We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unit #220”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Villages At Mauna Lani
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Waimea
Fremont, California
Level 4 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Unit #220”
Reviewed July 31, 2014

We enjoyed our stay in unit #220. The owner was a bit fussy about the AC. Unfortunately we were there when there was no trade winds at all. So it would have been nice to freely use the A/C. Other than that the unit was great. It is great for multiple couples. Each room had privacy. I would also note that the fourth bedroom only has a slider so it would be better suited for children. It was also nice to be able to park our car in the garage. The owner also provided beach chairs, towels, and a cooler. Will stay again.

Room Tip: Just note that this was not a hotel. The unit was private. The back lanai over-looked a small putt...
See more room tips
Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Laura Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    9
    0
    1
    1
See reviews for
11
1
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level 6 Contributor
97 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2014

Lots of properties to choose from, but we've had some great ones. Mostly individually owned so the standard of the interiors will vary. The development is walking distance to so much; restaurants, tennis, shops, grocery store, beach, pool and fitness center. Golf is a short drive.

Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Chwarae422
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2014 via mobile

We stayed at Unit #205 (as my husband did the Ironman this 5/31/2014) and we highly recommend it. The unit is tastefully furnished and bursting with all the amenities you'll need. Everything was in good working condition: hot water, air conditioning, washer/dryer, stovetop, toilets, tubs, etc.

Kathi the house assistant was a gem! She visited us on our 2nd day and explained how to operate all the facilities / equipment. When I reported that the coffee machine didn't work, she promptly brought a French press and coffee percolator. Denise, the house manager is very straightforward to deal with.

We were a family traveling with 3 kids and were with other families & couples that all rented units in the Mauna Lani Villages. I have to say, ours was the most fully equipped! There were tons of towels (rationed in other units, ie: 2 per room only), beach towels, beach chairs, bikes, beach umbrellas, mattresses, lots of extra bed sheets, pillows. There was even a kayak! The unit owner provides toilet paper, kitchen tissue, laundry detergent, washing machine liquid, liquid hand wash. The unit owner was considerate enough to not leave their car in the garage so we were able to park our car indoors. Other friends complained that they could not use their garage as it was locked with a vehicle inside.

The Ironman bike route loops in front of the entrance gate of the property and it was precious being able to put lounge chairs out front and cheer for the triathletes! The Villages is also 5 mins away from the Fairmont where the Ironman finish line is.

The reason why I rated it 4 stars and not 5 stars is because on my personal rating scale, 5 stars is for uber luxurious resorts / hotels. Nonetheless, Unit #205 is stylish, comfortable, fully equipped, well maintained with great service from Kathi (who lives in Mauna Lani Villages too!). We would definitely rent this unit again if we go back to Kona!

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank FAtienza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christina Lake, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2014

As the other reviews stated these unit are beautiful and spacious. Three master suits have beautiful bathrooms and tvs in every room it is nice to have space for everyone. We thought we were renting a unit close to the pool and we were only a short distance but you cannot walk across the green space in this complex you must stay on the street so the pool was quite a walk in the end. The reason for the poor rating is the service or lack of it we received. When we arrived we did not have any hot water. My husband called the maintanance person and my husband was instructed him to re set the hot water tank. When we inspected the hot water tank it was obvious it was in the middle of being worked on. The panel was removed and tools were left on the tank so the owners knew there was a problem and rented it this way. We called the agent and asked to get someone in to fix the tank but no one ever came. So every morning we were without hot water until my husband re set the tank. Then the water would heat all day and become scalding until the tank shut off again obviously something was wrong with the thermostat. To re set he tank you needed to push a button that was right beside a warning and live wires inside the panel on the tank. We did this everyday of our trip because no one came to fix it. We made numerous calls and emails to maintenance and the rental agent. At the end of our vacation we asked for a percentage of our rental returned and were denied. This is unacceptable to be dealing with maintance issues on our vacation.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
20 Thank ajkri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level 6 Contributor
47 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2012

Just returned from a week at the Villages At Mauna Lani and had a great time. Beautiful home and property! We stayed in unit #321 and found it to be in perfect condition and it offered everything we needed for our stay. Our unit was through South Kohala Management and they made sure everything was perfect. Like others have said, it's close enough to the Shops At Mauna Lani so you can walk to the store or out to dinner. Also, being able to use the private Mauna Lani Beach Club was fantastic, we loved the beach so much we never even used the community swimming pool. Hope to return soon!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Clint1583
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2010

We discovered this area in 2006 & have returned every spring since with family. Each "condo" is actually a full-sized, beautiful, elegant home, attached by one wall, duplex style. We have rented several. (Owned by individual people, some units may be in better shape than others.) These are a huge cut above traditional condo rentals. The area is gated and next to a nice, small grocery store & other shops, including Tommy Bahama retail & restaurant. Within walking distance is the Fairmont Orchid, and the other direction is the peaceful Mauna Lani Resort. It is an easy drive to beaches & jungles. Much, much nicer than the Hilton Condo area. More like a home you would purchase if you could. The neighborhood is quiet and well-maintained. It has a mature, dignified feeling, & makes our yearly trip to the Big Island the perfect escape.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank COArtist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tacoma, WA
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2009

Last week we checked into condo 329 at the Villages and found it to be beautiful but poorly maintained. When we checked in the air conditioning had been on all day but it was 89 degrees in the condo. We had the management company come over to check it out and she finally agreed to bring an HVAC pro in that night even though it was time and a half. He found all the filters were totally plugged which was the main problem. That resolved the air issue.

We also found and showed the management company a smoke detector that was hanging from the ceiling with two wires and we don't know if it was functional or not. That was never fixed.

The master bath had a beautiful jacuzzi tub but the plug was pulled out and couldn't be re-engaged so the tub was useless.

Very nice kitchen with two drawer type dishwashers. The bottom one didn't work properly and wouldn't clean dishes. Very nich flat cooktop with directions to clean it only with special cleaner - of course there wasn't any there.

To sum it up.....management company should be fired by owner. Their value is being degraded.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
14 Thank Travels_Widely
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Waimea
4.2 mi away
Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel
4.8 mi away
Mauna Kea Beach Hotel, Autograph Collection
21.4 mi away
Hawaii Island Retreat at Ahu Pohaku Ho`omaluhia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii
0.8 mi away
Mauna Lani Bay Hotel & Bungalows
2.5 mi away
Hilton Waikoloa Village
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villages At Mauna Lani? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villages At Mauna Lani

Property: Villages At Mauna Lani
Address: 68-1025 N Kaniku Dr, Waimea, Island of Hawaii, HI 96743-8780
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Waimea
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Waimea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Villages At Mauna Lani 4.5*
Number of rooms: 214
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cancelon, Hotwire, Booking.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Villages At Mauna Lani reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villages At Mauna Lani Hotel Waimea

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing