We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Former local favorite needs a lot of help now”

Hawaiian Style Cafe
Ranked #1 of 70 Restaurants in Waimea
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast
Long Beach, California
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Former local favorite needs a lot of help now”
Reviewed December 11, 2013

I previously wrote a glowing review about this former local gem. Unfortunately since that time the owner opened a second location in Hilo and this original location is declining rapidly. The service is now horrible. The food is mediocre at best and the aloha feeling from the server staff has left the building. The few tourists that still come here will figure it out soon enough and the likelihood of a return visit will be no more. Waimea has lost many of its former good dining spots and it looks like this one is about to join the vanquished. I won't be going back anytime soon unless I hear that the owner has come back and righted this sinking ship.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank caltraveler54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

979 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    637
    257
    57
    18
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Aurora, Minnesota
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Fun place but avoid the beef.”
Reviewed December 10, 2013

Me and my GF both had plates with beef strips and they were extremely fatty. I was not able to properly chew one piece, I had to just make it soft enough so I could swallow whole. Some of the other meals I seen people getting looked good but avoid the beef.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Breakfast”
Reviewed December 10, 2013

This little restaurant looks like not much from the outside but the food is wonderful. The pancakes are as large as a dinner plates and the omelet was stuffed with so much meat that it was overflowing. Great, friendly service at a reasonable price.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AEfromIdaho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Worth the search!”
Reviewed December 2, 2013

We've had better food, better atmosphere, better service, and good value. But at the Hawaiian Style Café you don't have to choose which one you want. Here you get it all. The value unmatched. The food, atmosphere and service were excellent. When our breakfasts were served, we couldn't believe the size of our portions. And it was good. When a place is busy and little to no advertising, it has to be worth it. We left a tip about the same as the day before in Kona, which was almost the same as our bill. These people deserved it.

Sometimes its good to get off the beaten path. Glad we were able to find it.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mary b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
655 reviews
341 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 262 helpful votes
“Delicious and LOTS of food”
Reviewed December 2, 2013

This is an odd little place- in a lack luster plaza not really near anything else. We went because our volcano guide said they had good Hawaiian style food.

Very busy place- we waited for about 30 min to get seated. There was a continuous line of people picking up take-out food as well as waiting to be seated.

We both ordered the Friday night specials. My friend had the 16 oz rib eye steak that he wolfed down in about 5 min flat and proclaimed delicious. Mine was a Hawaiian sampler plate that included several items- all pretty tasty (the Poke was delicious) except for the purple cold poi. Gosh- just didn't like that at all.

The amount of food on the plates that were being delivered to the other tables was staggering.

Service was mediocre at best. Pleasant enough fellow just not around much.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jen78703
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hawaiian Style Cafe also viewed

Waimea, Island of Hawaii
Waimea, Island of Hawaii
 
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
 
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
 

Been to Hawaiian Style Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing