We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quaint, quality, pricey” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Strawberry Patch

The Strawberry Patch
Ranked #7 of 35 Restaurants in Kealakekua
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $30
Cuisines: American, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
112 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Quaint, quality, pricey”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2014

Great little restaurant - very nice atmosphere (small, personal.) Our waitress seemed "off" that night but still great service - no complaints, she was just short. Food was excellent - only downside was it seemed a little overpriced, but even saying that, we'd go again. It's small and out of the way, but worth it.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Boston2NC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    72
    33
    6
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
98 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“A little pricey, but very yummy”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2014

We stopped here actually looking for the Nasturtium restaurant next door, but thought maybe they'd changed their name or something. Either way, The Strawberry Patch was great. The food is a little pricey (it cost us $40 for lunch), but what isn't pricey in Hawaii? We decided to split the Brie Cheese Plate and the Papa somebody's Pizza. The Brie plate was out of this world great, and the pizza was really good too, if a bit small for $15. We would have tried a dessert too, but the only one they had at lunch had eggs in it (and we're lactovegetarian). They are vegetarian, vegan and gluten-free friendly, so stop on by if you're in the area.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank hunnyjar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lawrence, Kansas
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great place to eat”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2014

We chose this place on the basis of other Trip Advisor reviews. Otherwise, I think we would have driven past the place! We loved it. People have described it as quaint or funky, and it fits. We sat outside and were screened from the highway/ I had the roast beet salad and garlic bread, and it was wonderful. I highly recommend it.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Bearpup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Charming & Delicious”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2014 via mobile

This quaint roadside cafe is a great place to stop for lunch. The menu features fresh local ingredients. We had the Margarita flatbread, Waldorf salad Picasso Grill Panni which were all wonderful. The carrot cake was so light! Definitely a treat to eat here.

Helpful?
1 Thank VAgirl16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
84 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Café Style Dining at its Best”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2014

What a treat to be served with lace on the tables, antiques attractively displayed and a fountain bubbling beside you if you choose to eat in their covered outdoor area. The quality of the menu with uniquely prepared farm fresh items was enhanced with beautiful presentation. My sweet beet salad was almost too pretty to eat, but the fresh greens and homemade dressing were divine so eat I did. The meals are delicate to behold but hardy enough for my husband. We couldn’t resist the desserts, attractively displayed at the counter. The menu changes often so you can go back and be surprised. This is a small venue but they provide carry out and not one to be overlooked if you are in the Kona area.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Strawberry Patch also viewed

Kealakekua, Island of Hawaii
Kealakekua, Island of Hawaii
 
Kealakekua, Island of Hawaii
 

Been to The Strawberry Patch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing