans and mushrooms i believe.....We ordered the Lemon Brulee for dessert and it was delicious. Not too sweet or custard tasting.

This restaurant is very intimate...it has maybe about 12 tables max and you are sitting right next to everyone else in there. Kitchen is in the corner and you can see them cooking all the orders which was pretty cool.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cozmickissez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mi's Italian Bistro also viewed

Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
Kealakekua, Island of Hawaii
 
Kealakekua, Island of Hawaii
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing