We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Ms”
other travelers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Stunning ocean views while dining or lounging from our wraparound lanai.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
21 reviews
Stunning ocean views while dining or lounging from our wraparound lanai.
Photo taken from our lanai
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
4 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Keaau, Island of Hawaii, Hawaii

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 21 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
moet1133
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Ms ”
Reviewed June 14, 2017 for a stay in June 2017

Nice, clean and great views!! Jim was wonderful. The house was extremely clean, each room had its on bathroom and king size bed, the house HD everything we needed from beach fee to bicycles, however it had roaches. Which he stated is common in Hawaii!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 26, 2017
In your review, you said the house was "extremely clean". We pride ourselves on our cleanliness. But, Hawaii has roaches in every home... no matter how clean it is. They are not crawling out of every nook and cranny, but they do exist. There's just no getting around it. In any warm, moist environment, you will have a few harmless roaches.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
h_m_doswa...
Rotkreuz, Switzerland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Great location for two couples”
Reviewed May 29, 2016 for a stay in April 2016

The House is in a excellent and clean condition and on a nice Place. The owner presented good information over the property and information's about the region and possibilities for visiting interesting places. We liked the porch and the view to the See.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
4buddyTra...
Sublimity, Oregon
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Beautiful Place to Stay. I'd so Live here!”
Reviewed November 28, 2015 for a stay in November 2015
1
person found this review helpful

This is the first time we stayed on this side of the Island. I was not disappointed! what a Beautiful Home, so open and clean! Comfortable clean beds! Beautiful Greenery, Flowers even tho it rained the entire 7 days we were there, we did have breaks and were able to do quite a bit. Thankfully Jim had researched what to do on the island and what to do on rainy days. Places he recommended to eat Ning's Yum! Go to: Botanical Garden <3 Akaka Falls, Rainbow Falls amazing! Heated Hot Ponds Black Sand Beach, His knowledge of the island and plants/trees was most helpful. The drive to the ponds was amazing. Like a jungle, Beautiful. The Maku'u Farmers Market the best place to get your fruit/veg gifts, and trying out all the local food!! Top notch snorkel gear! Kayak, chairs, coolers, umbrellas and towels for the beach. Wash/Dryer all the cooking utensils you need to prepare any meal. Big wrap around Lanai with a spectiular view! Listening to the waves roar lulled us to sleep! Thank you Jim for all your hard work in making this a special visit. I can not wait to come back!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Beautiful Private Home
Liked least: Leaving!
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claudiajl
Huntsville, Alabama
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great house, views and location....”
Reviewed May 6, 2015 for a stay in April 2015
2
people found this review helpful

Whale House is perfectly located in HPP to get to just about anywhere on the island. Close to grocery, dining out, and farmer's markets. The house itself is very clean, spacious, and uncluttered. Great bed; very comfortable. Lovely wrap around lanai with table, chairs, loungers, and BBQ. Kitchen has the necessary items. Ceiling fans everywhere to compliment the island breezes. Whale House is built upon a very picturesque lava flow. Ocean views are great. Crashing waves, roar of the ocean, fishing boats going out and returning every day, and lovely views of the south coastline. You will like it here. Jim and Becky are very nice and very responsive to any request. You will be happy you selected Whale House.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Watching the ocean from the lanai.
Liked least: Having to leave.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
munchkin8...
Murrieta, CA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Whale of a Deal!”
Reviewed January 20, 2015 for a stay in January 2015
2
people found this review helpful

The only thing better than the Whale House itself, was the hospitality! We felt like we had the inside scoop on all of the local things to do that most tourists would NEVER know about thanks to the Whale House Staff. The Whale House has everything to make visiting Hilo perfect, a full kitchen, comfortable beds, beautiful views, snorkel gear, kayaks, and that wonderful binder that lists all that Hilo has to offer. What a bargain! All you need to bring is the sunscreen. The Whale House is the only place I want to stay when visiting Hilo.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: all the amendities and the binder
Liked least: nothing at all
Traveling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
julie1960...
Eagle, Idaho
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Amazing Experience and Exceeded our Expectations”
Reviewed November 19, 2014 for a stay in November 2014
4
people found this review helpful

Our visit to the Whale House was incredible. The house is meticulously appointed and well maintained. No detail has been overlooked. From the well appointed kitchen to the bikes, boogie boards and kayaks, we had everything we needed at our fingertips. They even provided a detailed notebook with insider information on how to experience all the natural beauty and sights on the island.

The beds were extremely comfortable (a must as we are very particular). The ocean views from the house are amazing. You can hear the ocean while relaxing on the wrap around lanai... or walk on a very short path to the experience the beautiful coastline. We explored the trails and also used the kayaks to visit the waterfalls.

Overall, the property was everything stated on the website and MORE! Don't hesitate to visit... you won't be disappointed.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Ocean views and breezes
Liked least: Visit was too short
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dominic K
Canberra, AU
Level 6 Contributor
56 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Very pleased we chose the Whale House!”
Reviewed November 12, 2014 for a stay in October 2014
3
people found this review helpful

My wife and I were traveling with her parents and had three days on the Big Island prior to taking a cruise from Honolulu back to Sydney.

Jim's instructions for getting to the property were very helpful and easy to follow. He lives very near the Whale House and met us as we arrived. Jim was very friendly and had all kinds of useful info for us regarding things to do, places to eat, local happenings and history and lots more. He was very knowledgeable and had prepared a binder of information which we would take with us on our drives.

Unfortunately we had nowhere near enough time to do and see more than a handful of the things on the list. Also didn't get to use the bikes and kayaks etc that were provided, due to lack of time.

The Whale House is in a nice neighborhood and very quiet. We enjoyed the large living room and especially the lanai which faced east towards the ocean. The house was very clean and well-equipped. We cooked dinner on the gas BBQ grill most nights. Great to have a full laundry and kitchen rather than staying in a hotel.

Even before we arrived, we found Jim to be very responsive to our questions and comments. For example, we had mentioned that for many Aussies having a cup of hot tea first thing in the morning is an essential part of their daily ritual! When we are in the US we often miss this, as it is not really part of American culture in the same way as it is at home. American hotels etc often don't really cater for this Aussie/Brit custom by having an electric jug in the room. Anyway, by the time we arrived Jim had obtained a nice kettle which was very thoughtful and much appreciated by our party.

The Whale House is a fair way out of Hilo but there are restaurants, grocery stores etc in Pahoa just a bit further south and an unusual combination of hardware store/supermarket/liquor store even closer on Orchidland just off Hwy 130.

We found the Whale House a very convenient base to drive to Volcano National Park (and further on to Punalu'u Black Sand Beach) as well as to attractions north of Hilo such as Akaka Falls and Tropical Botanical Gardens. Maybe 20 minutes drive from Hilo airport. You can't really swim in the ocean just in front of the Whale House as there is a bit of a cliff and not a beach. However there are lots of nice places to swim without driving too far.

We highly recommend the Whale House and were very satisfied with our accommodation for the short stay on the Big Island.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing