We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“OMG! Best meal in Hawaii”

Hawaiian Style Cafe
Ranked #2 of 71 Restaurants in Waimea
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Cafe, Diner, Polynesian, Hawaiian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Syracuse, New York
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“OMG! Best meal in Hawaii”
Reviewed February 27, 2013

We had to give it a try after reading all the great reviews. The Haupia pancakes we so good I still dream about them at night. The house special Loco Moco was superb. It was low key, no fuss, good food. We had to wait about 15 minutes, but who cares when it's that good?

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank debbie m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

924 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    592
    248
    57
    17
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Happy Cows make Good Loco Moco!”
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Not McDonalds. Things get done here Hawaiian Style, Mo' Betta! and that is fine by me.
Pros
- Big portions.
- No rush to get you in/out
- Tasty food
- Very Tasty Food
- Reasonable prices
Cons
- Parking is tight
- They close early Mon-Sat 1:30 pm, Sun 12 pm or I would eat here twice.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank David L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A ton of great food”
Reviewed February 25, 2013

We eat her regularly when we come to the big island. Their Hawaiian Plate lunch on Friday is worth the weekly wait. Wonderful breakfasts with hot cakes servings enough to feed a small tribe. Just tried their Korean chicken for the first time and it won't be my last.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Richard W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Collinsville, Illinois
Level Contributor
207 reviews
111 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Wonderful pancakes, huge portions”
Reviewed February 23, 2013

This diner serves up wonderful breakfast for about $10 a person. Huge portions of bacon, hash browns with the fluffiest pancakes you can imagine. Service is wonderful, great place!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Maggie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sussex, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
127 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Local all the way!”
Reviewed February 20, 2013 via mobile

We went to this place on Monday for lunch & were seated immediately. We each had a plate lunch (Korean pork & boneless ribs). Excellent food for the price. Waitress was very knowledgeable about the menu & attended to all our needs. We've eaten at other local places but this our favorite. Will be a "must stop" whenever we're on the island. BTW, just noticed there is a place in Hilo also.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jcaeiouy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hawaiian Style Cafe also viewed

Waimea, Island of Hawaii
Waimea, Island of Hawaii
 
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
 

Been to Hawaiian Style Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing