We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice!”
Review of Greenwell Farms

Greenwell Farms
Book In Advance
More Info
$399.00*
and up
Kona Coast Coffee and Turtles Private Tour
Ranked #1 of 20 things to do in Kealakekua
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Kona coffee plantation.
Michigan
Level Contributor
135 reviews
73 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Very nice!”
Reviewed April 9, 2013

We enjoyed our visit to Greenwell Farms! Not only did we get to learn about how coffee grows, the retrieving of the bean, and the workings of a coffee plantation but we also got to see a wide variety of fruit bearing trees and plants such as; oranges, avocados, bananas, coconuts, and pineapples. In addition we were able to see a gecko and 2 chameleons. One chameleon in
particular they have named Carl and a cute book was written about him and the coffee farm! The author of the book works there and will even sign copies for you! Also, the staff were incredibly friendly!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank mlbdld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

917 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    618
    254
    31
    8
    6
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oak Harbor, Washington
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Historical walk with great Coffee”
Reviewed April 5, 2013

Easy parking, guided easy walking tour of the farm. Fun to learn history of coffee on the Big Island and see the process. Great sample bar to try different coffees. Excellent stop on the Big Island.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank JohnCarat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
65 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“An Excellent Stop!”
Reviewed March 15, 2013

The Greenwell Coffee Farm was an excellent stop. We had heeded advice to stop in on Thursday so we could buy some Portuguese bread. It was tasty and so was the coffee. The tour guide showed us the entire coffee growing and processing procedure. It was a good opportunity to learn about many of the fruit-bearing plants in the area, and see one of the original big coffee plantations on Kona. There was a free coffee tasting following the tour and other offerings using the coffee cherry were for sale. I also bought some juice, but haven't actually cracked open the bottle yet, so can't comment. If you only visit one coffee plantation on the island, then this is the one.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank MsVickiG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage, Alaska
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Forget everything you thought you knew about coffee”
Reviewed March 12, 2013

I'll go ahead and admit it, I'm sort of a regular at this place. Every time I have visitors come from the mainland this is one the places I bring them. All the tour guides and staff are very friendly and extremely knowledgeable. They really go out of their way to way to make you feel welcome, you are even greeted with a coffee cup and a description of all the coffees they have to taste. Bottomless tastings will leave you jittery! My favorites are the chocolate mac nut and the full city roast, they even encourage you to bring your own mug (which I do) The tours are very informative and the farm itself is beautiful. I'd highly recommend Greenwell for your Kona coffee fix

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank generalgeneral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
46 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Awesome Place! Great staff!”
Reviewed March 9, 2013

My husband and I had such a great time here - learned a ton about new and older methods of coffee growing and production, a ton of great coffee samples to try, the place is free (!!), the tour guide was great! and we got to eat banana from right off the tree!!!!! We also saw avocado trees, pineapple growing, etc. A really worth-it experience especially if you drink Kona coffee from Peets and many other places (it mostly comes from THIS farm!).

NOTE: They are organic!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank 411LisaF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Greenwell Farms also viewed

 
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
Kealakekua, Island of Hawaii
 

Been to Greenwell Farms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing