We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic and Knowledgeable Guide”

Native Guide Hawaii
Ranked #3 of 9 things to do in Keaau
Attraction details
Naperville, Illinois
Level Contributor
92 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Fantastic and Knowledgeable Guide”
Reviewed February 3, 2014

We worked with Warren for a tour during a visit to the Big Island in June 2013. Throughout the process he was responsive and helpful as we worked out how to best utilize our time with. We ended with a tour of Volcano National Park where Warren used to be a ranger. This expertise allowed him to lead us to unique views and areas, while giving us a personally tailored education along the way. Our group of 6 had everything from a three year old to a 25 year old Zoology student to a couple in the 55+ crowd and Warren managed to tailor the content to meet everyone's desires.

The lunch he provided was tasty and healthy, easily accommodating a gluten allergy (with advanced notice).

Keep in mind the activity level of everyone in your group, and Warren will work with you to craft an excellent experience.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Eric D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    43
    2
    0
    0
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lethbridge
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Phenomenal!”
Reviewed January 27, 2014

Absolutely the best value of our trip. We had a wonderful time with Warren as he showed us around the park. We had a great time as Warren showed us things he obviously loves and finds fascinating. No question was too inane and none was met with uncertainty. We had a great time and his timing was incredible as we wandered the park. It was as if we were the only ones in the place for the most part. I can't recommend his service highly enough!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Roger M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Amazing Day”
Reviewed December 23, 2013

We had a fabulous day with Warren. He paced the day to suit our needs and showed us things that we would never have seen on our own. The lunch that he provided was excellent. Very memorable.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank BrendaandJames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach, Fl
Level Contributor
182 reviews
47 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 227 helpful votes
“Off the beaten path in Volcano National Park”
Reviewed December 16, 2013

There is usually more to a story than meets the eye. With Warren as our guide, we visited several locations in the park that we would never have visited on our own and learned so much! Warren adjusts each tour based on the interests of his guests and their physical abilities - I have a special interest in trees and we walked to an oasis of trees and endangered plants surrounded by a lava field. He also accommodated my husband's special dietary requirements for our picnic lunch. All in all, we're glad that we spent the time with Warren as it deepened our appreciation of this very special and unique national park.

On the Native Guide Hawaii website, the trip duration states a 9:00 AM pickup with an approximate return time of 4:00 PM. In my confirming email, the pickup time was set for 9:30 AM at our lodging and we were ready to go at that time. We were actually picked up just after 10 AM and returned to our lodging around 3:10 PM. I only mention this because of expectations - I questioned him about it - and he basically said it is what it is.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Journeyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange Park, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
82 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Volcano Wonders”
Reviewed September 29, 2013

We had a fantastic time with Warren Costas. What a wonderful and insightful guide. It was nice having our own personal guide to show us the beauties of Volcano National park. We were able to get away from tour buses and go to places away from the touring crowds. We loved the Native prospective . We highly recommend Warren's services.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Native Guide Hawaii also viewed

 

Been to Native Guide Hawaii? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing