We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Mauna Lani Terrace A204 - Perfect Choice!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Mauna Lani Terrace Condominiums
Berwyn, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Mauna Lani Terrace A204 - Perfect Choice!”
Reviewed September 28, 2012

We have had a number of wonderful past experiences at the Mauna Lani Resort and renting at the Terrace’s through the resort. However this trip in an effort to manage costs, we opted to rent outside of the resort and found Waikoloa Vacation Rental Management on the web. Rob and Ann were great, very responsive, and they placed us in MLT A204 a 3 bedroom, two-story condo that was perfect because we were a party of 7 (two families with teenagers).

The unit was in very good condition and well outfitted for our needs with plenty of bath and beach towels, kitchen items and bath toiletries. There was even a package of Kona coffee waiting for us after the long haul from the east coast. The washer and dryer were in good working order and a nice luxury to have in the unit. We opted not to have maid service for the week simply because we didn’t want to have to hound 3 teen boys to pick up…remember this is vacation! We did request a rollaway bed and it was already in the unit when we arrived. It was nice that the unit had wireless WIFI with no additional cost. There was plenty of space to spread out when teens needed space and great space to hang out as friends/family. The views from the lanai were Hawaii perfect and the most popular place in the unit.

Less than a 5-minute drive from the unit is the Foodland Farms grocery store, very convenient, and had all the food and non-food items we needed during our stay, including wine, beer and spirits too. There are a number of other shopping and dining options outside Mauna Lani Drive as well. We used the Beach Club and the various amenities of the ML resort property including the tennis, golf, walk trails and dining. Seeing the green sea turtles sunning themselves on the beach was a priceless experience.

It was a great vacation and we will be back to the Big Island! I look forward to when WVRM has properties on Oahu!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Melissa R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    14
    7
    4
    3
See reviews for
45
29
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2012

We booked this condo through South Kohala Management and it was smooth as could be. We rented J202 and had a spacious 2 bedroom, 2.5 bath condo. We loved our week there and the lanais were perfect for relaxing, dining, and the sunset view. We had never been to this part of the Big Island and the weather was perfect. This unit had quite nice appliances, plenty of soap, towels, maid service twice a week, and our own washing machine and dryer if we wanted to use it. We did some sightseeing to the farthest Northern part of the island as well as down to Kona and points South. We dined at the Mauna Lani Bay Hotel and had the Beach Club privileges where we swam and basked in the sun. As usual Hawaii is a place I didn't want to leave. The Terraces are a gated community with some permanent residents also. We were so happy to spend a week here.

Room Tip: The second floor views and 4 lanais were perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mscanary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, CA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2012

I am having a wonderful time here at the Mauna Lani Terrace. After a previous VRBO booking disaster (AC stopped working and there was no one there to help - but that's another story) we decided to book through a management company. We went with South Kohala Managent, and are glad that we did. The staff has been very helpful and friendly, and have a great understanding of the area and where the best places are to visit (Pololu Valley and the Volcano are two must see locations!)

The Mauna Lani Terrace is right in the middle of everything. The units are perfect for anyone who wants to be close to the beach, the Hawaiian fish ponds and the main hotel without paying a fortune. The beach club was a short walk away and was a perfect place to tan and grab lunch. And bring water masks because the snorkeling just off the beach is amazing.

The D-building at the Terrace has a great view of the sunset every evening.

South Kohala Management has made our stay very comfortable. The only issue we have had was with the microwave oven (it got stuck on a setting that turned it into an oven and not a microwave). After calling South Kohala Management we had someone in our unit fixing the problem within five minutes. There office is at the terrace, so there are always staff nearby if you need any help.

I would reccomend South Kohala Management, and the Mauna Lani Terrace to anyone who wants to spend some time in paradise.

Room Tip: If you want to reserve one of the big outdoor BBQ's (which are free, but you need to put down a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WestboundLD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ft Worth. TX
Level Contributor
248 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 168 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2012

We stayed in H302, an absolutely lovely unit with a view over the swimming pool and the fish ponds out to the ocean beyond. Perfect for 2 couples . . .2 bedrooms, 21/2 baths, lanai across front of living room and the 2 bedrooms. Beautiful furnishings and added amenities to include soap for the washing machine and dishwasher, bottle of wine, pineapple, and a pound of Kona coffee beans. Wonderful kitchen with every convenience. The owner was extremely helpful in answering questions and the gal who manages his property is a gem. We found this through VRBO. Could not have hoped for more. Would definitely return. The price for the week for 2 couples was $4000 . . .high but worth it!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vanam1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, New York
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2012

Unit F202. Generally a very nice complex and unit. Some of the furniture choices were a bit dated and below the standard I'd expect in a unit like this. And there is an ant problem in this particular unit - particularly in the kitchen and master bathroom/bedroom. But the complex and view were great. Wonderful snorkeling at the Mauna Lani Beach Club. Small, semi private beach.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mrs B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2011

Unit: K-301.

First the good: Lovely setting. Roomy terrace overlooks palm-fringed fish ponds with a glimpse of ocean. No roads or cars in sight. Easy walk to private beach club, spa, and workout facilities.

Now the mediocre: Unit has a very '70's feel. It's been well maintained, but not updated, and it shows in the worn wood (of which there is a lot), tiled kitchen counters, and old bathroom fixtures. I think it was designed when Americans were fascinated with Japanese culture; it has wooden louvered sliding doors throughout. I found it a bit dark for my taste. There was significant grounds maintenance going on while we were there, including two extremely noisy days of tree care, and a day where we were asked to be absent for "pest control". We only had 1 day's notice, and sadly, it was one of the few days that we'd planned to sleep in and hang out for the morning.

For my dollar, I prefer a more modern unit with a less spectacular view, but I'm generally out doing things during daylight hours. If you want a place with a great view and nice lanai to enjoy it, you might like it.

Room Tip: You should be comfortable with stairs. 1st-floor units have stairs going down, 2nd and 3rd have sta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank TriTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wyandotte, Michigan
Level Contributor
36 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2011

My husband and I spent a week in this quiet, beautiful complex in September 2011. We booked with South Kohala Management, and found every step of the process to be friendly and easy. The SKM staff was helpful and knowledgeable about our unit, the complex and the general area. We stayed in a recently updated, immaculate one-bedroom unit that was furnished beautifully, and included a well-equipped gourmet kitchen and two full baths. The lovely and relaxing lanai was accessible from both rooms. We could walk to the beach, stroll around the fish ponds, watch incredible sunsets, and drive for a few minutes for groceries and restaurants. In addition there are restaurants and activities at the two beautiful hotels at the Mauna Lani resort. The golf course and public areas were beautifully maintained. We definitely will return!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jill-Doug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Waimea
4.6 mi away
Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel
5.1 mi away
Mauna Kea Beach Hotel, Autograph Collection
1.2 mi away
Kings' Land by Hilton Grand Vacations
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Mauna Lani Bay Hotel & Bungalows
0.7 mi away
Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii
1.9 mi away
Hilton Waikoloa Village
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mauna Lani Terrace Condominiums? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mauna Lani Terrace Condominiums

Property: Mauna Lani Terrace Condominiums
Address: 69 Mauna Lani Dr # 1399, Waimea, Island of Hawaii, HI 96743
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Waimea
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Specialty Lodging in Waimea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Mauna Lani Terrace Condominiums 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Vacatia, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your Mauna Lani Terrace Condominiums reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mauna Lani Terrace Condominiums Hotel Waimea

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing