We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Great location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villages At Mauna Lani

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Villages At Mauna Lani
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Waimea
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
97 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Great location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

Lots of properties to choose from, but we've had some great ones. Mostly individually owned so the standard of the interiors will vary. The development is walking distance to so much; restaurants, tennis, shops, grocery store, beach, pool and fitness center. Golf is a short drive.

Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Chwarae422
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

11 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    5
    0
    1
    1
See reviews for
7
1
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
28 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014 via mobile

We stayed at Unit #205 (as my husband did the Ironman this 5/31/2014) and we highly recommend it. The unit is tastefully furnished and bursting with all the amenities you'll need. Everything was in good working condition: hot water, air conditioning, washer/dryer, stovetop, toilets, tubs, etc.

Kathi the house assistant was a gem! She visited us on our 2nd day and explained how to operate all the facilities / equipment. When I reported that the coffee machine didn't work, she promptly brought a French press and coffee percolator. Denise, the house manager is very straightforward to deal with.

We were a family traveling with 3 kids and were with other families & couples that all rented units in the Mauna Lani Villages. I have to say, ours was the most fully equipped! There were tons of towels (rationed in other units, ie: 2 per room only), beach towels, beach chairs, bikes, beach umbrellas, mattresses, lots of extra bed sheets, pillows. There was even a kayak! The unit owner provides toilet paper, kitchen tissue, laundry detergent, washing machine liquid, liquid hand wash. The unit owner was considerate enough to not leave their car in the garage so we were able to park our car indoors. Other friends complained that they could not use their garage as it was locked with a vehicle inside.

The Ironman bike route loops in front of the entrance gate of the property and it was precious being able to put lounge chairs out front and cheer for the triathletes! The Villages is also 5 mins away from the Fairmont where the Ironman finish line is.

The reason why I rated it 4 stars and not 5 stars is because on my personal rating scale, 5 stars is for uber luxurious resorts / hotels. Nonetheless, Unit #205 is stylish, comfortable, fully equipped, well maintained with great service from Kathi (who lives in Mauna Lani Villages too!). We would definitely rent this unit again if we go back to Kona!

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank FAtienza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christina Lake, Canada
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014

As the other reviews stated these unit are beautiful and spacious. Three master suits have beautiful bathrooms and tvs in every room it is nice to have space for everyone. We thought we were renting a unit close to the pool and we were only a short distance but you cannot walk across the green space in this complex you must stay on the street so the pool was quite a walk in the end. The reason for the poor rating is the service or lack of it we received. When we arrived we did not have any hot water. My husband called the maintanance person and my husband was instructed him to re set the hot water tank. When we inspected the hot water tank it was obvious it was in the middle of being worked on. The panel was removed and tools were left on the tank so the owners knew there was a problem and rented it this way. We called the agent and asked to get someone in to fix the tank but no one ever came. So every morning we were without hot water until my husband re set the tank. Then the water would heat all day and become scalding until the tank shut off again obviously something was wrong with the thermostat. To re set he tank you needed to push a button that was right beside a warning and live wires inside the panel on the tank. We did this everyday of our trip because no one came to fix it. We made numerous calls and emails to maintenance and the rental agent. At the end of our vacation we asked for a percentage of our rental returned and were denied. This is unacceptable to be dealing with maintance issues on our vacation.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
20 Thank ajkri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
41 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012

Just returned from a week at the Villages At Mauna Lani and had a great time. Beautiful home and property! We stayed in unit #321 and found it to be in perfect condition and it offered everything we needed for our stay. Our unit was through South Kohala Management and they made sure everything was perfect. Like others have said, it's close enough to the Shops At Mauna Lani so you can walk to the store or out to dinner. Also, being able to use the private Mauna Lani Beach Club was fantastic, we loved the beach so much we never even used the community swimming pool. Hope to return soon!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Clint1583
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Level Contributor
77 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2010

We discovered this area in 2006 & have returned every spring since with family. Each "condo" is actually a full-sized, beautiful, elegant home, attached by one wall, duplex style. We have rented several. (Owned by individual people, some units may be in better shape than others.) These are a huge cut above traditional condo rentals. The area is gated and next to a nice, small grocery store & other shops, including Tommy Bahama retail & restaurant. Within walking distance is the Fairmont Orchid, and the other direction is the peaceful Mauna Lani Resort. It is an easy drive to beaches & jungles. Much, much nicer than the Hilton Condo area. More like a home you would purchase if you could. The neighborhood is quiet and well-maintained. It has a mature, dignified feeling, & makes our yearly trip to the Big Island the perfect escape.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank COArtist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tacoma, WA
Level Contributor
32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2009

Last week we checked into condo 329 at the Villages and found it to be beautiful but poorly maintained. When we checked in the air conditioning had been on all day but it was 89 degrees in the condo. We had the management company come over to check it out and she finally agreed to bring an HVAC pro in that night even though it was time and a half. He found all the filters were totally plugged which was the main problem. That resolved the air issue.

We also found and showed the management company a smoke detector that was hanging from the ceiling with two wires and we don't know if it was functional or not. That was never fixed.

The master bath had a beautiful jacuzzi tub but the plug was pulled out and couldn't be re-engaged so the tub was useless.

Very nice kitchen with two drawer type dishwashers. The bottom one didn't work properly and wouldn't clean dishes. Very nich flat cooktop with directions to clean it only with special cleaner - of course there wasn't any there.

To sum it up.....management company should be fired by owner. Their value is being degraded.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
14 Thank Travels_Widely
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Jolla, California
Level Contributor
83 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 181 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2007

We booked this condo through VRBO and saved about 40%. We received outstanding service.

This complex is located next to a fairly upscale shopping center that was in the process of opening (similar to Kings shops, or Shops at Wailea). It is a good walk to the Mauna Lani or the Fairmont, but we used the Fairmont's shuttle, which will pick you up at the shops and drop you at your condo for free. It is not an easy walk to the beach from the condos, but we would get there on our morning walks.

The complex is gated and has a decent pool and jacuzzi. The homes are essentiall duplexes, but they really feel like single family homes. Ours was 2700 sq feet plus three lanais and an attached two car garage.

There were two master suites, which is wonderful for couples traveling together: no one gets short changed. Each bathroom was beautiful, with marble, granite, etc, and rivaled some hotel rooms in size. The third bedroom had its own attached bath and walk in closet as well. Even the laundry ROOM--not just a closet--was gorgeous. My brother utilized the downsstairs built in desk which was basically his office for the trip.

The kitchen was beautiful with a subzero fridge, drawer sytle dishwasher and granite counter tops. On the lanai there was a built in stainless steel BBQ with a refrig that was OURS alone to use. We had peak ocean and golf course views.

We were a quick drive to some beautiful beaches (Hapuna, Mauna Kea) and we enjoyed some resort style amenities. You get to use the Beach Club which is basically access to a parking lot right next to a small beach with a restaurant on it, but we really liked it for a quick trip to a beach and we enjoyed the bar at the restaurant (Lava flows on the beach).

These condos were the nicest I have ever stayed in and I don't know if I can even think of a resort that had nicer accomodations. My family was thrilled with what I had booked. I would definately stay here again.

Disadvantages are that you aren't a quick walk to a great beach, but you are just minutes by car.

  • Stayed June 2007
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
12 Thank solomentehawaii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Waimea
4.3 mi away
Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel
4.9 mi away
Mauna Kea Beach Hotel, Autograph Collection
1.4 mi away
Kings' Land by Hilton Grand Vacations
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Mauna Lani Bay Hotel & Bungalows
0.6 mi away
Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii
2.4 mi away
Hilton Waikoloa Village
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villages At Mauna Lani? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villages At Mauna Lani

Property: Villages At Mauna Lani
Address: 68-1025 N Kaniku Dr, Waimea, Island of Hawaii, HI 96743-8780
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Waimea
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Waimea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Villages At Mauna Lani 4.5*
Number of rooms: 214
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Odigeo and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Villages At Mauna Lani reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villages At Mauna Lani Hotel Waimea

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing