We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 8:00 AM - 6:00 PM
Save
Review Highlights
Breathtaking Scenery on a spectacular Morning

We chose this tour because it had a larger boat but not a catamaran - the catamarans can get close... read more

Reviewed 3 weeks ago
jodagayton
,
Oakland, California
via mobile
Jawdropping scenery, dolphins and snorkeling!

The Napali coast is unbelievably beautiful and raw....Our captains called out points of interest... read more

Review collected in partnership with this attraction

Reviewed October 12, 2018
Tamara G
Read all 280 reviews
  
Reviews (280)
Filter reviews
273 results
Traveler rating
207
29
21
8
8
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
207
29
21
8
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviews beach landing napali coast sea caves saw dolphins zodiac boat pod of spinner dolphins captain kevin turkey sandwich great trip snorkel stop beautiful fish ancient hawaiian personal experience noodles nice boat marine life fun ride
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 273 reviews
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Definitely go see the Na Pali coast, but think about which company you want to do it with. I personally didn't really like Na Pali Explorer, as the sights felt very touristy and forced, we finished before time and have not seen any dolphins. In fact, the only fish we saw were the ones attracted by using bread, disrupting the local ecosystem. The staff didn't really feel like they wanted to give you the best experience, but more like they just wanted to make money. Overall still pretty fun though, and got some great pictures.

Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Thank Danilo V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We chose this tour because it had a larger boat but not a catamaran - the catamarans can get close to the sea caves but can’t go into them. Also the bigger pontoon boat is better for people who are prone to sea sickness like me! Based on Janessa’s recommendation from the Grand Hyatt - I took one bonine non drowsy and sat in the back of the boat - no problem! The crew Kevin, Drake, and Janessa were fabulous! I felt completely safe and taken care of! Yummy lunch served - turkey sandwiches, grapes, cookies, and chips and lots of drinks available but no alcohol which is fine because there were a lot of swells which Captain Kevin navigated perfectly! Seeing the Na Pali coast is awesome - so beautiful and only way to see it! We went into 2 sea caves - one on the outside and one all the way in - totally depends on the weather! We were supposed to go snorkeling but large swells caused bad conditions for snorkeling but we did get to swim in the ocean with noodles! This tour leaves at 7am but best to do all of these water tours early in the morning - conditions are the best! Thank you Na Pali Explorer for a wonderful day!

Thank jodagayton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2018

The Napali coast is unbelievably beautiful and raw....Our captains called out points of interest and shared interesting history and Hawaiian lore with those of us onboard as we cruised down the gorgeous coast. Dolphins joined us early in the journey. The sea swells kept us from snorkeling along the coast (safety was job 1 :) ).....but we found a calmer area near the boarding area and had a great snorkel and then lunch onboard! Highly recommend!

Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Thank Tamara G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2018

Our family had a blast. The captain stopped to see marine life and we went in caves. The chosen snorkel site didn't have good visibility so we had to go to another snorkel site which was not very memorable. The trip was shorter than advertised but overall great experience.

Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Thank Cathleen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2018 via mobile

My friends and I had a great time with Captain Kevin and his crew. The scenery was beautiful, and seeing the turtles and dolphins swimming alongside our boat was downright magical. To top it all off, captain Kevin and his crew were friendly, warm, and went above and beyond to make sure that everyone on the boat was enjoying themselves. It was a fantastic experience, and worth every penny!

Thank hwong1997
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2018

A half day boating experience (though we did have to endure a heavy rain storm) that included good snorkeling and dolphins and beautiful scenery. Crew was very nice.

Thank diannj1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2018

We had such a great day with Captain Kevin and his crew. Gorgeous day for us all. We loved getting the chase to go into the caves too.

Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Thank christinebuff30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2018

We hadn't planned on a NaPali coast boat tour but went for it after we heard about the sea caves and I couldn't bring myself to skip seeing the most beautiful part of Kauai. We loved everything about our NaPali Explorer II trip (the bigger of their boats, best for families and others that don't want to have to hold on tight). The guides and captain were all very friendly and happy to give history of the area / sights or just hang out and chat. The lunch was better than I expected on a boat (large submarine sandwich, chips and drinks but nice big portions of sandwich). We saw at least 80 spinner dolphins (some spinning in the air) and a couple of sea turtles (honu) too. The sea caves were really cool and we scored with blue sky and calm water on our day out. The snorkel during lunch was a fun bonus. Highly recommend this trek!

Thank Pug_Power_503
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2018

Wonderful experience, got to see dolphins and the beautiful coast of Na Pali. Great crew! 10/10 would reccomend!

Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Thank sylviial
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2018

Staff was very friendly, knowledgeable and accommodating. The sightseeing is breathtaking. The sea turtles and dolphins up close were an added bonus!!

Review collected in partnership with this attraction
1  Thank Candymyura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews