We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Their breakfast is wonderful”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ala Kai Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 8 Keaau B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 9, 2009

My whole family enjoyed staying at the Ala Kai B&B. We made a trip to Hawaii, and this was our last stop -- we got the Ohana cottage, which was 2 bedrooms, kitchen, living room.

Since there is such a dearth of nice hotels on the windward side of the island, we decided to try this B&B. After Waikiki, we had had about enough of regular hotel rooms and crowds anyway. It was great, we stayed there when we were visiting Hawaii Volcanoes National Park. It's close, as the crow flies, but lava flows have completely engulfed the road that used to go from this area into the park, so you have to drive around a good distance.

Having travel guides and games in the room was an excellent touch. There is a washer and dryer available for your use also. The kitchen is fully stocked with any kitchen utensil, pot or pan you could possibly think of. I enjoyed taking a dip in their pool with my daughter while talking to Pat and Mary. They will be happy to give you recommendations on anything from grocery stores to sightseeing.

The highlight of your stay will be the breakfast. Don't even consider not getting it (it's a small price extra if you're staying in the cottage, completely worth it). Fresh local fruit and then a hot plate (eggs, sausage, etc) to follow with coffee, and some wonderful warm papaya bread... all served up family style. We just loved it.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank midatlantictraveler1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (161)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

136 - 142 of 161 reviews

Reviewed May 5, 2009

If you are looking for a great value, clean, great food, helpful hosts, please consider Pat and Mary's place. We stayed a week and would stay again without considering another place. You are only 5 minutes from Hilo, with an ocean view.

Thanks again Mary and Pat
larry

  • Stayed: April 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lanebuiders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2009

We had a wonderful time at the Ala Kai B&B.

The room was very clean, comfortable and equipped with all we needed. The furniture seemed to be all new and in general made a very well-kept impression. We had our own private bathroom which also was very clean and well-furnished.

The location is a bit off the main cities but we loved it as it made our trip more romantic. You can take lonely walks along the volcanic coast or just sit there and enjoy the sunset. Due to its location it is very quiet and we slept extremely wel. Still, the location is good for trips to the Volcaon and you can find restaurants within 15min drive.

Best of all were the friendliness of the hosts and their unbelievable tasty breakfast with homemade Papaya bread, served outside with the beautiful ocean view. Being taken care of so well at more than 7,000 miles away from where we live, we almost felt a bit like home...

We would definitely stay there again. This was the first B&B on our 3-island trip and it was our bad luck that we had the best B&B right at the beginning...

  • Stayed: February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bruchpilot46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2009

This B&B was simply outstanding. The two ladies who operate the property (Pat and Mary) could not be more pleasant, helpful and committed to exceeding expectations. The property itself is clean, comfortable and an oustanding value. My husband and I could not be more pleased and we will definitely return. We would definitely recommend this property, as it was the single best experience we have ever had!

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Heidi1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2008

Lovely place in the active volcano area of Hawaii.
The lovely hosts welcomed us in the backyard cottage. The cottage was very nice and quiet behind the hosts house. In front of the house close to the end of a dead end road was a small private swimming pool which we enjoyed in the afternoon sunshine. The ocean (no beach) is just opposite of the street. The place was perfect as we booked a wonderful bvreakfast every morning.
The house is located half way between actiove lava flow and the Volcanoes national park.
There are sopme nice restaurants 20 min driving distance.
This was a top choice for us and we never regret not staying in Hilo.
Thanks.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Marita_Frank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2008

My mother and I stayed here for two nights mid-week, about the third week of march. We stayed in the seperate two bedroom cottage in the back of the property. We stayed a few nights in Wiakolao at the Marriott which was good value for the price and what you got. We then headed over to Hilo as we had not been there before. This B and B is only maybe a 10 to 15 minute drive from hilo depending on the traffic. To be honest it is a bit out of the way and requires a long drive down a bumpy road that ends in a dirt road for the last two minutes of the drive that had lots of pot holes. This location was a pro and con, we felt we where off the beaten track and in a place few tourists stay at. The owners of the inn are very friendly and nice. They also offered us a bit of a discount since we stayed mid-week, and a bit off season, call them directly, as they may be able to pass on a discount if they are not busy and they will not have to pay commissions to booking agents. Our own private cottage was very spacious and nicely furnished and very neat and clean with comfortable beds. It also had a kitchen and stereo and tv with vcr and dvd (as well as some movies, though most movies where dated, but that was ok as we did not come to hawaii to watch movies). Also we had a washer/dryer to use which was great as we had some laundry to do. Staying at the cottage the breakfast only included guava juice, a bit of bread and fresh island fruit, which was OK, but I would recommend paying the extra 5 bucks or so for a gourmet hot breakfast served on the ocean view lanai of the main house. This was a highlight of our stay, very tasty and great view. Also the inn's pool had just finished completion and was refreshing to swim in, so there is no longer any big ditch to look onto, but a nice new pool instead. We enjoyed driving into Hilo to see the Market, the waterfront, the waterfalls, as well as the coastal Asian Park. We had a great lunch and the reknown Pesto's restaurant. We were also fortunate to arrive when there was a lava flow to view only a short drive away (bring very comfortable shoes and water as well). Though I forget the name of the town on the way to the lave flow, there is great new restaurant where you can hear frogs chearping in the trees. They have great seafood of course, but if you want a break from that, they have delicouse steaks and other meat dishes as well as pasta. Dont miss their Philopinno egg rolls, and their fish and chips where great too. Thus, if you dont mind staying a little bit out of the way, but still a short drive to Hilo, the lava flow viewing area, as well as only maybe a 30 to 40 minute drive to Volcano National Park, the I would highly recommend this B and B with its gracious hostesses and lodging as well as the morning cooked breakfasts. It also represests good value for the big island I think as well. Have fun on the big island, it is a big place so I think it is a good idea to plan half your stay in Kona, a bit in Hilo and a bit by Volcano national park.

  • Stayed: March 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank WorldTraveler027
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2008

My wife and I were able to get into one of Pat & Mary's room after another B&B cancelled our reservations due to us only staying one night while doing the island tour. The cancelled reservation was a good thing after reading the reviews of it after booking. Pat and Mary's place is fantastic. It is a bit out of the way which makes it nice and quiet. But if you are looking for dinner, you will have to drive about 10 miles to get to the nearest town, but that's OK, the town (which I cannot remember the name) has some friendly locals where we did have pleasant dinner conversation with.
Back to Ala Kai though.
We as well saw a hole in the front yard, but it was filled with water and looked to be a completed pool. Didn't have time to try it but it did look refreshing. We didn't get to speak with Mary too much as we did get in late and left the next morning. But alas she was not there when we woke up in the morning. However, we had a pleasant conversation with Pat during breakfast who informed us of places that we needed to stop off at on our way back to the other side of the island. Very knowledgeable about the island, what to see and do that otherwise we would not have seen. The house is beautiful and beds are nice and comfortable. Breakfast was delicious while on the deck watching the sunrise over looking the ocean. They sure made us feel comfortable and welcome. Wish we could have stayed a bit longer, but time was short. Looking for a quiet area to stay? This is it.

  • Stayed: February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Big_Wave55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Keaau
12.1 mi away
Dolphin Bay
Dolphin Bay
#2 of 7 in Hilo
682 reviews
10.1 mi away
Arnott's Lodge
Arnott's Lodge
#1 of 7 in Hilo
598 reviews
10.9 mi away
Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.9 mi away
Grand Naniloa Hotel Hilo - a DoubleTree by Hilton
14.3 mi away
The Inn at Kulaniapia Falls
13.3 mi away
Orchid Tree Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ala Kai Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ala Kai Bed & Breakfast

Address: 15-782 Paradise Ala Kai Dr, Keaau, Island of Hawaii, HI 96749-7138
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Keaau
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Keaau
Price Range: $153 - $199 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Ala Kai Bed & Breakfast 2.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ala Kai B&B offers easy proximity to Volcanoes National Park, great snorkeling, and the best Farmer's Market in East Hawaii. We are located on Kaloli Point and are directly across the road from the ocean. Enjoy spectacular sunrises, whale watching December through March, helpful travel advice, and wonderful breakfasts tailored to specific culinary needs.Please join us at Ala Kai B&B for a touch of paradise. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Ala Kai Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing