We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“PARADISE”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ala Kai Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 8 Keaau B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“PARADISE”
Reviewed May 29, 2013

This is one of the most wonderful places I have ever stayed. My wife and I enjoyed our stay at Ala Kai and words alone can not express our Ala Kai experince. We were visiting to purchase a retirement place of our own and wound up finding a dimond in the rough. The owners are wonderful people and put out a great breakfast. You must stay at the Ala Kai if you ever visit the Big Island.

Room Tip: Based on our room I belive any choice is the right choice at the Ala Kai B&B on the Big Island.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Darrell M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    127
    24
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
46
67
9
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2013

The accommodation was suggested to us as it was not far from where we were doing a quilting class for 5 days. We had travelled from Perth, Western Australia in a group of 5 ladies, all friends from our quilting group. We were given very clear instructions on how to arrive at our destination and found it easily. I had been communicating with Pat and Mary and had been given lots of useful information such as where the nearest supermarket was etc. Pat and Mary were perfects hosts - very friendly, helpful and made us feel at ease. We rented the cottage out the back which had 2 large queen bedrooms, bathroom, kitchen, lounge area etc. We also rented two rooms in the main house - both with large queen beds and a shared bathroom. Everything was very neat, clean, and the rooms were large and had everything you would need. There was even free Wifi. Beds were comfortable and rooms could be locked so your possessions were safely locked up. There is a lovely clean swimming pool which I used several times. Breakfast was included and there was a huge variety of food each day. This was served on the lanai (verandah) facing the ocean. If you had a special request, Pat and Mary were happy to oblige. We were 17 miles out of Hilo, but we were in the Paradise Park area which was quiet and right opposite the ocean. You could hear and see the waves. It was a relaxing place to stay. We visited the Volcano and ventured to the north of the island. Quite a feat as we had to drive on the opposite side of the road. I would recommend this B&B to anyone. Thanks Pat and Mary for making our stay relaxing and for looking after us so well.

Room Tip: You can choose single rooms if you are travelling alone, or as a couple, or book the cottage out the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CraftyDutchgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kona
1 review
Reviewed March 13, 2013

Living in Kona, sometimes you just want to go to do the other side of the Island; Honokaa, Hilo, Volcano. Ala Kai was a perfect option for 2 couples in their Aloha Suite, with 2 private bedrooms and a beautiful shared bathroom in a private side of the B&B. We had a lovely breakfast on their covered lanai with beautiful ocean views. It doesn't get any better than that. A holiday well needed for all.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JEMFarms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2013

We stayed at Ala Kai while visiting the Big Island. I wondered if the location would be too out of the way. It is located outside of Hilo at the end of the road on a bump out on the map. It was actually a great place to base our excursions from. Hilo town, Volcano National Park, the warm water pools and the reefs for snorkeling, all were within an easy drive from there.

We had the cottage behind the main house. It was so comfortable and so nice to come home to at the end of a long day of activities. We all loved their B&B kitty. Our kids especially loved him. On longer trips, they tend to miss their pets so I try to schedule a stay where there are residence animals. Shakespeare was more than willing to submit to cheek scratches and back strokes.

Just a short walk across the street is the ocean. Our teen son loved discovering the coastline. He enjoys photography and found wonderful things to shoot. There is a natural rock bridge where the waves crash through. Beautiful. Another plus regarding their location is that they get less rain there. It is in a microclimate with almost forty inches less rain a year!

Pat and Mary were very helpful with local information and even had snorkel gear available for us to borrow. Both are very nice ladies. We definitely enjoyed our stay.

Room Tip: We stayed in the separate cottage in the back. It has a full kitchen and the pantry has quite a few...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WeLoveTravelandFood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bishops Stortford, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed January 13, 2013

We stayed at the Ala Kai for 3 nights and were amazed at what a gem of a B & B it was. We could not believe that we were so fortunate to find such a wonderful place to stay not far from the volcano national park on Big Island. Most people tend to stay near Kona on the other side of the island, as the weather is better there, but if you venture around to the Hilo side,and want to be nearer the volcanoes, this is definitely the place to stay. The B&B is run by 2 very welcoming and hospitable sisters, who provide a wonderful home cooked breakfast on the lanai, overlooking the ocean. We stayed in the little cottage at the back of the main house, which was perfect for me, my husband and 2 chidlren as it had 2 lovely bedrooms and all the creature comforts of home. There is a small heated pool in front of the main house, which was great for the children, and Pat and Mary also lent us some snorkelling equipment to use at the tidal pools, which aren't too far from them. I would definitely recommend this B&B to anyone looking to visit Big Island.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glenview, Illinois
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 12, 2013

We returned recently from a 2 night stay at the Ala Kai and had a wonderful stay. Pat(especially) and Mary were most helpful in suggesting activities to do and where to eat. The rooms are very clean and nice size. Breakfast is ample and fresh. Snorkeling at the tide pools was good, but more fish can be observed at other reefs around the island. We were unable to locate the warm springs, and we were disappointed at that.

Room Tip: We had the 2 rooms in the front and it is connected to the main house and it was very quiet and priv...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard M M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2013

Every once in a while you are truly pleased overall with a place you find to go on vacation. We have stayed in Oahu, Kauai, Kona and in Hilo on previous trips to Hawaii. In the spring of 2007 we stayed at the Ala Kai B&B. When we returned to Hawaii for Christmas 2012 we made sure we came back and stayed here again. We stayed in the guest house behind the main bed and breakfast again this trip. This is a totally independent free standing 2 bedroom cottage. There is a large kitchen and den area along with the 2 bedrooms and full bathroom facility. The entire cottage was beautiful and clean. Outside there is a full lanai (porch) where you can enjoy the peace and quiet in a lush tropical setting. Every morning a lavish breakfast is served and every morning it is different: breads, fresh island fruits, Kona coffee, fruit juice. Since we stayed in 2007 a beautiful in ground swimming pool was added. Your hosts Pat and Mary are a wealth of information about island attractions, traditions, roads, etc. They provide many things that you may need for your visit such as ice chests, swimming floats, guide books, etc. I could go on and on about this place because we want to go back already. You are located less than an hour from Hilo, Volcano National Park, a lava flow that glows in the night, a tidal pool where you can swim in naturally heated waters along with small tropical fish, and other attractions too numerous to mention. Accommodations, food, hosts, local attractions were all excellent. The price was incredible too. You will like the Big Island and all there is to do while there. Aloha.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SCJJM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Keaau
10.9 mi away
Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel
10.5 mi away
Hilo Seaside Hotel
12.1 mi away
Dolphin Bay
Dolphin Bay
#2 of 8 in Hilo
669 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.2 mi away
Volcano House
Volcano House
#1 of 1 in Hawaii Volcanoes National Park
887 reviews
10.9 mi away
Grand Naniloa Hotel Hilo - a DoubleTree by Hilton
14.3 mi away
The Inn at Kulaniapia Falls
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ala Kai Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ala Kai Bed & Breakfast

Property: Ala Kai Bed & Breakfast
Address: 15-782 Paradise Ala Kai Dr, Keaau, Island of Hawaii, HI 96749-7138
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Keaau
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Keaau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Ala Kai Bed & Breakfast 2.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ala Kai B&B offers easy proximity to Volcanoes National Park, great snorkeling, and the best Farmer's Market in East Hawaii. We are located on Kaloli Point and are directly across the road from the ocean. Enjoy spectacular sunrises, whale watching December through March, helpful travel advice, and wonderful breakfasts tailored to specific culinary needs.Please join us at Ala Kai B&B for a touch of paradise. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ala Kai Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing