We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst place we have ever stayed!”
Review of Kamuela Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Waimea
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Kamuela Inn
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Waimea
Reviewed July 24, 2009

We can not recommend this place! We booked a room with a kitchenette and was given a 99$ room, (thats sleeps 4), even though 89$ rooms (sleeps 3) existed. We had informed that we were only two people. The room had a musty smell to it and was very dirty! The kitchen had no extraction fan which resulted in sticky surfaces throughout the room. The beds were cramed into the two rooms, with the double bed in the kitchen part that contained a very noisy fridge. We actually moved around the two single beds in the other room to form a double (with a few surprises behind the beds). Look at the pics!
If you decide to stay here anyway, at least ask for their renovated rooms, which might be better?

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank thomasaplin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (371)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

331 - 337 of 371 reviews

Reviewed July 20, 2009

This is a clean inn that is low key, but a great place to enjoy The Big Island. Granted, it is not a super luxury five star resort but at $80 Kamaina rate per night it is a deal. This would not even cover the Tax and Resort fees in Waikaloa. Kamuela is a very upscale mountain ranch area with tasty local restaurants among the multi-million dollar homes. You can be at the beach in about 25 minutes.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RexMundo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2009

If you are looking for a fancy honeymoon resort type place this is not it. The place is very cozy and pretty quiet (off of the main road). I'm not sure why there are comments about staff being rude or roaches cause I didn't have that experience. I would definitely stay here again based on overall location and price.

Basically for about $55 bucks per night for a standard room you can just crash and relax, watch a bit of T.V. and catch up on your internet and get a good shower and nights rest for the next days adventure but not a room you want to hang out in all day.

Downsides for Kamuela are:
-Not close to the beach but you'll pay allot extra for that.
-Needs black out curtains on front windows (I stretch a blanket across the window)
-Bring your own shampoo
-Bed linens and pillows are acceptable but not fancy
-Continental breakfast and coffee service a bit stingy and nothing to write home about
-Little hard to find (watch for sign cause you can't see main building from road)

Upsides for Kamuela are:
-Maid service daily (very flexible arround your schedule)
-Free internet (when working, ha) and cable T.V.
-Kitchenettes and larger room suites are available
-Cleanliness good for an older hotel.
-Pretty quiet being off of main road (but daytime dog barking and maid noise)
-Much cooler weather (vs. hot sunny Waikoloa)
-Pretty close to shops and dining in Waimea
-A bargain compared to resort hotels (but you get what you pay for).

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheodoreJay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2009

Aloha!
We went to Waimea to attend my Aunts' 80 birthday party! We had alot of our family members staying at the inn, so it was nice and cozy!
We stayed in the Maunakea Wing which is a newer side of the property and we had nice, clean, spacious room. The sitting area was located outside, and the coffee/ pastry area was down the hallway.The coffee area opens at 7:05am and had a assortment of muffins, bagles, juice and coffee.Nice to get you started on your day! The town of Waimea is close so you can go and grab a bigger breakfast later on .
The staff were very nice and helpful!
The weather was cool and crisp, a nice weekend get way from Oahu!
Would stay again we love Waimea!
Mahalo and a hui hou to Lee and Staff

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chickie73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2009

We stayed at the motel on Sat. March 7. We thought our room was very cute (Mauna Kea Wing) as were the sitting areas. Yes, it smelled a bit musty, but it was clean and comfortable, and that was all we needed. Avoid the pop machine though, my Diet Pepsi was dated June 2007! Good BBQ nearby at Hula Sue's.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank buddyboyAlexandria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2009

We stayed at this motel for 3 nights. The country town Waimea has not that much to do, but from there we went to Maune Kea. We had a spacious room with kitchen. The Kamuela Inn is priced good, but our room was pretty dirty (especially the kitchen). This motel is fine for people with a budget.

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Ingriddv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2008

My son and I enjoy our stays at the Kamuela Inn. Your staff have always been so nice to us. We checked in last evening and Lee was very nice. So was Wena when we checked out this morning. I was reluctant to leave because I wanted to stay another night to check out the New Year scene in Waimea. I wanted to let you know that the several times we stayed at your establishment were without incident each time; our room have always been clean and comfortable. Oh, Lee, get this: "Your beds are sooo much better than King Kam's!!! NO, I'm NOT kidding!!"

Your location is possibly the best. Everything we possibly need are close by...fine dining, grocery store, Hawaiian Style Cafe! Did I forget to mention, The Park? My son wakes at 4am and goes for his morning jog in the park. If we want to eat french fries, we walk to McDonald's in the shopping center! The Inn reminds me of times past, the older Hawaii when times were simpler and more family oriented. We find pleasure staying there and when we retreat to our room in the evening we know we'll enjoy a quiet peaceful night of good rest. The only thing? The parking spaces are too narrow!

When we need to get away from stress of work and just plain craziness, we take a break by staying there at Kamuela Inn. It is our #1...no matter what anybody says. You have the best Continental Breakfast ever!! We'll see you all soon!

Stayed: December 2008
1  Thank Ululani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Waimea
9.8 mi away
Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel
45.8 mi away
Arnott's Lodge
Arnott's Lodge
#1 of 7 in Hilo
598 reviews
17.9 mi away
Kohala Village Inn
Kohala Village Inn
#1 of 1 in Hawi
47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.8 mi away
Mauna Kea Beach Hotel, Autograph Collection
14.2 mi away
Honoka'a Club
Honoka'a Club
#1 of 1 in Honokaa
83 reviews
13.1 mi away
Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kamuela Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kamuela Inn

Address: 65-1300 Kawaihae Rd, Waimea, Island of Hawaii, HI 96743
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Waimea
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Waimea
Price Range: $79 - $189 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kamuela Inn is a 30-room boutique hotel in the heart of Waimea on the island of Hawaii. Located just a 45-minute drive from the Keahole Airport in Kailua-Kona, and hour's drive from the Hilo Airport, Kamuela Inn serves as a great spot for visiting all that the island has to offer. Serving a daily complimentary continental breakfast, our guests start their day off right with a delicious selection of pastries, breads, cereals, oatmeal, fresh fruit, boiled eggs and of course, the famous Roy's Kona Coffee blend. Guests also can't stop raving about their beautiful night's sleep on our Simmon's Felicity pillowtop beds and Natural Comfort allergen free pillows, and being snuggled in our soft Comfy sheets. There's just too much to share. Just come and visit us and see for yourself! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Kamuela Hotel Waimea

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing