We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great family vacation”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Palm Villas at Mauna Lani
Nanaimo, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great family vacation”
Reviewed November 11, 2012

We had 2 units in this complex of townhomes and were quite happy with them. They were very well equiped and well laid out. The pool area is lovely and the gardens seem to be well maintained. We did notice the ongoing work on some of the units as a result of poor building practices but had no issues in units F22 and G22. Our main issue was with the lack of an available manager. We went to the pool in the evening and discovered all the pathway lighting to be out. When I phoned Outrigger they really didn't know when someone would fix them. Seemed more like distant management. It took two days before some of the lights were replaced. None of the tree lights were fixed. Other than that we were very comfortable and very happy with the location and amenities. The Foodland market in the Kings Shops was spectacular and the choice of restaurants was wonderful. We will stay in this area again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Katfowler40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    8
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
24
8
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2012

My wife and I just returned from a 2 week stay on the Big Island - with 10 days at the Palm Villas. Overall we were very satisfies with the facility. Our condo was in very good condition. We liked the fact that there are only 44 units - so it was generally very quiet - and we often had the pool to ourselves. The Beach Club which we were given access to was a real surprise. It is a great small beach and was easy to get to by 10 minute walk or 2 minute drive. The bar and restaurant on the beach were both a welcome and unexpected addition. We found the overall location to be quite good - with easy access to nearby quality restaurants. Would rent again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank senatorsguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent, WA
Level 5 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2012

My wife and I just returned from a 10 day stay in The H-4 Unit of Palm Villas on the Kohala Coast with my son and his fiance. This was our 8th trip to the islands and we have stayed in all manner of hotels, condos, and private residences. Thi stay was as close to perfect as we have ever found.
Arthur Ellison, the owner has gone way above the norm to assure a first claas experience in his home on the Big Island. The furniture, appliances, furnishings, and even the plentiful artwork, are all first-class. His attention to detail is incredible. Everything from labeled electrical switches, flat screens in all bedrooms, flashlites in every conceivable location...right down to having his cell phone (and those of his local property managers) programmed with a special ring when calling from the condos landline.
I could have left a third of the things I always pack at home had I known how extensive the amenities were here. Things like first aid kit, binoculars, rolling coolers, backpacks, extra swimsuit, snokel gear in three adult sizes and kids sizes, water noodles, boogie boards, and all manner od sand toys.
My only problem will be trying to find a equalvalent property on Kauai when we travel there in two years.
Thank You Arthur for a perfect vacation!

Room Tip: Mr. Ellison also owns two adjacent condos H-3 and H-23 in the same building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank gr8yt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Queensland
Level 5 Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2012

Our unit (we had an F numbered unit facing the pool area) was absolutely fantastic - beautiful loft, 3 bedrooms, 2 bathrooms, and a really well equipped kitchen. Everything you could possibly need was provided, including cleaning products, paper towels, lots and lots of towels, beach chairs, boogie board. The villas are in a very quiet area (I have never had a better sleep in my life), which we loved, but may not suit everyone. They are a bit isolated - we ended up driving to the beach, shops, etc. With respect to beaches, there is snorkeling at the Beach Club (access card included with rental), and it's a 10 minute drive north to Hapuna Beach (for boogie boarding if conditions permit) and to Puako (for snorkeling). Anaeho'omalu Beach to the south is just so-so. Make sure you walk through the fishponds, just next to the beach club. They are delightful. The food store at Mauna Lani shops is quite reasonable. If you quote your unit's phone number, you'll be eligible for some terrific discounts.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank benandted
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2011

I didn't quite know what to expect with this accomodation as we were first timers to Hawaii and the Big Island. Wow it was beautiful. My only regret was we only had two nights at this beautiful villa, next time will go back for a week as i told the lady on checking out.
Its great value for money, large and well done to five star standard. We were in an F numbered villa opposite the pool complex which was empty a lot of the time, we enjoyed using the pool and spa to ourselves. Our villa had ample room for us and our 3 yr old. You could fit two couples and a couple of kids in these villas. The kitchen was amazing and had everything you need. Also was thrilled to find beach toys, boogie boards, umbrella... etc. And we loved the ensuite bathroom, best of our whole trip.
We were very comfortable here and did not want to leave.
The balcony overlooked the lava fields which was novel. Gorgeous grounds and gardens in this whole area. The beach was a bit of a walk through the interesting lava field and we had use of the beach club where we ended up the whole day at the lovely beach with great snorkelling. I saw a turtle! Also had lunch here and it was decently priced.
Overall highly recommend it but go for a week!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank UKCathy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burbank, CA
Level 6 Contributor
86 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2011

We found unit C-2 on VRBO, it is a three bedroom condo that is on the first floor next to the entrance to the waterfall pool and jacuzzi. Our family of 6 found the pool empty most of the time during our 10 day stay. The complex has lush landscape and a small fitness room. We chose this complex because it is a 10-15 minute walk to the beach and a 10 minute walk to restaurants, shops and a market. The shops area also have a weekly hula show and Hawaiian crafts during the week, check schedule for details.
The owners of the condo were very pleasant to work with and attentive. The condo was very clean and exceeded our expectations. There were many little things that were included in the condo like: beach towels, coffee beans, soap, dishwasher soap, cooler for beach, beach chairs, toilet paper, etc.
We traveled to A Bay, Mauna Kea, Hapuna Beach, Black Sand Beach in the Golf Villas, and always liked the Private Beach Club best. It was so nice to have the borrowed beach club card access, where some could walk to the beach and others could drive with all the stuff. The beach club has chairs and covered cabanas for its guests. We never had to wait for chairs and liked knowing that there was a lifeguard on duty. My kids were able to learn to paddle board and had a great time building sand castles for their hermit crabs. We went snorkeling right off the beach and enjoyed the water clarity and extensive coral and fish. The beach club has a restaurant and bar that is open for lunch and dinner that we frequented numerous times during our stay.
In sum, I would return to this resort and recommend it to others.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Mugspaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level 5 Contributor
33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2011

We stayed in unit E-2. It was beautifully furnished, ground floor, and the pool was out the front door. We had many meals on the lanai. We could walk to the beach or drive and we could walk to the shops as well. There were people in the unit next to us but we never heard them. Many times we had the pool all to ourselves - I couldn't believe it! It was a terrific place to stay. We were here for 6 nights with kids 9, 11 and 14. Lots of beach toys and boogie boards available for our use, too.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank katiekinsmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Waimea
4.7 mi away
Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel
1.0 mi away
Kings' Land by Hilton Grand Vacations
5.2 mi away
Mauna Kea Beach Hotel, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Mauna Lani Bay Hotel & Bungalows
0.8 mi away
Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii
1.9 mi away
Hilton Waikoloa Village
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palm Villas at Mauna Lani? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palm Villas at Mauna Lani

Property: Palm Villas at Mauna Lani
Address: 68-1376 S Pauoa Rd, Waimea, Island of Hawaii, HI 96743-7770
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Waimea
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Specialty Lodging in Waimea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Palm Villas at Mauna Lani 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Palm Villas at Mauna Lani reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palm Villas At Mauna Lani Hotel Waimea

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing