We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Neat little bakery, crepe and gelato cafe”
Review of Gio's Gelato and Italian Pastry - CLOSED

Gio's Gelato and Italian Pastry
Cuisines: Italian, European
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Takeout
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Takeout
San Marcos, California
Level Contributor
85 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Neat little bakery, crepe and gelato cafe”
Reviewed October 24, 2013

We were stumbling around and looking for a place to catch brunch. In this part of rural Hawaii, most places don't open till 10 or 11 am. But we looked in the window of this one placed that looked promising but, alas, closed. As we were walking away, a guy comes out of the store and says, I don't open till 11 but come on in and I take care of you. Wow.

So we did and he made a couple eggs in crepes with some other fancy things in there and fixed us up with one of the best breakfast dishes in a long time.

He served 100% Kona coffee and we bought some pastries to take back to the condo.

We may go back tomorrow morning.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bgkrider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

68 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    50
    16
    1
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Kealakekua, Hawaii
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Great after dinner”
Reviewed October 14, 2013

Good food, fun people, a worthwhile stop along the highway. We only stopped by for dessert but everything looked wonderful and the choice of dessert was made even harder by trying out a few samples.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Troy V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seattle
Level Contributor
114 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Pastries of Your Dreams”
Reviewed October 14, 2013

If you are craving rich, melt-in-your-mouth pastries come here. Just next door to Annie's, these folks have the right touch. Delicate, light but perfectly composed treats! Did I mention the gelato? Superb. It's a good thing this is a bit of a drive or I'd be there every day. Well worth your time and appreciation.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank susafoxSeattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waikoloa, Hawaii
Level Contributor
271 reviews
174 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“The Gelato.......... wow”
Reviewed September 1, 2013

Stopped here to try their coffee and gelato, after having dinner at Annie's 2 nights ago.
The gelato was truly heavenly, the coffee flavor was sublime!
Try their coffee- the espresso was done the way it should be ... and the lattes were creamy and rich.
Staff friendly too. We bought a couple of pastries for later... they put 2 more in the box "to keep them from moving around while we were driving home!!"

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Muadib84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pittsburgh, PA
Level Contributor
54 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Best cannoli's ever”
Reviewed August 29, 2013 via mobile

We stumbled by this place on accident and its amazing. Mango gelato is very tasty and best cannoli I have ever had. Also the palmiers are delicious. I came here twice in a week with the cam. I don't even typically like Italian pastries!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank hhefzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gio's Gelato and Italian Pastry also viewed

Kealakekua, Island of Hawaii
Kealakekua, Island of Hawaii
 
Kealakekua, Island of Hawaii
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing