We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Food Good Prices”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Teshima's

Teshima's
Ranked #4 of 35 Restaurants in Kealakekua
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $20
Cuisines: Japanese, Asian, Sushi
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children, Kids, Local cuisine, Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Fredericksburg, Texas
Level Contributor
221 reviews
135 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“Good Food Good Prices”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2012

Lunch specials are very reasonably priced. Portions are large. We had salmon which came with rice, soup and tempura vegetables and Panko shrimp. Both were very good. Lunch time can be crowded and service somewhat slow.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 4gentexn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

285 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    160
    88
    22
    10
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, GA
Level Contributor
110 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Love it!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2012

I love Teshima's for breakfast. Just get the Japanese breakfast, it is fantastic. Great service, very authentic Japanese atmosphere. Will go back again and again :)

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank VisitTravelFun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Glastonbury, Connecticut
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Not fancy, but good food and service.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2012

We were here with our son, daughter-in-law and grandbaby. the menu was varied, the food was good and not expensive. The sashimi was excellent! Good and pleasant service.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Ann L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, District of Columbia, United States
Level Contributor
64 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Yummy, not fancy”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2012

The menu is a mix of more traditional diner-style Japanese, some Hawaiian, and America diner food. I tried one of the dinner specials with tempura, noodles, miso soup, and edamame, and it was all very good. The atmosphere is very local, casual, and authentic (and a little run-down, but clean).

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Chris H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, California
Level Contributor
25 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Okay food but not great”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2012

After reading all the reviews, decided to check out this restaurant. It does have a homey atmosphere as I feel I'm in a family diner rather than a Japanese restaurant.

Had a few different items. The tempura batter was nice and crispy but rather oily. The fried catch of the day (ahi in this case) again had nice batter, but the fish itself was very dry.

Tried the omelette fried rice. Isn't that a Korean dish? Anyways it was pretty decent - probably the best out of the dishes I tried.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank paxxy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Teshima's also viewed

Kealakekua, Island of Hawaii
 
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
Kealakekua, Island of Hawaii
 
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
 

Been to Teshima's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing