We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quality experience in a relaxing atmosphere.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ala Kai Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 8 Keaau B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Greeley, Colorado
1 review
“Quality experience in a relaxing atmosphere.”
Reviewed September 2, 2010

Friendly greeting upon arrival. Very accomodating--asking wherever they could be help. Very relaxing atmosphere with excellent breakfasts. Attractive rooms with required privacy.
Extra amenities available upon request. Enjoyed my stay immensely--truly a quality experience.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank triplej33454
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    125
    23
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
45
65
9
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bern
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2009

We stayed at Ala Kai in September 2008. Mary and Pat - the owners - are just wonderful. It is a loveley place and the homemade breakfast at the veranda is amazing. We just had two nights but it was the nicest accomadation we had during our stay in Hawaii. We are planning to go back next year and we definitely will stay some nights at the Ala Kai.

  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cosima78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed August 25, 2009

We came to the Ala KAi B&B on July 24th. This being our first trip to Hawaii we did a lot of tripadvisor research before deciding on the Ala Kai. What a fantasitic decision! Between the cottage and the main house there was plenty of room for my husband and I, our two girls (9 and 11), may parents and my grandmother. Our hostess was absolutely wonderful, providing plenty of privacy but always around when you needed her. She served a delicious breakfast each day we were there and offered many helpful hints to aid us during our explorations around the Hilo area and suggested a wnonderful little restaraunt near by for my husband and I to enjoy our anniversary at. Rooms were clean and comfortable, a little stuffy but the overhead fans helped alot. The room we had at the main house (lower floor facing cottage) has a large walk-in shower which was very nice. The pool and was a great place to wind down and cool off at after a day of adventures and the BBQ made it easy to cook up something tasty as we watched the sunset in the distance. Fabulous wild orchids everywhere, as well as many other beautiful plants and flowers to enjoy. Ocean waves splashing against the cliffside just across the drive. Highly recommend to anyone visiting this area!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank karenjo21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2009

My whole family enjoyed staying at the Ala Kai B&B. We made a trip to Hawaii, and this was our last stop -- we got the Ohana cottage, which was 2 bedrooms, kitchen, living room.

Since there is such a dearth of nice hotels on the windward side of the island, we decided to try this B&B. After Waikiki, we had had about enough of regular hotel rooms and crowds anyway. It was great, we stayed there when we were visiting Hawaii Volcanoes National Park. It's close, as the crow flies, but lava flows have completely engulfed the road that used to go from this area into the park, so you have to drive around a good distance.

Having travel guides and games in the room was an excellent touch. There is a washer and dryer available for your use also. The kitchen is fully stocked with any kitchen utensil, pot or pan you could possibly think of. I enjoyed taking a dip in their pool with my daughter while talking to Pat and Mary. They will be happy to give you recommendations on anything from grocery stores to sightseeing.

The highlight of your stay will be the breakfast. Don't even consider not getting it (it's a small price extra if you're staying in the cottage, completely worth it). Fresh local fruit and then a hot plate (eggs, sausage, etc) to follow with coffee, and some wonderful warm papaya bread... all served up family style. We just loved it.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank midatlantictraveler1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
home
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2009

If you are looking for a great value, clean, great food, helpful hosts, please consider Pat and Mary's place. We stayed a week and would stay again without considering another place. You are only 5 minutes from Hilo, with an ocean view.

Thanks again Mary and Pat
larry

  • Stayed April 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lanebuiders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germany
1 review
Reviewed February 25, 2009

We had a wonderful time at the Ala Kai B&B.

The room was very clean, comfortable and equipped with all we needed. The furniture seemed to be all new and in general made a very well-kept impression. We had our own private bathroom which also was very clean and well-furnished.

The location is a bit off the main cities but we loved it as it made our trip more romantic. You can take lonely walks along the volcanic coast or just sit there and enjoy the sunset. Due to its location it is very quiet and we slept extremely wel. Still, the location is good for trips to the Volcaon and you can find restaurants within 15min drive.

Best of all were the friendliness of the hosts and their unbelievable tasty breakfast with homemade Papaya bread, served outside with the beautiful ocean view. Being taken care of so well at more than 7,000 miles away from where we live, we almost felt a bit like home...

We would definitely stay there again. This was the first B&B on our 3-island trip and it was our bad luck that we had the best B&B right at the beginning...

  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bruchpilot46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
1 review
Reviewed February 5, 2009

This B&B was simply outstanding. The two ladies who operate the property (Pat and Mary) could not be more pleasant, helpful and committed to exceeding expectations. The property itself is clean, comfortable and an oustanding value. My husband and I could not be more pleased and we will definitely return. We would definitely recommend this property, as it was the single best experience we have ever had!

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Heidi1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Keaau
10.9 mi away
Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel
10.5 mi away
Hilo Seaside Hotel
12.1 mi away
Dolphin Bay
Dolphin Bay
#2 of 8 in Hilo
665 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.4 mi away
Chalet Kilauea
Chalet Kilauea
#1 of 2 in Volcano
404 reviews
68.5 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
10.9 mi away
Grand Naniloa Hotel Hilo - a DoubleTree by Hilton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ala Kai Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ala Kai Bed & Breakfast

Property: Ala Kai Bed & Breakfast
Address: 15-782 Paradise Ala Kai Dr, Keaau, Island of Hawaii, HI 96749-7138
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Keaau
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Keaau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Ala Kai Bed & Breakfast 2.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ala Kai B&B offers easy proximity to Volcanoes National Park, great snorkeling, and the best Farmer's Market in East Hawaii. We are located on Kaloli Point and are directly across the road from the ocean. Enjoy spectacular sunrises, whale watching December through March, helpful travel advice, and wonderful breakfasts tailored to specific culinary needs.Please join us at Ala Kai B&B for a touch of paradise. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ala Kai Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing