We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful, quiet and relaxing”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ala Kai Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 8 Keaau B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 20, 2011

The Ala Kai bed and breakfast is in a beautiful location in the Puna area very close to the ocean. Breakfasts are delicious and generous. The porch has an amazing view, whether in the morning of the ocean and sunrise, or at night to watch the stars... Mary, one of the owners, was very helpful and a great resource. I wish that I could have spent more time there!

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eligatta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (158)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

123 - 129 of 158 reviews

Reviewed March 28, 2011

We love this island retreat, we go several times a year and always have a wonderful experience. Mary and Pat are great hosts . The breakfasts are to die for and the location is perfect. Every morning we walk across to the ocean and are mesmerized by the color and sound of the waves. We always stay in the Bamboo room, and appreciate the great amenities ( microwave, refrigerator, coffee pot ). There is nothing like going to sleep to the sound of the waves. The lanai and pool offer the perfect place to relax and enjoy the beauty of this place. Don't miss out on it. We highly reccommend it.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Opihikau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2011

I went with my husband and two twenty somethings. The view from the porch is fantastic. Mary and Pat serve glorious breakfasts. They don't intrude but provide snorkel gear, a swimming pool, local suggestions and a very friendly atmosphere. We were very pleased. The b and b has a cottage, a suite with its own bathroom and 2 bedrooms, and also downstairs bedrooms. Breakfast is served on the porch. We stayed a week and enjoyed every minute.

  • Stayed: February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank harp21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2011

We enjoyed this nice B&B at the sea very much. The owners Mary and Pat are very helpful and extremely friendly and offer you a georgeous breakfast on the lanai with a marvellous view over the ocean.
We had very nice rooms with beautiful quilts and a large clean bathroom. We received a lot of helpful advices and had wonderful picnics at the sea under the stars.

It would be always our choice for the next stay on thr island.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kap-horn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2011

This whole Ali Kai experience proved to have been nothing short of spectacular. The setting amongst the cascading palms is in view of the ocean where whales could be seen from the lenai. They instantly reminded us of their magnificance. The setting is perfect for relaxation and Pat and Mary couldn't do enough to make our stay more pleasant. They were a wealth of information as we planned our daily excursions. Cleanliness and accommodations could not have been better, nor could the food which included fresh fruit and baked goods daily. We continue to tell our friends of our wonder-filled experience and are lookig forward to the day when we can return.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OGrady8828
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2010

I'm not usually a fan of the B&B experience, but the Ala Kai did not disappoint us at all. The drive from Hilo seems to take you absolutely nowhere into the middle of a very oddly mixed residential area, but just as you wonder if your GPS has failed you arrive right at a beautiful street along the ocean. While the inn doesn't sit on the ocean (a smart thing considering how high the waves can come up over the lava cliffs), the front veranda has a lovely view of the Pacific. The rooms are immaculate and the bathroom modern and large. None of the rooms have ocean views, but I doubt anyone visits with plans to stay indoors. A drive to Volcano Park is an absolute must and is quite easy from the inn. The chopper or boat ride at evening is the best way to see flowing lava, but make sure you're prepared for the high price that entails.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank roxieontheroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2010

Pat and Mary's Bed and Breakfast was fantastic, especially the breakfast portion. They serve you fresh fruit and a filling meal. You over look the ocean and currently the estate in front of the house is empty so there is a direct view of the ocean.

We stayed in the cottage behind the house. It was very clean and the beds were comfortable. They even supply ear buds to muffle the singing Coqui frogs (I thought their singing was relaxing and enjoyed it immensely). There is a full kitchen even with seasoning if you happen to catch a fish and want to cook it :)

It is a little difficult to find the B&B at first because it is very secluded, I wish it was a little closer to the main road, but the way it is cuts down on traffic noise and city lights.

Overall it was a magical stay :)

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank duckfeet428
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Keaau
10.9 mi away
Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel
10.5 mi away
Hilo Seaside Hotel
10.1 mi away
Arnott's Lodge
Arnott's Lodge
#1 of 7 in Hilo
575 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.1 mi away
Dolphin Bay
Dolphin Bay
#2 of 7 in Hilo
679 reviews
14.3 mi away
The Inn at Kulaniapia Falls
10.9 mi away
Grand Naniloa Hotel Hilo - a DoubleTree by Hilton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ala Kai Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ala Kai Bed & Breakfast

Address: 15-782 Paradise Ala Kai Dr, Keaau, Island of Hawaii, HI 96749-7138
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Keaau
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Keaau
Price Range: $152 - $188 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Ala Kai Bed & Breakfast 2.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ala Kai B&B offers easy proximity to Volcanoes National Park, great snorkeling, and the best Farmer's Market in East Hawaii. We are located on Kaloli Point and are directly across the road from the ocean. Enjoy spectacular sunrises, whale watching December through March, helpful travel advice, and wonderful breakfasts tailored to specific culinary needs.Please join us at Ala Kai B&B for a touch of paradise. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Ala Kai Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing