We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Art and Orchids
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation but we can search other options in Keaau
See available hotels
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Chalet Kilauea(Volcano)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (119)
Filter reviews
119 results
Traveler rating
100
13
3
2
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
100
13
3
2
1
See what travelers are saying:
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
40 - 45 of 119 reviews
Reviewed October 9, 2010

Arts and Orchids is a quiet spot in the rainforest between Hilo and Pahoa. Off the main road in the woods, you can get in easily with a car, but drive slowly. Our jeep was unphased.

The location is rural. There is fabulous snorkeling 20 minutes at the tide pools. 15 minutes gets you to Pahoa with more nightlife and good food than all of downtown Hilo.

Breakfast included eggs, fresh from the resident chickens, fruit from the resident trees, and excellent island coffee.

The hosts are friendly, knowledgeable, and artists: their mosaics and stained glass are everywhere. Don't miss the mosaic turtles on the bottom of the pool.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Seantrue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2010

We stayed here for 3 nights during our trip to the Hilo side of Big Island, and would wholeheartedly recommend it to anyone who likes peace and quiet, friendly knowledgeable hosts and a comfortable stay with every amenity. If you like 5 star luxury in manicured grounds it may not be for you, but it is representative of the laid-back aura of this side of the island.

Others have mentioned the state of the approach roads, but we found the directions clear and had no difficulty finding it in the light or navigating the potholes (admittedly quite large in some cases!) on some of the roads. Arriving at night could, however, be more of a challenge as it is VERY dark.

The B&B is set in what can only be described as a tropical jungle, with tall palms and colourful plants growing in profusion all round the house. In August we had no problem at all with mosquitos - there are hard nets at the windows so you can open the windows for the breeze if needed and the breakfast lanai is completely netted. The fan in our room was efficient and quiet. It rained most nights and yes, the noise of the coqui frogs could get annoying, but we found it to be part of the charm of staying in a jungle!

Breakfast was great - lots of tropical fruit, yogurt, home-made bread, the most delicious granola to Markie's own recipe (and when she found I didn't eat nuts, she made a portion just for me without them). The guest kitchen has everything you might need for a snack or reheating and for making drinks; we stored our own drinks in the large communal fridge and froze icepacks in the freezer. The guest lounge is a lovely comfortable place to relax, with sofas and two bookcases full of books, both novels and reference types. They ask that if you take a book, you replace it with one so there is a constantly changing library.

There is only one room on the ground floor, the Garden Room, so those with mobility issues would need to book that one. The other two, plus guest kitchen and lounge are up the outside stairs, as is the breakfast lanai.

Our room was the Orchid Room, comfortably furnished, with our own copies of several guidebooks on the coffee table. There was interesting artwork everywhere, either by Markie or by friends and the views from all the windows were of the tropical gardens. Our bathroom was beautifully handcrafted with Markie's mosaics and contained everything one could ever need. We also had access to cool boxes, beach towels & mats, boogie boards, picnic bags and many tourist attraction leaflets and recommendations. I cannot think of anything anyone could need that Jerry and Markie had not already thought of and provided.

The gardens are wonderful, and the house is only set in a small part of them - J&M will give a guided tour of the rest of the property if you ask. The resident chickens and roosters added something different! Our schedule meant that we did not use the barbeque provided at the pool for guest use, but we enjoyed a swim in the pool, especially with the waterfall running and mosaics of turtles on the bottom.

This is a wonderfully relaxing place with lovely hosts - fully recommended.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BlackpoolBelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2010

My parents and I stayed at Art & Orchids during our trip to the Big Island, and it's one of the best experiences we had during our week on the island. It's definitely one of the most memorable experiences we had, due in large part to the beautiful setting and personable hosts. Markie and Jerry take care to anticipate any questions or needs their guests may have and always look to accommodate their guests.

We benefited a great deal from the great breakfast spreads each morning; we always had delicious, backyard-grown fruits, fresh eggs, and homemade mac nut granola to look forward to. Additionally, they are more than willing to provide great suggestions for places to visit and restaurants to check out around the area. We never regretted following their suggestions and stumbled upon some real local gems as as result.

It was a comfortable stay for us, and we would return in a heartbeat given the opportunity.

  • Stayed: August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jokang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2010

My girlfriend and I stayed in the Orchid room two nights before our flight to Maui. If you are considering staying there yourself, the photos on the Art and Orchids website don't do it justice - it's far more beautiful and feels so much more homely and romantic when you see it with your own eyes. The owners have done a great job.

We were a little worried that it would be too isolated because there are no shops, bars or restaurants around (you are basically in the middle of the jungle!) without a drive. Yes, that is true, but it didn't matter. It was lovely relaxing in the common room with a glass of wine, reading one of the books or watching one of the DVDs, and reflecting upon the days activities, that we were really disappointed to leave.

It's a great base for seeing the lava, hilo, pahoa, black sand beach. And the breakfasts are great! Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Matthew M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2010

We stayed here our last two nights in Hawaii, and it was a real treat. The room was clean, attractive, and well-appointed, and breakfasts were filling, creative, and tasty. We borrowed beach towels and snorkels, and we loved the owners' artistic touches, touring recommendations, and morning conversations. Would come back in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Meg5274
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews