We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you are a visitor, don't waste your time or $$”
Review of Sandy's Drive In

Sandy's Drive In
Ranked #18 of 37 Restaurants in Kealakekua
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Kailua-Kona, Hawaii
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“If you are a visitor, don't waste your time or $$”
Reviewed August 21, 2014

Located on Hwy 11 in Kainaliu/Captain Cook on the makai-side....just don't waste your time, money or calories. Food is edible, if you want to feel like you are eating in a cafeteria/laundromat.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Marcy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    11
    9
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Central Point, Oregon
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Our favorite meals on the Big Island”
Reviewed June 12, 2014

For our first experience, we arrived late in the afternoon on our way from the airport to our rental house. We both ordered the Loco Moco, and were not disappointed at all. In fact, we had read that this little diner was a gem in the rough. It was delicious (an not just because we were ravenous). Since then, we judge any Loco Moco we eat by the Sandy's standard. No one else has tasted as good to us.
Our second experience was for breakfast on our way North for a beach day. They were busier that day with locals, but the service was still good and fast. Another great meal. We love the "local" feel of this place--not touristy and expensive. You get great portions for great prices.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank annabelle63102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Gatos, California
Level Contributor
85 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Terrible... and they don't care.”
Reviewed January 4, 2014

If you are not a local, then stay away. If you are a local and like a true dive, then good luck.....

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank mattpequegnat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottetown, Canada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Shoulda had the Tripe Stew”
Reviewed December 16, 2013

This was our very first place to eat after touching down on the island, en route to our accommodation. The place was clean and decent-looking enough, and the staff were friendly and helpful but the food was very disappointing. We think this place caters for locals, and they like what's on the menu and how it is prepared. Probably we would have done better choosing something authentic like the tripe stew or goat curry, rather than choosing standbys like fried chicken or teriyaki beef which didn't meet our expectations

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank birdwatchers2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raymore, Missouri
Level Contributor
102 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Nice little drive in”
Reviewed August 19, 2013

We had breakfast here. It's clean and the food was good. It's hard to mess up breakfast though! We went here before we checked in for our Kayak tour with Aloha Kayak.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ready4MoreBeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sandy's Drive In also viewed

Kealakekua, Island of Hawaii
 
Kealakekua, Island of Hawaii
 

Been to Sandy's Drive In? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing