We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lots of space”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Palm Villas at Mauna Lani
Waterford, Michigan
Level Contributor
67 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Lots of space”
Reviewed January 12, 2014

Part of the Outrigger:Kohala Coast Collection, this complex is located near "The Shops" of Mauna Lani and while not on the beach offers access to a private beach club which you can walk or drive to. The condo we had was F22 and it was very well appointed and overall well maintained. The Shops provides convenient, if expensive, access to restaurants and a small grocery. There is also a well kept and good sized pool here - even has a waterfall.
Other Pluses...
+ the condo is large and roomy with nice and comfortable furnishings. Ours had a King in one room, a queen in another and a trundle bed in the loft for 2 more people. With 2 baths this worked out great for 3 adults and 2 teens.
+ the beach club is great. An excellent little cove with a surf shack to rent pretty much anything you can think of (we did sea kayaks) but also there is a restaurant and good shade for when you need to get out of the sun. The walk here is nice through the historic fish ponds and lava tube paths...or you can drive over if you are pressed for time or just want to spend your energy in the surf instead of walking. Not a great surfing beach...but we are novices and we did not see much for us on all the Big Island.
+ lovely porch and you can open the house up and get great breezes. On New Years Eve we even were able to have great views of fireworks at one of the hotels (Hilton I think).
+ the pool is very nice. While we were there temps were mild and the pool water was cool. There is a Hot Tub however and it was very pleasant.
Negatives (all pretty mild in my opinion)..,
- the master bath has no door to separate the shower area from the master bed room. While very European, this is annoying when someone wants to shower early while another wants to sleep. This item is actually what lost a five star for this place. Really annoying to either shower in the dark or wake your spouse.
- not the greatest layout for some items. The fridge door knocks of anything left on the half wall next to it and sends such items tumbling down the stairs. The washer and dryer are great but the machine is not well placed in the opening so the soap drawer is hard to open and the dryer door barely clears the opening.
- the living room tv is terrible. Grainy picture and terrible sound. Nobody travels to Hawaii for watching TV but for the bit we did watch it would be nice to have something more functional.

Overall, I recommend this place highly if you looking for a great full feature place at a good price. Staying at the beach would be great but at the great price these condos go for this is an excellent alternative.

Room Tip: The condos facing west will be able to see fireworks at the hotels. A nice bonus on New Years Eve an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lsdjr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    8
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
24
8
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
24 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed December 24, 2013 via mobile

Stayed in H-23 with one other couple. Beautiful accommodations and grounds. The Ellisons are incredible stewards of their three properties and are very easy to work with. Loved the pool and hot tub area, as well as the proximity to the beach.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Amanda G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
227 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2013

Stayed in this 3 bedroom unit this september.

The location is spectacular and the unit itself was extremely well appointed.

from nice furniture to comfortable beds it is a perfect place to relax.

and remember when you stay at mauna lani resort you get access to the private beach club which is worth every penny.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JFEARN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
179 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2013

I did a lot, and I mean A LOT, of research before deciding on Palm Villas at Mauna Lani. Having stayed on Kona twice before, once at Four Seasons for a work event and another time down south at Kona Coast condos at the end of Alii, I knew what I did and did not want.

When we stayed at Kona Coast I quickly learned that I loved Alii Drive and the ambiance, shops, farmers market and dining options down south. We did not love the beach options. We would pack up and drive north to Kohala to find boogie boarding or snorkeling beaches every day. We were lucky enough to happen upon the private beach club at Mauna Lani and I promised myself the next visit to Kona I'd be able to swim there daily - and that's what we did.

VRBO provided many options for Mauna Lani condos with beach club access, reduced golf fees and use of amenities, however, we decided upon Palm Villas primarily due to the amazing owner communication and location to the beach club.

Location - The gated Palm Villas is close to the Shops @ Mauna Lani, dining, grocery store and alike. The spa is right across the street and it is a 20 minute walk (bring water) or 5 minute drive to the beach club where covered cabanas for two, nice lounge chairs and a nightly groomed beach await.

Pool | Hot Tub - There is also a private pool and hot tub for the guests of Palm Villas which is almost always empty or has one or two other people. My three teens played in it nightly (closes at 8 for kids and 9 for adults). It is surrounded by lush gardens and blends in nicely to the hawaiian landscaping.

Our Unit - We chose a top floor unit with a loft and outside bbq | lanai. We had a peak-a-boo view of the water but great sunsets from the lanai and were able to save money eating breakfast in and using the grill at night. I'll review the condo itself on the owner's VRBO site. Wonderful unit. Highly recommend H-23. He owns 3 units together and was very attentive and great at getting back to you with any questions or concerns.

Grocery - If you go to Foodland at The Shops be sure to give them your phone number (mainland number is fine) to sign up for their lower prices. All they need is your phone number and you're good to go.

Noise - Although there was some construction going on when we visited (7/11-18) it was quiet and respectful. I believe they will be done soon as they were roofing the unit when we left.

We did eat at Napua at the Beach Club and it was our best meal on island. And you can't go wrong with a bar right on the beach with you. They even have ice water and plastic cups readily available if you come up from the beach and need a quick drink of water. Other Kohala dining options proved disappointing so we headed down to Alii for more of an authentic hawaiian feel - less "resorty."

Snorkeling - Great snorkeling off the beach with lots of coral and fish to be seen. A turtle swam in every day, which was a treat. We rented stand-up paddle boards for the teens and they had a blast. You can dicker with the rental guys for reduced fees on hourly rentals so don't take the prices on the board. Showers are there, as is a lifeguard. They do come around daily to ask where you are staying to track visitors but are quick and efficient. Truly and amazing beach and all I cared about when booking this trip was ensuring full access to it for lazy days in the sun.

If your goal is to lounge on the best beach on island, with very little people, groomed beach, covered lounge chairs, a restaurant and bar on site and a rental shop right there (stand up paddleboards, kayaks, etc) then Palm Villas is perfect. Truly amazing luxury and NOT luxury prices.

Mahalo, Palm Villas, for an amazing trip.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
4 Thank ttshutterbug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2013

There are very few reviews of this place so hopefully my input helps someone. The complex is very small, as previously noted, so this may be why. This also means it is very quiet. We saw one neighbor in our whole 2 week stay.

We didn't use the pool or fitness room, so I can't comment on that, but the Beach Club is somewhere we spent almost every day of our trip. One of the best snorkeling sites on the island and Napua is a nice restaurant to boot.

The lanais all seem to be equipped with a wet bar and grill which was SO convenient for evening meals. The units vary in decoration but we loved the one we had - it was stocked with all conveniences and then some.

THere is some construction going on during the weekdays in the adjacent buildings but honestly It never bothered us.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank alohamakena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nanaimo, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2012

We had 2 units in this complex of townhomes and were quite happy with them. They were very well equiped and well laid out. The pool area is lovely and the gardens seem to be well maintained. We did notice the ongoing work on some of the units as a result of poor building practices but had no issues in units F22 and G22. Our main issue was with the lack of an available manager. We went to the pool in the evening and discovered all the pathway lighting to be out. When I phoned Outrigger they really didn't know when someone would fix them. Seemed more like distant management. It took two days before some of the lights were replaced. None of the tree lights were fixed. Other than that we were very comfortable and very happy with the location and amenities. The Foodland market in the Kings Shops was spectacular and the choice of restaurants was wonderful. We will stay in this area again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Katfowler40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
47 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2012

My wife and I just returned from a 2 week stay on the Big Island - with 10 days at the Palm Villas. Overall we were very satisfies with the facility. Our condo was in very good condition. We liked the fact that there are only 44 units - so it was generally very quiet - and we often had the pool to ourselves. The Beach Club which we were given access to was a real surprise. It is a great small beach and was easy to get to by 10 minute walk or 2 minute drive. The bar and restaurant on the beach were both a welcome and unexpected addition. We found the overall location to be quite good - with easy access to nearby quality restaurants. Would rent again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank senatorsguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Waimea
4.7 mi away
Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel
1.0 mi away
Kings' Land by Hilton Grand Vacations
5.2 mi away
Mauna Kea Beach Hotel, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Mauna Lani Bay Hotel & Bungalows
0.8 mi away
Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii
1.9 mi away
Hilton Waikoloa Village
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palm Villas at Mauna Lani? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palm Villas at Mauna Lani

Property: Palm Villas at Mauna Lani
Address: 68-1376 S Pauoa Rd, Waimea, Island of Hawaii, HI 96743-7770
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Waimea
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Specialty Lodging in Waimea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Palm Villas at Mauna Lani 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Palm Villas at Mauna Lani reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palm Villas At Mauna Lani Hotel Waimea

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing