We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Authentic experience”

Hawaiian Style Cafe
Ranked #2 of 71 Restaurants in Waimea
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Cafe, Diner, Polynesian, Hawaiian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Maryland
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Authentic experience”
Reviewed January 21, 2014 via mobile

Authentic. Friendly locals, great breakfasts, great prices. Cash only. Love the fried rice, with breakfast. Glad we did not miss this.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank barleybo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

924 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    592
    248
    57
    17
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Kenmore, Washington
Level Contributor
48 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Pancakes the size of your head!”
Reviewed January 19, 2014

Casual dining for a great price. Consider splitting the meal, as the portions are very generous. If you go on Friday, order the Hawaiian plate if you are craving Kailua pork and laulau- it's really good. My favorite- the coconut pancakes.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank walterandcharlie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedar Falls, Iowa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Hawaiian Style Cafe”
Reviewed January 16, 2014

This a must while visiting the island, so much food and excellent prices. We walked away with a full stomach. Bring cash.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 45JJW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
51 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Best Deal On The Island...bring cash and an empty stomach”
Reviewed January 14, 2014

I was so impressed with this place not because of the huge portions but because the food is awesome. This is by far some of the best local fare you can get on the Big island, soul food if that's PC. We ate here 5 times out 14 days and were never disappointed. I ordered the special of the day(different every day) every time I ate here and the Beautifully cooked Ahi with a wasabi sauce reviled any of the 5 star restaurants we've ever eaten at. This is a must eat place. Get there early because closes at 1:30pm and be prepared for a bit of a crowd, it's worth it.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ric L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“good breakfast”
Reviewed January 5, 2014

Stopped here on the way to waipi'o valley. Good breakfast, good portions. Reasonable price. Breakfast is above average, but nothing super special. Has some nice local dishes. Crowded, go early.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jo S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hawaiian Style Cafe also viewed

Waimea, Island of Hawaii
Waimea, Island of Hawaii
 
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
 

Been to Hawaiian Style Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing